We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, best in Ukunda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, Herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, best in Ukunda”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had a wonderful holiday at Baobab beach resort, the hotel is beautiful and the setting is great, right on the beach looking out at a sand island that appears at low tide. The facilities are excellent, especially the pools, and the food is amazing, it was a different theme every night we were there (2 weeks) and the food never failed to impress, and i can be quite fussy with my food! Our room was lovely and spacious with a massive bed and a great shower. And finally the staff were amazing, really lovely, friendly and helpful, they never seem to expect a tip but they definitely deserve one! One word of warning - its a long old drive from the airport, took us more than 2 hours, inlcuding a short ferry crossing, so just be prepared for that when you land

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Taloolahloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    380
    99
    28
    15
See reviews for
375
779
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

A brilliant hotel very friendly staff the food was great the hotel & grounds were well looked after nothing was too much trouble so good we have booked to go again at Christmas, yes the beach boys are a pest but they are only trying to make a living after all, the ferry crossing is an experience but adds to the holiday, safaris are great best holiday ever.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midhopetrailertrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Took our annual holiday here and enjoyed every minute of it

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I’m not sure I’m a skilled enough reviewer to adequately describe how amazing this place is but here we go….

Transfer from is Airport is fine. We were pre-warned about the fiasco that is the ferry crossing so no problems there.

Check-in was smooth and bags delivered promptly to our bungalow in the Baobab main building’s grounds. Room was superb and really couldn’t understand why people would upgrade at an extra cost!

Pool areas are excellent. Kole Kole being the more nosier with lots going on. Miridadi is a lot quieter so good for chilling and reading books etc.

Buffets were pretty much the same in all restaurants but we preferred the Miridadi as we found a couple of the waiters there to be exceptional. Food quality was good and I stuffed my face. Even my partner who is quite fussy found something to eat each day.

Wildlife around the hotel is truly breath taking with monkeys galore. Also there’s bush babys, monitor lizards and loads of exotic birds.

As many people on trip advisor we booked our 2 night safari through Julius @ JT Safaris. The man is an absolute legend. We arranged everything before we went with him via e-mail and paid a small deposit. Unfortunately while we were there my partner become really sick on the first night and we had to return to the hotel early. Julius was genuinely concerned and kept ringing the driver’s mobile phone to find out how she was, really nice touch. When we returned Julius met us as we still had to pay the outstanding balance. I said my partner getting ill was not his fault and we would still pay him full price. He was having none of it and wouldn’t accept all the money. I ended up giving him only half of what I was suppose to. Customer service/satisfaction at it’s finest!!!

Easter came towards the end of stay and the hotel filled up to near full capacity. This made the Kole Kole pool a bit too crowded for us so we spent most of time at the Miridadi pool. We were more than happy to do this anyway as this was probably the best place to watch the monkeys.

All in all this was a fantastic experience for us and we will 100% be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doogers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Exceptional level of service, Excellent swimming and beach facilities, Entertainment was of a high standard - great place for a family or even a romantic break.

Would recommend and return for another break there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwana_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My Partner and I came here over Christmas for a week, we booked through Thomsons/First Choice and felt we got very good value for money especially as we were travelling at that time of year.
Due to the snow we were delayed 14 hours which was disapointing when we were only booked there for a week. But the way First Choice/Thomsons staff within the airport and when we arrived treated us and looked after us could not be faulted. We were put up in a hotel and fed while we were delayed.
The journey from mombasa airport to the resort wasn't the best but this was probally due to how tired and desperate to get there we were. We travelled by coach for about 1 1/2 hours but were the first drop off which was great. We were met on arrival by the resort reception staff who offered us a nice cold drink and wet towel.
We were taken to our room in the Maridadi area of the resort which was beautiful, spacious and very clean. We had asked for a sea view and they did not disapoint us.
I was very impressed with the resport as a whole it was always clean, well looked after, spacious, beautifuly furnished and all 3 pools were great in different ways. The Baobab and Kole Kole tended to have more activities at them while the maridadi (which was our favourite) was relaxing with a 3 tiered pool which had a pool bar at the bottom.
As it was Christmas while we were there the staff went to alot of effort to decorate the whole resort and set up a lovely gala dinner on a section of the beach.
The food was always of high quality and a great selection. There was one night we were very tired from safari and slept through the times for dinner but when we mentioned this to a member of staff they arranged for food to be prepared and served in the bar for us later on.
As for our safari we had pre-booked as part of our package to go on the 2day tsavo safari. We had upgraded to the superiour lodge of Kiiguni in tsavo west as my partner had stayed there previously and was interested to go back. As there was a mistake in our booking we didnt upgrade on the second night but the accomadation was still nice at the voi lodge, although it wasn't as high a standard. We had our own safari bus and driver who had great knowledge to share with us. We were not let down by what we saw on Safari and had a great experiance.
We did venture out of the resort but were short on time so didnt get to go as far as we would have liked. there is a shopping centre a short taxi ride away. the reception will call u a driver who will take to there and back for very cheap and who will wait on you while you shop. the shops had some lovely things in them for very resonable prices annd also stalls which were open to haggling. there is also a bar and resturant which serves great food. We also visited Ali barbours resturant which is a beautiful cave tranformed into a restuarant. I really enjoyed the food but my partner who chose something else formt he menu didnt enjoy it as much however we really enjoyed the beutiful surrounding while we ate. They also have a car to take u to and from the resort for free.

Overall this has to be my partner and I's best experiance of a resort and we have been to a fair few! The staff couldn't be friendlier and the place was kept to a very high standard. We only wished we didn't have to leave! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

A beautiful resort with everything you could want from a holiday in the sun.
- Brilliant friendly staff
- Three wonderful pools
- Four great bars
- Three buffet restaurants with good quality produce and variety, (all with views of the Indian Ocean)
- Clean spacious rooms

The only thing I would say, is that, it can get a bit noisy in the evening, so bring some ear plugs!
Also, guys, bring a pair of trousers/jeans with you, as you will need them for dinner. It's in no way stuffy, just a bit of a throw back from colonial times, I think..

Quite simply, this is a fabulous resort in a fabulous country, full of fabulous people.
I can't recommend it highly enough....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Jovago.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing