We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It Has It All!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“It Has It All!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Without wishing to repeat too much of what other reviewers have said, this place really ticks all the boxes.

Stayed here for seven nights after a four day safari.

ACCOMMODATION

Booked a superior room and to our delight, were given a top floor room in the Maridadi wing, overlooking the pools, beach and sea. Fridge, large flat screen tele (BBC world service), large walk in shower, twin vanity units and safe all provided. This is the quieter section of the hotel and also has the largest pools to relax by and nice garden area. Pool bar nearby plus Maridadi Restaurant. The Baobab and Kole Kole sections made for an enjoyable stroll, where most daytime activities took place. The Baobab section is the oldest and The Kole Kole has a large patio area and lovely infinity pool.

DINING

You could dine in any of the three A I restaurants and we had breakfast mostly in the Maridadi Restaurant (the smallest and nearest to our room), with lovely beach views, but for dinner our favourite was the Karibu Restaurant in Kole Kole section. Wonderful staff (particularly Mary) and nice serving area. We enjoyed sitting just outside the main restaurant on the covered terrace overlooking the beach, with wonderful sea breeze. Fantastic food selection. I particularly enjoyed the salads and the fresh pasta station - everything cooked before your very eyes!
We dined once at the Jodari Restaurant in the Baobab section, this is the largest of the dining areas, with a fantastic array of dishes, but a little too busy for us.

The A I drinks were OK. Sprite, Cola lite Fanta and soda available. Alcoholic Drinks - I preferred the red wine, but the white was OK if a little watery. The Rose was too sweet for us. Cocktails also OK I liked the Black Russian and the local beer was also acceptable.

LOCATION

The resort hugs the beach and we enjoyed strolling from one end to the other. Beach - lovely for walks, almost like a dream. Yes the beach boys bother you at first, but a firm "no thank you" will do the trick. Interesting market just off the beach at the Maridadi section, near the water sports worth a visit - try your hand at bartering. Aim to pay between 1/4 and 1/3 of their starting price.
Booked the glass bottom boat trip at the Watersports centre. Approx £12 each for two hours - worth doing. Good animation team and the nightly shows in the Theatre worth a visit. They only last 30 to 60 minutes, we particularly enjoyed Mama Mia.
WiFi options with token brought at reception - reasonable price and good coverage across resort for basic emails etc

A fantastic holiday, only sorry it came to an end!

All staff go our of their way to try and help you, from the moment you arrive, until you leave

Room Tip: Maridadi and Kole Kole sections have best rooms. Worth paying extra for superior option. Ask for a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JPSLittleAston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    355
    89
    24
    14
See reviews for
355
746
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel and location is great, lot of monkeys, perfect food, good free drinks. The best is the big size of the resort you can walk around and watch the monkeys. The pools are astonishing and the pool bar was always empty. Because the resort was so big with three hotels and three restaurants there was always lot of space. The beach is sometime very white and clean but sometime very dirty and the beach boys are making you crazy. But very big recommendations for this hotel and a trip with a catamaran to the small reef is wonderful, the water there is so clean an snorkeling great. Safari is a muss in Kenya!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jozef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at this resort. It was very clean and we'll run. My 12 year old son and I spent 4 nights in mid-April over the Easter Break. There wasn't much by way of organized events for my son, but the Archery range and instructors were top notch and in 4 days he went from hitting trees to the bullseye. Pools were fantastic but didn't like the fact there was lots of glassware in the pool area that the monkeys would knock over. Also, the pool we used closed at 6:00 pm for cleaning which is too early at a resort hotel. Also, the hotel uses towel cards to check out towels. I thought those went out of style in the 80s? Food was good and a nice variety - but I was very disappointed to have to wear pants to dinner. It was a buffet - which doesn't warrant long pants - especially when it's high-80 degrees and high humidity. If you want long pants - offer an a la carte menu. Beautiful beach - but we didn't like the local touts who swarmed us when we set foot off the resort steps and onto the beach. Overall, beautiful resort and grounds, lots to do, and we'd go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks nov/dec 2013 with my husband and son (7) and what can I say but . . WOWW!!

Every aspect of this hotel is great . . The friendly staff, attentive service, yummy restaurants, clean pools and beautiful gardens.

We were allocated a bungalow right next to the Maridadi restaurant and pools looking out over the beach . . Stunning!

I've never been on holiday to the same place twice but I will definitely be returning here at every chance I get!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dwdsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful place with my family and really enjoyed ! Food ,service , rooms all was good and we had fun. Unfortunately were not lucky with weather and rains but the beach over there is always fantastic and bad weather can't spoil you general feel.
We will definitely come back to Baobab

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My wife son and I spent our Easter 2014 weekend at Baobab. It was always good to wake up to views of the Indian Ocean. The food was lovely, the staff absolutely friendly and the environment perfect for an enjoyable time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DennisKeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went here for our honeymoon in March 2014, it was beautiful and the staff are so helpful. The food was great and a lovely place to stay. We went on Safari but booked it privately through JT Safaris who have an office just up the road from the hotel - the safari and service was excellent. I would recommend booking through Julius (JT Safaris). All-in-all we had an amazing time and would certainly recommend both Baobab and JT Safaris to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gembob27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
23.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 57 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing