We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinondo Kwetu(Diani Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
1,071
438
130
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,071
438
130
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskole koleinfinity poolmaridadi restauranttapa tapa barjambo teambeach boysmama miathe lion kinginclusive restaurantstier poolday safarimonkeys and baboonsanimation teamevening showstwo weeksour honeymoonmasai mara
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Baobab for two weeks starting the 18th March 2014.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our room was in the Madridabi part of the hotel with a pool, restaurant and bar within a few yards of us. We had a pool view and could see down to the beach from our balcony. The room was excellent. Massive and always kept very clean.

The staff are outstanding. Everyone from reception to the bar staff to the groundskeepers are very friendly and you get a "Jambo" from them all when you see them. Couldn't be more helpful or do more for you.

The food was great. We ate every night (apart from those spent on safari) at the Madridabi restaurant which was more relaxed ie could wear shorts. Food is self service but with chefs at each station cooking fresh stuff all the time. Some breakfast and lunch options can be cooked to order. Lots of variety and even after two weeks we weren't bored of it.

Weather was also excellent which obviously helps. Very hot and very humid with one morning of rain. Few showers over night but nothing which affected our stay. We had no issues getting sunbeds but we were up fairly early for breakfast every morning.

Monkeys are everywhere! They won't bother you if you don't have anything edible on you. They might come for bits of fruit in drinks etc and are very active around 4pm when afternoon tea is served. Don't ever feed them. I was a victim of a monkey incident where one bounded down from the rafters to steal my doughnut! If they do come for your food my advice would be just to let them have it (unless it's in your bag, don't really want your camera etc disappearing) as it's better than being scratched. If they are just snooping about the pool and are a bit close then just standing up or clapping your hands should move them on. Now, the baboon! Don't mess with this character. He is massive and to be honest quite scary. He is only interested in food - if you don't have any he won't even look at you but if you're carrying food and he pops up I would just leave it and walk away. On the whole the hotel wildlife is very entertaining. Monkeys are scrambling across the balconies most of the day - keep your doors shut!

The beach is a positive and negative. To look at its stunning. However, as I'm sure you've read, Diani Beach has beach boys/beach operators. These guys get a bad name on here and there's no doubt they're persistent and therefore quite annoying. They were however, in our experience, very friendly and pleasant and in reality are poor and are trying to make some money. Nothing wrong with having a look at the stalls etc as there probably is something you would like as a souvenir. Always half the price they suggest and take pens/socks for trading. The shops affiliated to the hotel around reception are very nice and you can browse at your leisure. Don't be put off walking in the beach - just get used to saying no and sorry I've already got one of those/already booked a safari.

We also did a glass bottom/snorkelling trip with the water sports guys linked to the hotel. Cost about £10 each and was good to see the coral and walk about on the sandbank a few hundred yards out to sea.

Airport transfer was interesting. The Likoni ferry has the potential to be wild and we got it on a bad day when we arrived. Two ferries broke down and there's only one tall enough for coaches. To sum up this equated to an approx 5 hour trip from landing to hotel. Not ideal but you're in Africa so don't expect it all to go smoothly as the roads are pretty poor and a lot of the vehicles are old so breakdowns etc are common place. All this didn't bother us as we were kind of expecting it but some people became a bit restless and as is the way with British tourists when they are a bit tired, hot and in unfamiliar surroundings became a bit rude towards staff who could do nothing about the situation. Early start when coming home and we had no issues with ferry. We also had no issues with it when out on safari. I've put another review up for Bongo Safaris who I wouldn't hesitate to use again.

To sum up we had a brilliant two weeks in Kenya. Wouldn't hesitate to come back (as long as it's stable politics wise, think it could be interesting for the near future) and if we did we would be staying at the Baobab.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank imath07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at The Baobab from 25th March for two weeks. Upon arrival we checked in to a standard room in the Baobab section of the resort (three sections together running along the beach). I must admit we were not very happy with this room. There was nothing wrong with, but it was basic and quite dark, with very little view because of the beautiful mature trees. We decided to upgarde (£380 for 12 nights as we were away on safari for two nights). I must say that it was worth every penny. We stayed in a room at the Meridadi end of the resort and it was stunning. Bright, airy, spacious. I would definitely recommend upgrading if you possibly can.

The resort itself is immaculate. Set on the beachfront among lush trees and grass. The beach is gorgeous, white sand, bath temperature water - ALMOST a dream. As everyone else has been mentioning the Beach Boys really are a pain. I understand they are all very poor and just trying to make a living, but it does get very annoying. Take one step onto the beach and you will be accosted. You have to be firm, and almost a little rude to get them to back off. Once in the water they just about left you alone! Don't let this deter you from swimming a few times at least though, the water is lovely.

The swimming pools (3) were all lovely. The Meridadi is the quiet end of the resort and we spend most of our time here. There are 3 buffet restaurants all serving up much the same fare. The food was delicious. Good quality, nice variety. AMAZING curries. Have had better deserts, but still plenty good. The All Inc drinks were fine. White wine was nice, local spirits seemed fine. Cocktails were nice, but perhaps a slightly larger variety would have been nice.

The staff were all a delight. So friendly every minute of the day.

We went on safari for 3 days and two nights. Booked with Thomson as part of the holiday deal. Next time we would just book the hotel and book a safari with one of the companies already there as there seemed to be better deals and more options.

All in all a lovely holiday. Great place to relax and unwind. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SylvieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely holiday at the Baobab - really great. Lovely food, very clean, great facilities, fabulous staff etc. Very highly rated. Only downside is the beach boys. They just hassle and hassle and hassle. Really spoils things. I travelled alone and simply was not comfortable going in the beach and I felt I was missing out but I'd heard of people getting ripped off and hassled incessantly (and seen it for myself) so I decided to give it a miss. It's a shame as it's a beautiful beach.

Apart from that it was a fabulous holiday and a great resort. If you do safari, contact Monika at Molu Safaris or JT Safaris. Both great and much better range than those sold by resort holiday reps.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Squirrellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great service, the best experience of complete relax near the Indian Ocean, uplifting water aerobics with the most outstanding coaches, excellent choreography of the shows, unforgettable show of acrobatics, very friendly atmosphere, very tasty food and fresh juices. We loved this journey and the only thing we can regret - the time passes so quickly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Aahaaa, that got your attention didnt it? Good because everyone should know about this place. Its a little gem..
NEVER AGAIN will we look around for a hotel in Kenya, it will be the BAOBAB Beach Resort every time!!! We absolutely loved this place :-))))
Stayed here end of November/December 13. for two weeks minus safari. Sorry for the late late review, never enough hours in the day.
Having stayed elsewhere (also a very good hotel) we returned this time with our good friends to share the delights of Kenya. We chose the Baobab with upgrade to the Kole Kole. Definitely worth the upgrade as people have said many times.
The staff are a true delight and their enthusiasm knows no bounds. From those who work extremely hard behind the scene to those at the forefront of customer service they are a credit to the hotel. Everyone wanted to help and everyone just wanted you to have the very best stay. Nothing was too much trouble, (not in a creepy way or in an effort to earn extra) just genuinely wonderful staff. We never once felt any pressure to tip, we just wanted to.
On arrival even though we had a sea view of sorts we weren't 110% happy. We were immediately shown other rooms and both couples moved within an hour of arrival.
Rooms were large and thoughtfully furnished with what appeared to be non mass produced furniture? hand made even? i don't know? but it felt totally in keeping with the whole feel of the place. They were clean and spacious with crisp linen and huge beds. The only thing i might change about the room was the open shower, maybe it could have a curtain or screen of some description as an option? Ok if your with your spouse/partner or whatever but if anyone is staying in the room with you that you wouldn't be completely happy of been starkers around they need to sit in the corner and close their eyes. :-)
The Jodari Restaurant. I cannot comment on any of the others as we didn't eat there but at the Jodari we loved the theme nights and how the room was decorated and made up accordingly. It was really lovely. Food, again is just grand. Choice for everyone and plentiful, nobody need go hungry here. Their meats are scrummy and really tasty. Would recommend all the meats. There was also the usual fish dish every night, not my thing so wouldn't comment on this. I would of eaten their snow peas every day if they had been offered and the coconut rice.....just yum! Thanks and hugs to our special omelette man Solomon for making breakfast (the meal i personally avoid at home) so damn good!!! Also to the lovely Patrick - Padster, Silus and all who served us so well thank you for your kindness and attention.
The small pizza station behind the pool serves fresh cooked pizza, burgers etc late afternoon. These are really good and tasty. If you like milky latte type coffee go over the other side of the pool and ask at that bar, otherwise its strong stuff. Under the same area, doughnuts, popcorn, cake, sandwiches etc in the afternoon. Some days they brought out cooking stations and cooked some things beside the pool like stir fry for instance which was a lovely touch. Just squashes the munchies between meals :-)
Animation team, brilliant and tireless. Shows pretty good. We didn't join in with too much but not because we didn't feel welcome to but because we enjoyed watching ;-)
The grounds are kept immaculately clean and carefully looked after and there is a lot of grounds to be tended. I never saw cigarette ends or any litter, amazing!
We stayed by the infinity pool which is clean and not overly busy with the entrance been suitable for the kids to sit and play in.
Beach boys are fine, they are no problem really and were never ever aggressive. I just asked them if they would like to join us and hold hands with me on our romantic walk. They just laughed and said 'i talk you later'. For anyone that has been to Egypt for instance these guys are a breeze in comparison.
Our party used the wellness centre on several occasions and enjoyed it immensely. Some things are quite reasonable but others a little pricey? but who minds paying a bit extra if you enjoy?
The internet access was good and ok on price. Didn't want to miss the football and listened to match commentary several times without any interruptions or buffering whilst we were there which i didn't expect to be able to do so was suited with that. Didn't bother with calls home just used the internet and social media.
The laundry service is very good and prompt. Away at tea time back by early evening. Only going to take half the stuff next time and use their service instead.
The little boutique type shops in the grounds are nice to have a walk to. Not incredibly expensive like a lot of hotel shops can be and definitely no pressure to buy when you go in.
Thank you to all and i mean ALL at the Baobab. You have a hotel to be very proud of. Call to the Caribbean for us this time but we will be back soon, of that there is no doubt.
Amanda & Philip
Colette & Andrew

Room Tip: The Kole Kole upgrade
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mooohop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews