We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Baobab, Beautiful Kenya, Beautiful People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Baobab, Beautiful Kenya, Beautiful People”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We have had one of the best 2 weeks holiday ever at the Baobab Beach Resort. This report may be lengthy but I hope you read all of it because I want to give as much information as possible in order to make your holiday as perfect as possible!
The Resort;
Stunning. 3 pools - our favourite being the glorious Kole Kole infinity pool with not many monkeys due to having less trees. Beach towels are provided. 3 inclusive restaurants – the main Karibu has more choice but is very busy with not many tables for 2. The extra 2 al a carte restaurants – we didn’t visit as the standard at main restaurants was so good – freshly cooked food infront of you that changed daily – the fresh fish is beautiful, and we also enjoyed the fresh pasta cooked to your specification for lunch, as well as the informal toasties and pizza served at the Kole Kole pool bar.
The Accommodation;
If you are booking standard then I would highly recommend to request a bungalow. Spacious with a four poster bed – the only difference from a superior bungalow is bathrobes, tv and tea/coffee and with the quality of facilities onsite we didn’t feel that it was worth the extra money! (who wants to watch tv on holiday, esp with the amazing scenery). If you were to upgrade we would recommend Kole Kole rather than Miradadi – not sure about the interiors but the locality is more open and spacious (less monkeys).
The Food;
Wasn’t sure about the buffet style idea at first, but it was fantastic. Pick your table, order your drinks, then peruse the many choices on offer. All foods (bar vegetables etc) are cooked to your liking – and with a smile!
The People;
Fantastic. Words cannot express the happiness of this place. I walked to the pool at 8am one morning having a wonderful chat with one of the cooks! Wherever you go it’s ‘Jambo’. Beautiful people. And be sure to take the time to learn some of their language. A big hello to my main man Mohamed at the Tapa Tapa Bar!!!!! And Isaac, Freida, Kennedy, Emmanuel, Alex, Joseph, etc, etc. These people are an inspiration.
The Monkeys;
Yes, they are cheeky, but it’s their nature. We didn’t have any incidents, but we made sure we didn’t walk around with food, leave drinks exposed, etc. I was verrrry apprehensive about the monkeys, but if you’re sensible they aren’t a problem. Don’t feed them!!!
The Beach;
Absolutely glorious. The sea was warmer than the pool.
The beach boys are a problem, but they are only trying to make a living. They are particularly ‘keen’ beyond the steps of the hotel but if you want to go for a walk turn left, keep walking and turn your positive attitude on, this may mean being a bit ignorant! A stern thank you will do – and avoid eye contact. Please don’t let them deter you from the beach because it is soooo gorgeous. Maybe tell them you’ll come back. If you do get drawn into a purchase they will try to fleece you beyond belief – haggle as much as possible. But still remember that this is all they have for income. And at high tide they all disappear – perfect time for a swim!
The Safari;
I will be posting a separate review on this – please read. Saw the Big 5 in one day – amazing! Our driver was brilliant. Search subject JT Safaris Day Trips.
The tummy trouble;
Please do not listen to too many people about the tummy/food issues. Remember that firstly you are travclling to a different continent with different cooking oils etc. And the heat. And the malaria tablets! Both me and my husband ate exactly the same foods at every mealtime but he had a dodgy tummy and I didn’t – this was the malarone. Don’t avoid food and don’t take too many immodium (just flush it out!).
Kenya;
This is a very poor country. Please try and help the locals. Take pens, socks, old t-shirts, toiletries, etc. Anything that you can fit into your suitcase will make such a difference to these peoples lives – the beach sellers will even exchange goods for your t-shirt.
The Flight;
We flew Thomson to Mombasa and booked Premium Seats. We only booked because we got a good deal and so glad that we did. Although check-in was only one desk we did board first. The seats were much comfier and spacious and service was great. On the return journey however, we boarded last – but this was due to the need to board from the front – but we weren’t informed of this (no tannoy, a shambles) – it made sense just wish theyd’ve told us, then on return to Manchester it was a free-for-all to disembark. It’s the little touches that make a difference and the return boarding/disembark needs addressing. However, we would still choose Premium in future.

Overall it was an absolutely amazing holiday, would return in an instant, and will definitely be returning to Kenya!
Any questions, no matter how trivial, please don’t hesitate to PM us and we’ll try to answer as best we can!

Jo and Michael
2nd-17th July 2009

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jovizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    382
    100
    29
    15
See reviews for
380
780
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I have just returned back from two weeks at the Boabab in Kenya, i went with my partner. I must admit i was a bit wary when we booked as I never travelled to a place like kenya before, and as we are only 22 i thought it may not be the place for us, but I couldn't have been more wrong. We stayed in the Kole Kole part of the hotel overlooking the pool and beach, the room was incredible with a huge bed, and large living area. The whole hotel in itself is fantastic. The food is lovley with lots to choose from each evening, we were spoilt for choice each time we ate. The staff are all so kind and lovely and there are loads of activities to do through the day, which was good as it keeps you busy if you do not want to just sunbath!!!! The beach is breathtaking..... white sand and clear blue sea, again like most people i was wary about the beach boys before we went but i can honestly say they are fine, we managed to walk all the way along the beach and were only bothered a few times, as long as you say no thank you they will leave you alone.

The trip from the airport was something you cannot put into words, i was so tierd from the flight but the sights you see are incredible. I had never realised just how poor Mombassa was but everyone still is smiling, it was incredible. On arrival we were given cold face towels and drinks then taken to our rooms, there are so many monkeys in the grounds which can be quite cheeky, a baboon jumped onto our balcony while i was sat outside which was quite interesting and scary.

There are many trips to do with first choice and other agencies, we booked some which were very good, including Fort Jesus by night which includes a sunset cruise and eating inside the Fort with a sound and light show definatly not one to be missed!!!! we also went game fishing with a couple we met and caught three king fish, one of which we kept and ate that evening it was delicious.

Kenya is amazing and the most wonderful place i have ever been on holiday, i would recomend this hotel to anyone and will defenatly be going back!!!! HAKUNA MATATA!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessHHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This is a great resort!
Worth more than 4*! Great food, friendly staff, beautiful gardens and pools etc... The all-in-wine is not good, the diet coke has a different, chemical taste then the one we have in Europe. The cocktails, on the contrary, are very good likewhise the (paying) wine!
The beach boys are a pain in the [--], but that's the only negative comment we can give...
The week safari we did with Pollmans before we got to the Baobab was absolutely super!
We would recommend this holiday to young and old!
Please buy all your souvenirs at the market at the beach! (You'll get used to the annoying beach boys after a while ;-) ). John (the man with the deformed face) can make some great souvenirs out of ebony wood. Say hello to him from us!!! Advice : PLEASE BRING LOTS OF PENS (they love them !!!) AND LEAVE SOME CLOTHES AND SHOES THERE! THE PEOPLE ARE VERY VERY POOR!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDfromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

This place was fantastic.Just the transfer from the airport is an experience in its self with everybody in the streets making and selling things.We stayed in the maridadi part of the hotel which was the quieter end of the property but there are other parts that are more lively like the baobab or kole kole areas.If you are an animal lover you will love this place by far the best is the many types of monkeys which get up to all kinds of mischief stealing food from tables and the many waiters chasing them with catapults(the monkeys always win).All the staff are fantasic and will always greet you with Jambo no matter how many times you will pass them,they always have time to talk to you and will help out with anything.We also went on safari with hits safaris(you can get the web site from T A )they were very good and a resonable price we saw the big 5 and cheaters and many other animals.Just be prepared to be hassled every time you stop outside the game parks to buy things, they will even want to trade with you for the shoes you are waring.The thing to do is bring old football shirts or tee shirts with you and you can give them to some of the people they seem to like that.
Overall it was a magnificent holiday one which we will never forget and will definatly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patty&kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Just got back from Baobab and I have to say what a fabulous place it is. We stayed in a bungalow which was in the trees but it had all the facilities even a resident lizard! I was a little concerned with all the negative reviews on here but I can honestly say I would go back and will go back. All facilities are open and the staff make it so special. We had a few showers and cloudy days but no one can change the weather. Want to be there now!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bounty2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We have just returned from an excellent two week trip to the Baobab Beach Resort, Kenya, and already missing it... Before booking this trip, my partner and i were looking for a perfect place to go away to get married, so we decided to try Kenya and first choice recomended the Baobab. I have never written any sort of review before but we were that impressed by this place that i decided to give it a go....

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted with cocktails and a very warm and happy welcome. Once checked in we were shown to our rooms very quickly so there was no time wasted waiting about.. For the first few days we stayed in one of the bungalows, the room was good very clean and we would have been quite happy staying there, but as we booked a wedding package we were to be upgraded on our wedding day.

First impressions were great.. The gardens were beautiful, and the monkeys were everywhere.....the beach looked fantastic and the pools looked great too. We spent the first few days exploring and settling in and it wasnt long before we made a few friends.

We arrived on the Tuesday and planned to get married on the Friday. We met RENSON our wedding planner, he was fantastic, he arranged the wedding exactly as we wanted, and told us not to worry about a thing..He even upgraded us a day early to the Maridadi Wing which was amazing...On our wedding day we sunbathed till 1230, then went back to our room to get ready and he came and collected us at 230 and took us to our chosen wedding destination. The ceremony went perfectly and the weather was great, (so much less stressfull than weddings back home...)

The beach was great. We went for a beach walk with one of the entertainment team, We were a bit weiry about venturing onto the beach because i heard that the beach boys hassle you into buying carvings from them, but as we found out, they are very friendly and are happy just walking and talking with you.. If you dont want to buy anything just walk on by an say no thanks, they will soon leave u alone. They are just earning a living after all. We did buy a few thing from them at the end of the holiday, at a very reasonable price too,Just be prepaired to haggle them down and dont give in!!!! Oh and if you have any old football or rugby shirts you can swap them for gifts..

The food was great too. Ive read reviews about it being repettative and boring?? What a load of crap!!! There was different food to try EVERY nite, but some people just didnt want too try new things, and it was all cooked fresh in front of you. Oh and the chefs and staff were fantastic and very friendly.

We were also looking to book a safari and after reading a few reviews on trip advisor we decided to call julius... He made our holiday complete.. We aranged to meet him at the front gate, as he is not allowed on site. he helped us choose the perfect safari for a VERY good price....Dont book with the hotel or first choice because they rip you off......
Oh yes... and if you ask you might get some free gifts from julius too!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU JULIUS !!!!!!!!
I have written a seperate review about the safari so look it up to find out more.....

We found that the Baobab is in the perfect location, beautiful surroundings, and gardens full of wildlife..we loved the monkeys.. your not supposed to feed them but lots of people were.. you just have to be a bit more careful of the baboons as they can be quite intimidating sometimes.

There was some maitenance work going on whilst we were there but it didnt bother us one bit, the workmen were never in your way or loud, to be honest we hardly seen them(i am aware that some guests have complained, but from what i can see they complained about everything.. suppose you cant please everyone!!!!)

The night entertainment was good..The staff made the best out of what little they had to entertain you with, but it was good overall.. and the massi dancers were great too!!!

overall we had a fantastic time at the baobab, and look forward to returning in the near future

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markjburchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

All 5 pools (3 are linked), 4 bars and 4 restaurants opened 1st July so last week better than first. 1 bar and 1 a-la-carte stayed shut as it was quiet.
Food was excellent, one of the best we've had for an all-inclusive. The 3 all-inc served the same food but it was nice to have a change of venue. Didn't try the a-la-carte (only 1 was open) but someone did and didn't rate it. Both of us did have seriously dodgy stomachs which we put down to Malarone, but still on it now and tummies are OK. Hard to believe it was the food as we both eat vey different and everything was so fresh and served hot.
Saw the 4 types of monkeys, they made our holiday. The small monkeys are 'slightly mischievous' and will enter your room, steal food off restaurant tables, rummage though unattended bags at side of pool etc - HOW GREAT IS THAT? much better than going to Skegness.
Went on 2 trips with Julius of JT Safaries (see seperate review) this may sound like every other review but he was EXCELLENT. Nothing was too much trouble, prices were excellent and customer service better than anything you will receive in England. Masai Mara was a dream come true. Would have booked even more trips but 'tummy troubles' confined us to hotel for longer than we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave-coll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing