We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUKUNA MATATA, { No Problem}”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HUKUNA MATATA, { No Problem}”
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We just stayed at this hotel for the second time, it was as brilliant as ever. Hotel rooms are good, shower rooms could do with a little up-dating, but ok.
Staff are all really friendly, and canno't do enough for you.
Location is perfect, and you can now use the facilities of the two hotels on either side.
The place is really rustic, and a real joy to stay at.
However, if you are looking for good night entertainment, do NOT look here, it is really dire, the entertainment staff putting on shows nightly,they do there very best, but leaves a lot be desired, the one exception is the acrobat show, brilliant, it is just a shame that a hotel of this standing , does'nt book some decent entertainments a least a couple of times a week, even the Masai shows now only come in once a month.They have a superb new Amptheatre, which is great, but just not the entertainment to go with it,
But all said and done, we go for the sun, relaxation and safari, and the evenings we were quite happy to sit and mull over a vodka or to at the pool bar !!!
Excellant hotel, and oneday we hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichellePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    379
    99
    28
    15
See reviews for
375
779
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
thirsk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Jambo .Wonderful beach,lovely friendly people,fantastic choice of food,lots to do if you want to,everywhere is spotless loved the monkey man the monkeys didnt!.There are beach boys but you just tell them no and keep walking.They are after all just trying to make a shilling or two for their famiies.We had a trip out to the sand reef snorkelling and the guys in the glass bottomed boat were brilliant they even brought a star fish out to show us.Elephant reserve was short on elephants the water holes are drying up so they are going further up the hills but our guide would not give in and found us some that had just been in the river.We were very close to them they were magnificent with their huge tusks and still mudded from the river.We are now planning next year a safari thing and back to Baobab to learn more of the culture and language .Hakuna matata as they say.Every thing is wonderful.Jan.Thirsk

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybeethirsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Ok this was my 3rd trip to KENYA and my husband and daughters 1st trip (12yrs old), i had previously been to the North coast as this was easier to reach than the South. We flew with Thomsons and upgraded to Premier which was well worth the extra £££ so pay it if you can it make the start of the holiday much less stressful for you.
The resort is approx 1hr from Mombassa Airport if the traffic is on your side so be prepared for that part after landing, you can get your visa at the airport but this can take ages in 33. heat so i'd say get them in advance if you can as there is NO AIR CON in arrivals lounge.
The hotel was perfect and you cant fault it, what the tour operators dont tell you is that there are actually 3 sections to this hotel 1. Main Baobab 2.more expensive KOLE KOLE 3. A new wing Maribaha? Each section has a pool and resturant and you can use any regardless of where your room is you are not restricted to the main one in the Baobab, you can sit at any pool and drink at any bar on all inclusive.The food is excellent for a KENYA hotel this is third world afterall. The staff are very friendly and helpful and cant do enough for you. The SPA is ok - the prices are the same as the UK £32.00 for a pedicure so have a treatment or two but they are not bargain prices. It is however a paradise for monkeys (Sykes/Vervets/Colobus) they are all there and will given a chance steel your fruit or cake but considering the heat and dry season that has just ended it not surpriseing as there is so little fruit for them they are gentle and cause no harm (but the staff dont like you to feed them) The beach boys are more hassel then the monkeys!! No matter how well prepared you are they will get you unfortunatly around 4 hotels on the south coast are closed and the beach boys are now forced to work fewer hotels each so there seems more outside the Baobab, dont get me wrong they are not rude but this is their profession they are sales men without the suits! Be prepared to say NO BUSINESS and mean it, avoid eye contact and conversation, if you are in a pair or a group they will split you up before you even notice then it is harder to get away, the hotel has some fab shops and the prices are genuine where as on the beach the prices are trebbelled before you start to haggel and there is nothing that you cant get in the hotel which we found cheaper all round. EG £6 for ciggs on the beach £2 in the hotel!
SAFARI.....Julius Safaris is approx 50% cheaper than the tour agent, we paid half on booking and half the day after we came home he got me exactly the lodges i wanted and the driver was very knowledgable doing all he could for us he has a web site and communication is very good even though in Kenya internet is slow. Mombassa...you will go through iton the way to a safari and if you really want to go there after that then you can get a taxi from the hotel but it really isnt a good day out there is no need to go there, you do have a small shopping center and supermarket in Diani that sell everything even DV cassetts for the camera which we found out thankfully, plus a BARCLAYS BANK!
If you want to get out for a few hours then you could go to the COLOBUS MONKEY TRUST OR THE SNAKE PARK both a short cheap taxi ride away and great fun also supporting the local man is well worth while. The hotel was quiet the first week but as we hit good friday at the end of our holiday many locals came which put alot of pressure on the staff as they are more demanding than the English if this extra noise is something you want to avoid than check public holiday dates in the desination your going to otherwise you will have locals from all over taking their holidays at the same time as you which isnt as relaxing. Otherwise a perfect holiday if a little expensive but this is the tour operator charging almost adult prices for a 12 year old even though under UK law she is legally a child, but this isnt the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shelly1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Jambo!
I don't really know where to start really, as there was so much to this hotel that was amazing. So I apologise if the review is a bunch of waffle.
Anywho, we booked our holiday with Thomson (which were fantastic and very accomodating). We actually changed our hotel at last minute, as we didn't like the look of the beach on the previous one - we're so glad we did!
I (19) went with my grandmother, so we were a bit worried about things being easily accessable for her. This was no problem and the hotel were always willing to lend a hand - "Pole, pole all the way" =)
When we arrived, the hotel staff were waiting with cold flannels and fruit punches (which were out of this world), so we felt at home straight away. We then had the option of going to our rooms or having lunch, but due to my serious need to change and have a shower, we chose the room. All of the staff were very helpful lugging our stupidly heavy cases to our room and didn't once complain (Stephen and Vincent - who were extremely lovely). After one night in the room (which was the standard Baobab room), we decided to upgrade to the Maridadi wing, as the rooms were a lot more spacious and they also had a fan which proved to be a Godsend! For ten euros PPPN, you can't grumble for the extras you get.
Moving onto the staff at the hotel, I only have one word - "Wow". Everyone was so friendly and you get a friendly "Jambo" from everyone. I just have to say a bit hello to Lydia, Mohammad, Gabriel, Safe, Raymond and the kitchen chefs, who were probably the nicest people I've ever met.
Talking about the chefs - boy can they cook! The food was delicious and the puddings were fantastic. I only have one negative on this area and that is that the food was quite repetative. They do, however, do theme nights, so you can get a taste of different countries. My tip is (and this is coming from one of the fussiest eaters ever) try everything, You'll be pleasantly surprised.
The pools are lovely, especially the Maridadi three tier one. Just make sure you don't wear a lovely white bikini, unless you mind it having a green tinge at the end of your holiday! The beach is out of this world and the only let down is the beach boys. They are very persistant, but we found out that a firm but friendly 'no thank you' seemed to work - Plus, the hotel has a security guard around the beach, which sometimes puts them off approaching you.
When I was there, I did the snorkelling with the company of the Maridadi simulated beach, which was very cheap (1000ksh for 2hrs).
The animation team were fantastic, especially the boys that did the acrobatic show - wow!
One thing I would say, is be careful when carrying food. The hotel has A LOT of monkeys and when they see a doughnut, they will do anything in their will to get it. They are lovely though and as long as you're sensible, you'll have no problem. The baboons are a bit indimidating, but we didn't have any trouble with them at all.
When we were there, we also did a day safari with Julius (JT Safaris), but I've written a review for this seperately.

I could go on about this hotel for hours, but if there's anything you would like to know, just PM me =)
All in all, this is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tallypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We went here with Thomsons after their week long Best of Kenya safari. After a truly amazing but shattering week on safari, the Baobab was exactly what we needed. The staff were incredible, the food delicious (we haven’t eaten so much in a week before!), the resort was clean, the swimming pools divine and the beach (minus the hawkers) gorgeous. The entertainment team were enthusiastic and there was a wide variety of activities you could participate in but there was no pressure to do so. The evening entertainment shows were at times different but always entertaining. I would recommend this hotel and the Best of Kenya safari to anyone. It was definitely a holiday to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ReadingBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Baobab met all our expectations. The main rooms are quite basic but still nice. The beds were really hard though. We upgraded to Maridadi wing which was lovely. Fairly painless to upgrade. Flat screen TV. Huge spacous rooms with kingsize 4 poster bed and lovely crisp white and blue decor. Enormous en suite walk in shower and two washbasins. Fantastic views over the pool and towards the indian ocean. The food was the best we have experienced in all inclusive - and was good by any standards. My husband particularly liked his banana crumble and custard at lunchtimes! The service was excellent. Staff are all friendly and when you think of the levels of poverty in Kenya and how much waste they must see, I can't believe how warm and open they are. There are 3 main swimming pools the centre one is where the entertainment team were based volleyball water polo. aerobics etc. Not my thing but if you get fed up of your book....
We did a Thomson safari which was excellent but pretty pricey.
We chickened out of the beach. We had heard that the beach sellers can be very persistent and thought why face the stress, so we chickened out. I am not keen on sea swimming there is coral in the seas but high tide makes it easier. Take plastic sandals. In any case and my OH does not like sand much but there is a man made sandy beach at maridadi which the beach sellers cannot access. All in all, a fantastic holiday and worth having to have yellow fever jabs and having to take malaria tabs!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alyfenSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Stayed at Baobab 8th to 23rd March in the Baobab section of the hotel itself. Had wonderful holiday and fantastic safari. Hotel consists of main Baobab section (which is the oldest area) and two higher standard wings the Kole Kole and Maridadi. Our room in Baobab was adequate, king size double bed with en suite and walk in shower, no tv or tea coffe facilities, but clean and tidy with air conditioning and small balcony facing the sea; the two Kole Kole and Maridadi wings are very spacious and well appointed.
No matter where your room is you can use all the hotel facilities, eat in any of the three excellent buffet resturants or use the pools, bars and lounging areas. Because of this the hotel offers very good variety and opportunity to choose whether you want quiet and relaxing Maridadi with its "beach" and three pools including pool bar or plenty of activities at Baobab or Kole Kole with its fantastic infinity pool and two bars.
Evening entertainment at the Amplitheatre starts at 9.30pm and is good by animation team standards, alternatively relax at any of the three bars and lounges.
Whilst there we visited a local school with one of the waiters if you befriend one they will ask you if you'd like to visit but beware as there is always a "commercial oportunity" either personnally or for the family to be exploited once you are there! The waiters can be sacked if caught so be descreet. It was a good experience though and perfectly safe, real eye opener to see a state school and living conditions of the local people.
We booked a two night three day safari with JT Safaris in Tsavo East and West, stayed at two excellent lodges Ashnil and Kilaguni, of which Kilaguni in Tsava West was best and had a real wow factor because of the water hole view. Ten of us from Baobab went on the same trip with two other guests from another hotel in three safari vans (four to a van) had a fantastic time great fun and saw everything except Rhino and Leopard. Good value too.
All in all a great holiday, met some lovely people, were well looked after by the excellent staff and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jer-and-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing