We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT WAS WORTH THE SEARCH......BAOBAB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent four nights with my wife in Baobab Beach Resort & spa. Since we were celebrating our thirty years wedding anniversary we were to look for a better place, hence the search. Our search settled us to this prestigious resort and we booked it to spent our holiday there. It actually never disappointed, i would say. All our expectations were met. Our room was located at Baobab wing and was so spacious & very clean with smart and clean clothing. The other wings were KOLEKOLE & MARIDADI. Each wing had a swimming pool but our preferred pool was at Maridadi wing, a trio- pool, water spilling from one pool to the other. This pool is quiet and is manned by very active and nice guys. we didn't change restaurants, all through we dinned at the restaurant near the Baobab reception. it was all inclusive and every thing worked well. Talk of any category of food, the choice is enormous, be careful you may leave out any type of food you want thinking its not there because the counters are many. If you are a guest here, you will not regret. The entire staff is taking public relation and customer care very highly, they are so friendly, talk nicely with a sense of humor. The beach was nice and we enjoyed swimming in the ocean although at times the water was very violent and no body dared enter the sea at that time. Every evening we attended entertainments at porini amphitheatre. This was wow! The dancers performed so well. We missed it the first day we left the hotel! Having said all these, we had a small hitch with our CAKE on our third day, the day we were to cerebrate our wedding anniversary. This we had to invite the intervention of the operations Manager, Mr Philip Mbugua and the problem was quickly sorted out. Thank you Mr Mbugua for the extra mile you went to make us comfortable. All in all we had a great holiday and anniversary.We sincerely thank the entire Baobab team, without whom our anniversary holiday could not be that GREAT!!... We will come again.

Room Tip: All rooms are suitable here, but i prefer rooms in 2 or 3 floors, where you have a wide and far vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshuacaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from this amazing holiday had time of our life. Staff are amazing the beach is beautiful the beach boys are a pain!! But you get used to them. Will definately return next year but not in May too much rain but got a great tan!!! Can't wait to go back. Safari booked through Julius Nzumbi who has been brilliant (jt safari) and our driver Ken was wonderful. Make sure you visit the Ali Barbour Cave restaurant stunningly beautiful x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaJayneDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for our first 2 days in a kole kole deluxe room, which was fantastic. We also got a few gifts (wine, fruit and tea and coffee from the shop) as on honeymoon. This section had the best pool which was an infinity pool. Also had a good bar and snack section.
After our safari we came back and the hotel had upgraded us to a bunglow in the maridadi section which a lovely view of the sea.
The beach was gorgeous, however the beach boys will do their very best to make you buy something.
We ate mostly in the maridadi section and the food was of good quality, but could be repetitive.
The staff were all very friendly, and we felt safe in hotel.
Our room was cleaned in the morning and then again whilst we were at dinner.
Our Recommendations:
Eat out at Ali Barbas - rep or reception will book a table and it will provide a shuttle bus. The restaurant is in a cave with an open roof, and the food was amazing! Best steak ever!
Pili pipa trip - snorkling or diving, lovely lunch of fresh crab (or chicken) and great views.
Go on a safari
Take stuff you would be willing to donate (old tshirts, flip flops, pens, pencils etc), your rep or reception arrange for it to go those in need. They are very grateful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visit Mombasa frequently but usually stay in North. Purposed to visit Diani area and indeed distance was worth the choice. Stayed at Maridadi wing. Meals were delicious and spoilt for choice. But wish pool attendants would be more helpful to those who don't know how to swim especially because we werent aware that one should carry own floaters. Stayed 2 nights but recommend a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 569Ruth569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is only the second time in nearly 20 years of travelling I have ever wished to return to an hotel I have been to before, well I wasn't disappointed the first time around in 2011 and I wasn't disappointed this time too. The sea view from our room was sheer bliss.
The staff work tirelessly, the hotel is of high standard and very clean, the entertainment is excellent for a wide age range. When asked by work collegues if I enjoyed it more or less than the last time my reply was I enjoyed it just as much.
Well done to all the Baobab Beach Resort staff you do an excellent job, I would not hesitate to come back again if I ever visit Kenya again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazzymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here in November 2013 with my Husband and two sons (19 & 21). We had a great time! The resort is well laid out, the rooms comfortable, the staff friendly & helpful. We had one of our rooms upgraded on arrival, but unfortunately we had to check out to go on safari, and returned to our standard room, which apart from the lack of sea front location seemed virtually the same! Apart from our 2 night safari, we went on a days snorkelling, which was fantastic and also did a Scuba diving course with Diving the Crab firm based at the hotel. We had an absolutely great holiday, which just the right mix of activity and chilling out, and would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWard_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Came here in January for our Sons 21st Birthday. Firstly be advised the trip from the airport to the hotel is long and you have to wait to cross a ferry which is packed with people. The hotel is lovely but the grounds are very big and i kept getting lost trying to find my way back to the room. Beware of monkeys we had tea and cakes one afternoon and my son lost them to a monkey who came and stole them off his plate. Loads of monkeys everywhere they are quite comical to watch. Rooms cleaned daily and beds comfortable food was good and entertainment they provided was good fun. Did a safari with JT - Julius Tact Safaris (Julius Nzumbi) who has a new office near Diani Sea Resort. Used Julius 3 years ago when we visited kenya and again when we went this year had to pay a deposit from england and then paid the rest after the safari. One of his men came and picked us up from the hotel and took us to his office where we went through our trip then returned us to the hotel. Our driver for the safari was Joseph who was amazing he found us a pride of lions with 4 cubs that made my trip. we also got free wood carvings when we paid the balance. Highly recomend JT safaris nothing is too much trouble. We did a day trip with the hotel snorkelling and lunch on a dhow what fun that was even saw a turtle swimming near me made my day they even made a birthday cake for my son (FREE) such lovely people. Didnt go on the beach because i could not be bothered with all the beach sellers but some people did. I was happy to laze around by the pool. Would love to go back to kenya but dont know that i would go back to this hotel again (just my opinion).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,039 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £134 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing