We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Pros:
My friends suggested this place since they had been there three times. The pick up service from the airpot was good with Yusuf the driver making as feel comfortable. The place being situated on a vast piece of land offers a large walking space in between the trees with monkeys jumping from one tree to another. The fact that it is all inclusive makes it more interesting. The room we got was quite spacious and the huge windows made the lighting great.They have three different restaurants and bars where the guest can choose where they want to eat. However, we found the Baobab restaurant to be much better than Maridadi and Kole Kole. They also have three pools and whichever you want to dip your body is your choice. The Buffets were really nice I must say. Since it was a weekend they had some great entertainment lined up for their guest. Another impressive thing is that they have a tennis and basketball court, table tennis, an archery and other activities for those who love sports. There is also a spa, which the massage was quite amazing, however book one day in advance as they tend to be fully booked. So many beach beds lined all over so you can always choose where you want to suntan! Snorkelling can also be organized at the diving centre and costs 15 dollars/ 10 euros/1,200 Kenyan shillings! So truly there is much to do here and I would recommend!
Cons:
The servicing of the rooms was terrible. The towels were old and sometimes they did not bother to change them. The daily cleaning of the rooms was done in such a haphazard way that any guest with eyes could clearly see. The shower did not have enough pressure and when many guests take a shower at the same time you will be lucky to have some warm water flowing. The beach boys are the most annoying thing situated at the hotel! They really disturb the peace as many will flock on you at the beach trying to sell you stuff or wanting to take you snorkelling. Watch out for the monkeys and do not leave your windows or doors open they can be the greatest nuisance!

Room Tip: The rooms on the maridadi side are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

... Baobab is one of few I visited twice. First time, about a year ago I stayed in the cottage, and recently I lodged in a standard room. Certainly there is a difference, but I am still not convinced that its worth the surcharge. The room was big enough with two large comfortable beds, a flat screen TV and a balcony, Restaurant offered very decent food including Indian (many guests are Indians). They have extensive grounds with tennis courts and huge Baobab trees. Many colorfull birds, monkeys, baboons and even a monitor lisard make you feel close to nature. Good white coral sand beach allows easy access to the sea. All in all staying there is a positive experience.

Room Tip: Bungalows are surely better then standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in the Kole Kole wing of this resort in early August 2014. My wife, 9 year old son and myself really enjoyed the hotel and would like to return. Before we departed from Germany, we seriously considered cancelling our booking because of all the reports about violence at the coast in Kenya. In the end, we decided to go for it because we understood most of the troubles were in the north coast and this hotel is located on the south coast.
We arrived in Mombassa airport and took the hotel's shuttle service to the hotel. The trip took longer than expected (and longer than usual) due to an incident at the ferry which caused a delay. It ended up taking more than 4 hours to get from the airport to the hotel. Apparently the usual time is about 2 hours.
Once we arrived at the hotel however, everything went very smoothly and on the whole I can only confirm the positive reviews of this hotel posted on this site. We felt safe and secure throughout the stay. One just felt sorry for the people trying to maintain their tourist operations while the European guests stay away. Actually, from our experience, european tourists can go there and enjoy the resort without concern. My recommendation would be to fly into Ukunda airport which is literally 10 mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie_Thekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Luckily our room was an upgrade - not requested but certainly appreciated; huge with two double beds and a massive bathroom with a shower that would take a football team (all together - not one at a time!).When we went on Safari we paid to keep the same room as some rooms smaller and less attractive. On the ground floor overlooking the garden the constant procession of Baboons and monkeys were a sight to behold but be warned they quickly rip open the mosquito nets if the sliding doors aren't securely fastened; anything bright seems to attract their attention - the hospitality tray with sachets of sugar proved irresistible!!!! Three inclusive self service restaurants with a reasonable standard of food but too much the 'same' over 2 weeks. The majority of the staff are lovely, helpful and polite but a couple of bar men were almost surly. The animation team - although miming were good dancers and good at motivating the couch potatoes into action. The beach is lovely but ignore or politely say no to the 'beach boys' (a loose term as most were middle aged) - if anyone made the mistake of engaging into conversation you would have a permanent shadow! We were lucky enough to go out to a few bars and a nightclub where we were the only non locals. Also to see a real market (not the sanitised tourist markets with the same souvenirs that are in all the shops) avoiding the many pot holes, rubbing shoulders with locals who were shopping for their meagre food rations - a sobering experience after the loveliness of the Baobab....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel in September 2013 for one week with my partner for our anniversary and we loved it! This was our second stay at the hotel. The hotel was well kept and we liked our room (sea facing cottage) - clean, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is big and guests have access to the other 2 adjacent properties (Kole Kole and Maridadi) so there's something to cater for most people's tastes. The food was plenty and quite varied and we always had a selection to make. In addition, snacks were available throughout the day so we would never go hungry. We enjoyed the animation team activities during the day but liked the fact that they left you alone if you didn't want to participate. They really make an effort at the night time entertainment which we enjoyed (though some of the performances were repeated from the previous year). Our favourite night was when they held a beach party for hotel guests which was quite an experience! We were happy with the staff who were very welcoming and friendly. Overall, we had a good time and we will definitely be going back later this year.

Room Tip: Sea facing were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Njambi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went in Jan 2014 and stayed in a beautiful room in the Baobab, with a view of the sea. I room was spacious and comfortable and very clean. The hotel grounds were also very well maintained. Men had to wear trousers in 2 of the 3 restaurants, the Maridadi allowed shorts, but the selection of food was not as good as in the Baobab or Koli Koli. Koli Koli was our favourite place to eat in the evening, so my Partner did a quick change in to shorts after dinner. Food seemed to be on the go somewhere on the hotel, so you would never go hungry and great choices and selections. The efforts of the staff amazed us, they were so friendly and helpful at all times, nothing was too much trouble. The beach was amazing, soft white sand and warm blue sea, but the beach boys are persistent in trying to sell you something, whenever you stepped on to the sand. They are just trying to make a living and all were very friendly and being firmly polite seemed to stop them from following us. We did a trip with one a couple of them Seif organised a trip at half the price, with less comforts than with the hotel, we felt totally safe and had a great day. We also did a trip to the sand bank with Ali baba. The market was an experience but we got some great bargains from there. The hotel has a few shops too, which are priced very well. There was evening entertainment which was charming, and great efforts were made by the team to keep us holiday makers happy. And the wildlife in the hotel entertained us too. We did a 2 night Safari which was amazing. Time went at a nice slowly, but we were sad to leave, we would highly recommend this hotel and safari experience. We left our tips at the end of our stay, and popped extra in to the tip box at reception for all the staff to share. They really know how to look after you here and are very friendly genuine people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AliandPc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We came to baobab in March'14 for our honeymoon & safari. Thomson were full of promises and they didn't deliver. We didn't get the free spa treatment, fruit and wine in the room .. The honeymoon treatment was non existent.

The hotel room was lovely big and clean.But we had to check out when on safari , and when we came to check back in we were put in a room next to the evening entertainment! The music and noise kept us up late so I asked to be moved it took a whole day for them to finally move us.

The wifi we paid for was always on and off so not really worth how much u pay for it.. My husband loved the food thought it was amazing, I'm a fussy eater and only really eat chicken which was on the menu once or twice a week. In the end I started asking for some chicken as living on noodles and chips wasn't good! Breakfast was the best meal of the day!

The hotel is beautiful and clean. If u don't like monkeys / animals don't go here they are everywhere! Hilarious and really made our trip! Beautiful surroundings.
Safari was ok. But we didn't see any lions, tigers or rhinos.. was pretty disappointing to be honest..

The beach.. Well it is truly beautiful. But it's ruined by the beach boys we walked down the beach with 9 men following us at one point. It's quite scary and very off putting I wouldn't say it ruined the holiday but it would 100% be a main reason to why we wouldn't return.
Most of the staff were lovely!! But there was 1 or 2. I think maybe he was the manager of the restaurant he was rude and never smiled he even kicked a cat!! Which was disgusting!!!!!
We complained to the Thomson rep about the lack of honeymoon treatment and on our last night we had the manager come and apologise.. It was too little too late.
Overall it was a beautiful place. But i personally would not return or holiday with Thomson again.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Poppie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,039 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: £134 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Jovago.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing