We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best-Value-For-Money Family Holiday Ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MNN2014
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best-Value-For-Money Family Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Diani is a prime tourist destination therefore coming by an affordable, exclusive holiday on an uncrowded beach can be abit of a rarity. Upani offered us the privacy and pleasure of enjoying diani/Galu beach without all the fuss that accompanies touristy haunts.

Upani is very well located; Close enough to the beach, yet far enough to be away from the crowds and traffic and therefore offers a sense of privacy and exclusivity.
The fact that meals are prepared fresh for every meal by an expert chef is another huge plus for Upani.Hotel buffets can get rather tedious so i enjoyed that the chef made fresh meals and exactly what we requested.
The staff are attentive to your every need and friendly enough without being intrusive and overly familiar with guests.
I loved that for the price, the bed and bath linen was scrumptiously cottony....Most properties will scrounge on little comforts and make you feel like you are paying nickels and dimes and therefore getting what you exactly pay for. Not so for Upani.... Housekeeping services were also great.
The rooms are kept clean and laundry done so the kids always had fresh clothes to wear....
The best personal touch though was Winnie making a beach-ball for the kids out of plastic bags and cardboard..."mpira wa tufe" it was an insight into swahili children's lifestyle and a thoughtful thing to do for the kids :-)))

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel K
Arcadia, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Upani is a real gem!”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at Upani as a large group of 4 families in Nov - Dec 2016 and we had an awesome time. The welcome ceremony by the staff set a very good first impression and the rest of our stay lived up to this! The facility is well-kept and clean. The staff were friendly and courteous. The chef (Jonathan) was simply excellent! Every meal was a 5-star and despite our large number (24 mouths!), he managed to over-feed us and with excellent food. The walks to the beach were literary a few minutes and in a safe secluded area. The beach is superb - clean and without crowds.
The swinging day-bed was such a hit!
Only shortcoming is the number of bathrooms which were stretched by our large number - but the owner has assured us that there is a plan to add some.
We will definitely be going back to Upani.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food, the bedding, the proximity to a clean beach
Liked least: The number of bathrooms were insufficient for our large group
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OderoA
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Idyllic and Serene”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The extraordinary serene setting at Upani is a welcome relief from hustle and bustle of the Mombasa Island. The villa is a fusion of Swahili and contemporary architecture with an idllyic garden and swimming pool and well appointed rooms.The staff are helpful and go out of the way to make guests comfortable. It is also less than 10 minute walk to the renowned white sandy beaches of Diani. A great place to spend time with family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed coming to Upani and our pleasure indeed to have had you. Indeed the white sandy beaches are a great highlight for many along with the serene environment, we are glad you enjoyed them. We look forward to hosting you again very soon in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyahaseya
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, incredible staff!”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our trips to Kenya have in the past always involved driving to different parts of the country to visit different family members. Even though we love doing this, it is also very exhausting especially with kids. We decided to do it differently this time round so as to not only spend quality time with family but to also have a few days of rest.

To say that Upani holiday home met our expectations would be a big understatement.
It was exactly what we had hoped it would be and much more.
Winnie the manager sent a driver to pick us at the airport and we were pleasantly surprised to find out that the place looked as well as it looked on the pictures.

In the days that followed, we were treated to some of the best meals we have ever eaten. Uhuru the chef surprised and awed us every single day. Whether it was seafood brought by local fishermen or mahamris or coconut rice, the food was always fresh and well prepared. There are people who really love whatever they do and this passion shows in the quality of their work. The chef Uhuru is definitely in that class.

We felt very at home at this place and the main reason was that the staff was not only professional but extremely nice. On the days that we were joined by extended family, the staff went out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable and entertained.

Jose the life guard was always on hand making sure that everyone especially the kids were safe and giving tips where necessary. We spent a lot of time swimming (the pool is really nice!)and by the end of our stay, our little son had discarded his floaties swimming all alone in the deep end of the pool with Jose on his side.

One of the biggest highlights of our stay was when Winnie organized a 'coastal experience' for us by inviting someone to harvest coconuts and preparing madafu and mnazi. I thought this was very thoughtful and kind of her.

I could go on and on. This place is really beautiful, has incredible staff and is very well taken care of.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Dear Caroline,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and it is our great pleasure to have made it happen. The staff also enjoyed hosting you and your family very much, thank you for your kindness. It is always our goal to make Upani your home away from home and indeed our delight that you had a superb time with your family. As we can also relate with having vacations that are more tiring than restful, we were really happy to be able to make your vacation as restful and stress free as possible.

We look forward to having you back again and wish you all the best!

Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N
1 review
“Just great!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We really enjoyed our vacation. The place is clean, the home cosy, staff friendly and the chef is on point. I loved that it has a pool. Some people literally spent the whole vacation in the pool. For groups looking for a holiday home, this is very ideal. I Look forward to coming again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Susan,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation as much as the staff enjoyed hosting you! The pool has indeed been a great highlight for all our guests. Indeed we welcome groups and are glad we have been able to offer stays tailored to each groups' specific needs. We look forward to having you back again soon!
warm regards,
Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceKish
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The staff is friendly en helpful. The ambience is beautiful. It is my beautiful home away from home. Had so much fun

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Dear Grace,
Thank you so much for coming and we glad we could provide a home away from home for you! We love it when our guests enjoy their stay as you did, it is the reason we do what we do. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, garden, privacy, friendly staff
Liked least: the cats that came from next door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thank you Ian, it was a pleasure to have you indeed! We look forward to having you back soon. It's our joy to hear that you had a great stay, and we look forward to many more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing