We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the most relaxing time ever, great staff, wonderfull hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
exeter devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the most relaxing time ever, great staff, wonderfull hotel.”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

this was the most relaxing holiday weve had for years, great hotel. koli koli rooms a must very well furnished also very clean and freindly helpfull staff who are really geniunely happy.. grounds are kept really tidy, pools are lovely and plenty of room with enough sun beds for all. The staff are superb, fast eddy in the resturant, and gorg mary are lovely people, watch out for the little baboons he he, they love doughnuts !!! if your thinking of doing a safari while there,( MUST DO) contact JT SAFARIS, julius and his sister will ensure you have the best informed and private safari you will ever hope for. DO NOT BOOK WITH TRAVEL AGENT, YOU WILL BE PACKED LIKE SARDINES. if you do book with julius for east/west savo ask for DANIEL as the safari driver. the most genuine, patient, friendly and informative man you will meet. we bet theres not a question he cant answer for you. dont worry about the beach boys on diani beach, just say no thanks and walk on bye, there are hotel guards nearbye so your never going to get bothered. we hope you have as good as time as we did, jambo jambo

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    380
    99
    28
    15
See reviews for
375
779
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed at The baobab - Kole Kole wing, from 6th July - 21st July. It was fantastic in all areas. The setting is similar to a jungle with a long drive surrounded by trees creating the perfect habitat for the resident monkeys and baboons, which were very naughty but entertaining! It then opens out to the most beautiful beach I have ever seen, it is truely stunning. The beach boys were not that much of a problem to us, and we managed to enjoy the beach everyday, swimming and walking. A "no thank-you" seemed to do the trick, and we didn't feel intimidated at all. There seemd to be less beach boys at the Kole Kole end than the Baobab/Maridadi end, and if you timed it right when the tide comes in there were none at all!!
We upgraded when we booked, to the Kole Kole wing and I would higly reccommend this if you want a bit more luxury, if you are not that bothered about the room the standard rooms in the Baobab looked fine. The Kole Kole Deluxe rooms are fanatastic, very large, clean and have king size four poster bed.
The food was excellent, the best all-inclusive meals we have had. Every meal time there was various choices available, with lunch and dinner, having different fish and two meat dishes, all cooked fresh in front of you, a curry dish, and freshly cooked pasta station. you won't get bored of the choice, theres something for everyone.
In the evening the Kole kole bar is very quiet and a majority of people tend to gather at the Baobab bar (Tapa Tapa), which we did. The drinks are fine, its their local brands that are included in your package. If you want international brands they are available for a charge. There is music in the background and a nice atmosphere. We sampled the entertainment at the Porini Ampitheatre, which was great, they're not proffesionals but its fun to watch. Theres a bar which stays open late if you fancy, though you have to pay after 11pm, and a dance floor with music after the show.
We took a two day, one night safari to Tsavo east+west, with Julius of JT Safaris which I booked through email contact before we left, and transfering a deposit to Julius was completely safe, and without problem. The safari was fantastic, and got to see most animals, what an experience!! We stayed at the Kilaguni lodge which was fantastic, the rooms were clean if very dated, but the setting incredible. Eating breakfast in the morning watching animals drink from a watering hole, 30 feet away, and the sun rising on Mount Kilimangaro in the distance was surreal and breath-taking!
This was our first time in kenya and what a country. The people are fantastic and soo friendly, they are also very poor which although I knew this before travelling, nothing really prepares you for seeing it first hand. So take something to give while you are there, money or clothes etc.
If you have any doubts just go, you will not be dissapointed. Faboulous hotel. Great People. Beautiful scenery. Just Perfect.
P.S Forgot to mention Ali Barbours Cave Restaurant, GO! Its great.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My overall rating is poor only due to the deaf ears of the management on our return to the uk. We stayed at the baobab for six nights then went to 'Little Governers camp' on safari which was the best experience of my life,the service and whole safari was A+++.
When we returned to the baobab from safari for the second part of our stay we unpacked again and i noticed my luggage scales were missing so we asked at reception to see if they had been handed in but were told not so i just put it down to myself being careless.
Before we flew to kenya we purchased Gucci EDT and D &G purfume along with other items at heathrow duty free.I didnt put them in the safe as i chose to wrap the boxes in clothes we werent wearing anymore and packed them in our holdall which was locked up until the day before we returned home . Upon unpacking back in the uk we discovered both perfumes were missing so immediatly informed Kuoni who in turn contacted the hotel. We also emailed the hotel and were told they would look into it and told us to be patient. The holdall that the perfumes were in was unlocked for one day and then locked for the journey back to the uk. The locks were intact and had not been tampered with by the airports involved so the theft had got to have been done at the hotel.
Kuoni wrote to us with a copy of a letter from the hotel revealing they had done checks on the safety deposit box and it was fine and no keys had left the grounds of the hotel. but would we please accept a goodwill gesture of 50 euros off our next visit.
We were a bit annoyed that they hadnt read the details of our e-mail clearly stating that the items were not in the safety deposit box and why would we want money to go back somewhere who stole our perfumes.
We wrote again and were duly informed the matter was closed.
We never wanted money just acknowledgement that housekeeping had been repremanded so it doesnt happen again to anyone else.
My husband and i gave very generously to the staff in tips and helped in buying the local orphanage a cd player so its a bitter pill to swallow when someone takes from you after being so generous.We wont be returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank DerbyshireJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Me and the hubby stayed here in July 2009 and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. This was our first time in Kenya and we were a little unsure what to expect but we would recommend Kenya to anyone and to also do a safari. We did the Masai Mara for 3 days and stayed at the Mara Simba Lodge (I have put a separate review for this).

We had seen some really good reviews for this hotel but got a little worried a few days before we travelled when we seen some negative comments about the place. All I can say is that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, however I could not fault the place and couldn't find any of the problems some people had suggested.

The staff are extremely helpful - especially Armani in the Maridadi bar who even took us out to the local disco - Shakatak - a memorable experience! There are activities during the day ie shuffleboard, water polo and aerobics but if you just feel like chilling then you can do this too with no hassle. The food was truly fabulicious and there are 3 all inclusive buffet style restaurants you can eat in. They all serve the same food but you can eat in whatever one you want. Unlike other buffets the bulk of the food is cooked fresh for you with a chef on every station. We stayed in the Maridadi wing as we upgraded and the room was really big and had a huge bathroom but if you get one of the bungalows in the main wing, I believe these are really good value too.

The hotel animation team put on a show every night for half an hour and they do work hard to make you happy. The cocktails are good and the wine nice too. The setting on the beach is beautiful however there are a lot of beach boys selling stuff that does put you off a bit but they are only trying to make a living.

The highlight however is definitely the monkeys and baboons who keep you entertained constantly. We had the baboon show every day about 4ish and the family come and join you on the sun loungers. A bit scary at first but out of this world experience to be that close to them. The monkeys (cheeky ones) come and join you for your afternoon tea (doughnuts and sarnies provided by the hotel). All I am saying is the monkeys like the doughnuts!! This is just a sample because you will see so many different types of monkey when you get there along with bush babies, lizards (big lizards!), and unusual birds with big beaks.

I felt really safe when we went out and the animation team will take you shopping or to the disco if you want so it is worth venturing outside the hotel, even although the hotel is really good. All of the staff are really helpful even down to the security guards who are happy to pass the time of day with you and chat about the wildlife at the hotel. The staff are plentiful and probably outnumber the guests so there are always waiters, gardeners, bar staff, chefs, table cleaners, you name it on hand.

Fab food, smashing staff and beautiful location make this a great place to go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousescotties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Went for 2 weeks to the Baobab Resort on Diani Beach with Thomson's after a last minute change from The Diani Beach Resort and Spa, due to pool maintenance problems, and I've no doubt it's the best thing that could have happened. Due to our change of accomodation, we were upgraded to the" Kole Kole " wing, which was superb, the rooms at the " kole Kole " were big and spacious with a huge balcony and Ocean View, so I would recommend this upgrade.
The infinity pool at the " Kole Kole end of the resort complex was also 1st class, with plenty of sun beds available, and plenty of activities going on, if that's what you want. I should mention at this stage, you can use all 3 pools in the complex, regardless which wing you stay in, all of which are very good, so it's what ever takes your fancy.
If your a beach lover, you will be nothing short of gutted ! Not because of the quality of the beach, or the beautiful coast line, it's because you really cant lie on it, due to the ever present beach boy's, they are complete pests! They never stopped us having a swim, or a stroll, but there's no way you could settle down for a lazy day on the beach, as they would have been all over you, " like fly's round s.... ! "
Back to the Hotel, the quality of food is very good, with a vast choice to suit all, although I would say, if you love fresh fish, or curry's, you'll be in your eliment. Which moves me on to the people who run the place " THE BABOONS AND MONKEY'S !!! " Ok maybe not quite, but at meal times, more so the 4 O'clock bun parade, they appear in there dozens, stealing buns and drinks ( beer, vodka, they really like vodka and tomato juice, I found out to my amazement ), from any off guarded holiday makers,me included. To be fair they are very entertaining. All the staff go out their way to make sure your having a great time, they alway's have a smile for you and and very genuine, so please remember to tip, as they only get paid aroud £5.00 a month!!
If you do decide to go to Kenya, make sure you take enough spare cash to go on safari. We went for 2 day's and 1 night to Tsavo East, we seen everything except a Hippo. I would absolutely recommend JT Safari's ( just click on their web site and make contact before you head over ). The cost is approx $485 US, for 2 people, slightly cheaper than Thomson's, but you get a private Safari van to yourself, with your personal guide/driver, rather than going with Thomson's, who will jamb, 8 people in the same van, charging slightly more money..
All in all, a great holiday and a tremendous hotel and resort that I have no hesitation in recommending. Alan & Angela, Edinburgh

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShabbaLaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We have had one of the best 2 weeks holiday ever at the Baobab Beach Resort. This report may be lengthy but I hope you read all of it because I want to give as much information as possible in order to make your holiday as perfect as possible!
The Resort;
Stunning. 3 pools - our favourite being the glorious Kole Kole infinity pool with not many monkeys due to having less trees. Beach towels are provided. 3 inclusive restaurants – the main Karibu has more choice but is very busy with not many tables for 2. The extra 2 al a carte restaurants – we didn’t visit as the standard at main restaurants was so good – freshly cooked food infront of you that changed daily – the fresh fish is beautiful, and we also enjoyed the fresh pasta cooked to your specification for lunch, as well as the informal toasties and pizza served at the Kole Kole pool bar.
The Accommodation;
If you are booking standard then I would highly recommend to request a bungalow. Spacious with a four poster bed – the only difference from a superior bungalow is bathrobes, tv and tea/coffee and with the quality of facilities onsite we didn’t feel that it was worth the extra money! (who wants to watch tv on holiday, esp with the amazing scenery). If you were to upgrade we would recommend Kole Kole rather than Miradadi – not sure about the interiors but the locality is more open and spacious (less monkeys).
The Food;
Wasn’t sure about the buffet style idea at first, but it was fantastic. Pick your table, order your drinks, then peruse the many choices on offer. All foods (bar vegetables etc) are cooked to your liking – and with a smile!
The People;
Fantastic. Words cannot express the happiness of this place. I walked to the pool at 8am one morning having a wonderful chat with one of the cooks! Wherever you go it’s ‘Jambo’. Beautiful people. And be sure to take the time to learn some of their language. A big hello to my main man Mohamed at the Tapa Tapa Bar!!!!! And Isaac, Freida, Kennedy, Emmanuel, Alex, Joseph, etc, etc. These people are an inspiration.
The Monkeys;
Yes, they are cheeky, but it’s their nature. We didn’t have any incidents, but we made sure we didn’t walk around with food, leave drinks exposed, etc. I was verrrry apprehensive about the monkeys, but if you’re sensible they aren’t a problem. Don’t feed them!!!
The Beach;
Absolutely glorious. The sea was warmer than the pool.
The beach boys are a problem, but they are only trying to make a living. They are particularly ‘keen’ beyond the steps of the hotel but if you want to go for a walk turn left, keep walking and turn your positive attitude on, this may mean being a bit ignorant! A stern thank you will do – and avoid eye contact. Please don’t let them deter you from the beach because it is soooo gorgeous. Maybe tell them you’ll come back. If you do get drawn into a purchase they will try to fleece you beyond belief – haggle as much as possible. But still remember that this is all they have for income. And at high tide they all disappear – perfect time for a swim!
The Safari;
I will be posting a separate review on this – please read. Saw the Big 5 in one day – amazing! Our driver was brilliant. Search subject JT Safaris Day Trips.
The tummy trouble;
Please do not listen to too many people about the tummy/food issues. Remember that firstly you are travclling to a different continent with different cooking oils etc. And the heat. And the malaria tablets! Both me and my husband ate exactly the same foods at every mealtime but he had a dodgy tummy and I didn’t – this was the malarone. Don’t avoid food and don’t take too many immodium (just flush it out!).
Kenya;
This is a very poor country. Please try and help the locals. Take pens, socks, old t-shirts, toiletries, etc. Anything that you can fit into your suitcase will make such a difference to these peoples lives – the beach sellers will even exchange goods for your t-shirt.
The Flight;
We flew Thomson to Mombasa and booked Premium Seats. We only booked because we got a good deal and so glad that we did. Although check-in was only one desk we did board first. The seats were much comfier and spacious and service was great. On the return journey however, we boarded last – but this was due to the need to board from the front – but we weren’t informed of this (no tannoy, a shambles) – it made sense just wish theyd’ve told us, then on return to Manchester it was a free-for-all to disembark. It’s the little touches that make a difference and the return boarding/disembark needs addressing. However, we would still choose Premium in future.

Overall it was an absolutely amazing holiday, would return in an instant, and will definitely be returning to Kenya!
Any questions, no matter how trivial, please don’t hesitate to PM us and we’ll try to answer as best we can!

Jo and Michael
2nd-17th July 2009

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jovizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I have just returned back from two weeks at the Boabab in Kenya, i went with my partner. I must admit i was a bit wary when we booked as I never travelled to a place like kenya before, and as we are only 22 i thought it may not be the place for us, but I couldn't have been more wrong. We stayed in the Kole Kole part of the hotel overlooking the pool and beach, the room was incredible with a huge bed, and large living area. The whole hotel in itself is fantastic. The food is lovley with lots to choose from each evening, we were spoilt for choice each time we ate. The staff are all so kind and lovely and there are loads of activities to do through the day, which was good as it keeps you busy if you do not want to just sunbath!!!! The beach is breathtaking..... white sand and clear blue sea, again like most people i was wary about the beach boys before we went but i can honestly say they are fine, we managed to walk all the way along the beach and were only bothered a few times, as long as you say no thank you they will leave you alone.

The trip from the airport was something you cannot put into words, i was so tierd from the flight but the sights you see are incredible. I had never realised just how poor Mombassa was but everyone still is smiling, it was incredible. On arrival we were given cold face towels and drinks then taken to our rooms, there are so many monkeys in the grounds which can be quite cheeky, a baboon jumped onto our balcony while i was sat outside which was quite interesting and scary.

There are many trips to do with first choice and other agencies, we booked some which were very good, including Fort Jesus by night which includes a sunset cruise and eating inside the Fort with a sound and light show definatly not one to be missed!!!! we also went game fishing with a couple we met and caught three king fish, one of which we kept and ate that evening it was delicious.

Kenya is amazing and the most wonderful place i have ever been on holiday, i would recomend this hotel to anyone and will defenatly be going back!!!! HAKUNA MATATA!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessHHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing