We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cool paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
austin texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cool paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

We spent our honeymoon at the Baobab Beach Resort Ukunda and had such a wonderful time. Its such a beautiful place with very welcoming staff, great food (a wide variety to choose from).The rooms are spacious and well kept with clean towels daily. Laundry services are available but at an extra fee. We enjoyed services at the spa that we booked at our convenient time. The spacious hotel complex spreads out in different architectural designs surrounded by different species of trees like the palm trees coconut and boabab trees which provides such a serene environment for daytime walk and photography. Its such a quite place and we felt like we were in own private Island.
A friend from California recommended Diani area for our Honeymoon and introduced as to Esther from GoAfrica safaris & travel agents who booked our stay and transport within Mombasa City.
We had such a memorable stay and we would not hesitate to go back on our wedding anniversaries.

Its africas paradise

  • Liked — Proximity to the ecean ,white sand beach ,
  • Disliked — nagging beach boys
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    368
    95
    26
    14
See reviews for
365
767
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

Just back and already booked for next November!!
This was the second November we have stayed at the Kole Kole wing within the Baobab and once again had a superb holiday.
My wife and I are fortunate to have travelled around the world staying at 5 star hotels which do offer more in way of facilities than the Kole Kole but do not get even close when it comes to the relaxed atmosphere or the friendliness of the staff.
The Kenyan tourist industry has been hit hard since the troubles last December and January and lots of hotels have been put in mothballs or even had to close completley and the Kole Kole also suffered due to British tourists not being able to book and travel from the UK but the staff although having gone through very difficult times are still the happiest and friendliest I have ever met. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff whether it be a manager or a gardener all who great you with a warm "jambo jambo".
Now down to the information that you all want to see on trip advisor -The rooms are very large and cleaned everyday with fresh towels supplied in the morning and at night if you wish. The infinity pool is immaculate as is the pool area , pool staff on hand at all times so fresh dry towels can be obtained as many times as you wish. The food quality is of a very high standard with plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The pineapple or banana crumble which is served at lunch does sit a little heavy during the afterrnoon so give it an hour before jumping back in the pool !
Breakfast is available all through the night for those who either have an early safari pick up or who are travelling home early. These are booked at the reception.
The ala carte restaurant is a must for anyone staying within the Kole Kole the service is of a very high standard. You will be served by either Diana or Nelson and be treated like a king and queen. My wife celebrated her birthday whilst there and six of us had a wonderful time within the ala carte where the staff came out singing "happy birthday" bashing the pots and pans. The price per couple for a three course meal as around 3300ksh which works out about £30, not bad for top quality food - of course this did include the 20% discount. Compare this to a local restaurant called Ali barbors cave where we took a couple of Kenyan friends where we paid 14,000 ksh where we had four courses and drinks - about £35 per head. Whilst I am on the subject of the area around the hotel, please do not feel afraid to venture out and about during the day, we visited friends in Ukunda village and in Diani but did use hotel taxis. I do not recommend using the local transport but do have a look around the local area as the people are really lovely and love to talk to tourists. We are sponsors of a local childrens home called Kebene which is situated about one mile from the hotel entrance down the road directly opposite the security barriers. The home is relocatting to newly built premises near the local airstrip within the next few weeks but if you are interested then more info can be found on www.kebene.com.
The evening entertainment now takes place within the newly built amplitheatre which is situtaed between the Kole Kole and the main Baobab buildings. There is now only one show per evening where as last year the entertainment staff had to perform the show within the Baobab and then in the Kole Kole. the shows are of a high standard and vary between the modern and the classic!!
For those of you like us who just like to sit and relax after dinner then go no further than the Suli Suli bar where all the staff are more than happy to wait on you hand and foot. Special mentions to Kenedy, Isaac and Alexandre...The biggest smiles within Kenya.
What I am about to mention is by no way a moan or groan but an observation - The entertainment staff although kenyan are managed by an Italian company who are a more excitable nation than the British or the Kenyans. At 10am everyday by the infinity pool the Italian entertainment manager (a girl of about 12) had hold of a microphone and introduced all the entertainment staff by name and what activities were on offer during the day. You can either get annoyed by her or laugh at her as her english is not great, either way it was all over in 5 minutes, needless to say we had a laugh we also had a laugh at the non british trying to dance along with the dance that accompanies the "jambo song" that is played about 12.30pm before lunch. Others have described the hotel as "Club med" this is not the case, if you want to take part in the sports or other activities then you can, no staff pressurise you and if you want peace and quiet then move away from the pool a matter of a few feet to the extensive grassed areas.
In summary the Kole Kole is superb, friendly staff, clean and safe pool, immacculate gardens and surroundings, top quality food in all restaurants, spacious rooms, top quality drinks - alcoholic and non alcoholic. Monkeys and baboons everywhere so watch out and be prepared to be mugged for fruit and cake if they see you with it.
The security at mombasa airport on departure is on a par with getting into the Bank of England safe but that is another story, just be prepared to be searched, searched and searched again. All for our safety though so can not moan. Depature tax of $20 each is now to be paid at check in on departure if not included within your holiday price, and entrance visa at $50 each on arrival. Visa can be applied for beforehand or the form downloaded from the net, completed and handed in on arrival with your boarding card and $50.
Just a little to add, my wife had reason to visit the local hospital for the last day of our holiday, the only cloudt day in two weeks, so not that bad. She was treated at Diani Beach Hospital where the standard of care was of a very high standard.
Whilst there we were visited by five members of the hotel staff who were genuinaly concerned for her health and well being, I can not think of anywhere else in the world where we have been that this would happen. Also do not forget to get good travel insurance cover. First time I have had to use it in over 25 years but thank goodness we had it.
Any questions about the Kole Kole then please ask

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SuffolkAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

just got back ftrom a 2 week stay at the baobab - best holiday ever - staff were friendly and really helpful - food was lovely (and so much of it - be prepared to put on a few pounds!)

there are resident baboons and monkeys at the hotel - its a bit daunting when you first arrive but after a couple of days you just get use to them being around and realise how intelligent and amazing they are.

lots of things to do - boules, water polo & suffleboard to name a few - the entertainment team are brilliant & i'm still singing the infectious "JAMBO" song

the hotel is very very clean and the grounds are gorgeous and well maintained the pool is lovely but seems to have a high content of chlorine in it which stains white swimwear a light green colour!!

a majority of guests are german and seem to go to the baobab year after year (and think they own the place!!) - we met one german lady who goes to the baobab every year from sept - dec & has done for the last 8 years the only down side is the beach boys who are quite persistant - the best time to go down to the beach for a swim is when the tide is in - as they don't like getting wet!!

can't wait to go back

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — beachboys
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank doris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

just got back from a very enjoyable stay , we read most of the reviews prior to visiting this resort, so we were quite aware of the pros and cons. The hotel was very good and the service faultless, staff are super friendly right down the line, and always greet you with a smile and off course "jambo" . The sticky points were the beach boys , that are in fact men,,,,, and a total pain . I dont want to sound bolshy , but they pleaded poverty yet had mobile phones and smoked . At first i thought yes its a poor country so i might just do my bit, but as we talked the message i got was , if you buy something they will leave you alone to walk on the beach. I spoke to a few people who had done this , and they were simply pestered by another group further down, and even out on the reef. so beware. They stand all day in the searing heat looking up at the complex trying to get you to go down . quite sad , but very annoying as it will put people off going back to what is a very good place. They kept saying that hotels were shutting down, so i said , if you keep pestering tourists they will not come back (which reading other reviews is certainly the case). the hotels will be quiet and all will be gone, This seemed to matter none as they still tried selling , and even offered to do a deal for my trainer socks!!!!. So all in all if you like the beach this is not the holiday for you. Our only other gripes were the 11 pm bar especially if it was the ampitheatre bar , as it didnt open till 9pm ... A few changes could make this a very special place, we are very well traveled and have had much better holidays than this one for the same cost. A 24hr bar and pests off the beach would put it on par. The last one is the smoking ban seems to have fragmented the old atmosphere and has killed off the barside conversations . But all in a very enjoyable holiday , but seriously doulbt we will return , which is a shame........ safari ,,,,yes beach holiday ,,,, deff no .

  • Liked — Everything Good
  • Disliked — Air Con Struggled With Rising Temp
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jon-n-gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

we have just returned from 2 week holiday at this hotel . all in all everything was very good lots of different foods to choose from the monkeys roaming the hotel grounds were a novelty the beach boys were a pain as you could not have a stroll on your own and they would not leave you alone for a minute however they desperatly needed your buisness .our room was clean and ok all staff were polite we visited a local orphanage with goods from home but for me the highlight was our safari i cannot express how wonderful it was everything was perfect it truly touched my soul would come back in a heart beat for safari only we did a fly in one to the masi mara see seprate reviews

  • Liked — clean room lovley walk in shower
  • Disliked — air condition
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

Just got back from 2 weeks holiday and can't believe how fantastic the holiday was, the weather was great, the complex was beautiful, it felt like being in another world after driving through poverty stricken places in Kenya, the staff were great, but obviously some of them ask you to leave things for them before you leave, so be prepared to leave some bits and peices. We had a meal at Rock Lobster which is a restuarant within the complex but you have to pay for it, but well worth it, the lobster was something else!!
SAFARI - well we booked with J T Tours, JULIAS, after reading about him on trip advisor I decided he was the one i wanted to go with, but struggled to get hold of him by email from the UK, so when I got to the Baobab we got a taxi and went to find his office, (near the Neptune hotel), it was the best thing we could have done, so if you email him and he doesnt reply it is because he has problems trying to email back sometimes, just go and see him, he is lovely and he definately provided us with a fabulous service and gave us a safari vehicle to just the 2 of us, it seemed the other people on safari were in vehicles with 5/6 people in, which makes it difficult to see out when on a game drive. He is great and will send a car to collect you from any hotel if you ring him, he is also cheaper than the tour operators. Amberselli is a must !!
Overall one of best times i've ever had on holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abbo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

we have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at the baobab i travelled as a single parent with my 13 old son,the hotel is outstanding ,spotlessly clean and all the staff in my opinion were fantastic, very friendly and couldnt do enough to please you.as for the beach boys they were no problem at all it took us a few days to go to the beach after what we had been told but soon found that although they would love you to barter and buy from them they are more than happy to walk with you and just chat .the food in the hotel was always fresh and most things cooked to order in front of you .we are planning to return early next year as 2 weeks was not long enough and at my sons request we will be going back to the baobab.if you are planning a safari please book locally to support the local economy they really need it .

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0neyp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
23.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing