We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Villa in Diani Beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hans B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa in Diani Beach”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were a family with 6 persons staying for almost 2 weeks in Upon Villa. We had a great vacation there. The staff, including a cook which we booked separately, took care of us very well and we felt very much like we were staying at a home rather than at a resort. During most days we chose between hanging out by the pool or going down to Diani Beach. There is a nearby hotel called Bidi Badu which allows non-residents to use their sun beds for free. A very casual and nice place to relax. We also went to other places along the beach but there we had to pay for sun beds. If you are a kite surfer, this is the beach to do it on. We did a 2 day safari through Roberts Safari, which was great albeit the drive was quite long from Diani Beach to the game sanctuary. There are many monkeys here, so be careful in the villa not leave fruit lying around. The monkeys are quite cheeky. Overall, we would highly recommend Upani Villa if you want to stay in a villa rather than a resort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypsoro
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family get away for long weekend ”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful property, but poorly maintained or rather bare minimum maintenance is being done . Broken beds which apparently had been reported before but never repaired and owner acted surprised that staff did not show us one of the rooms in the back of main house,thus wanted to charge extra for staff giving us access to lodging in the cottage. The ensuite bedroom has an a/c which never worked- in fact, did not even come on. In the cottage, the ac in one of rooms does not work, And this is despite the ac technician coming out both saturday and Sunday evenings(but never brought freon/gas). Water never got hot in any of the bathrooms . The wifi only worked Friday night out of the 3 nights. Was told 'wifi' only for checking email and what's app, therefore, data package depleted first night 'due to someone watching movie'.
The staff is very helpful and did all they could within their means to make the stay pleasant.
Great potential, needs attention to details in order to maximize income and should not be the other way around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Interesting that despite your comment to me on arrival that the place was nice and clean, I quote your exact words here... "Home is nice and very clean" ( proof of which is available in my text messages feed) you have left such a review. It can only lead me to conclude that you are leaving this review because you do not want to pay the extra fees of $120 that were due because you occupied the extra cottage. So when you say "no problem paying" I beg to differ. It's consistent with your attitude the entire stay of not being willing to pay your dues, to the extent that you had refused to pay the dues for the chef on your first day, again previously agreed upon and only $10. This was AFTER you kept him there waiting for you for the whole day, saying you would come with the groceries yourself, AND arriving at 9pm to say you don't need him anymore. You can argue with me about what you agreed on to pay for your stay, but when you start to interfere with the livelihood of a chef, who does NOT have the means that the rest of us have, it's very telling about the kind of person that you are. Moving forward this means unfortunately that we won't provide a chef unless people make advance payment for groceries and the chef's first day dues. Important to clarify, when you say beds are broken, you mean the ONE bed that had a broken under-beam, it is now repaired as of this morning and in perfect working condition, our most immediate previous clients damaged it without our knowledge. To say "mosquito nets are torn" without qualifying that it was ONE mosquito net is very misleading. I also heard nothing about no hot water from you, our apologies for that , it means you never brought it to our attention, which is a shame as we would have let you know to run the water for about 2 minutes till the hot water comes through, or alerted Winnie to turn on the heater. While each persons experience is subjective, and therefore completely right to the person experiencing it, your's is the only negative review on this page, which I'd caution other potential guest to note, that it's the exception and not the norm. One thing you can never fault us on, when any of our guests have any issues, we normally request that you inform the staff, who respond promptly. As with most houses, any damages or issues if not reported by a client are difficult to be aware of. We also offer Wifi as a courtesy, not many vacation rentals do, due to the coast infrastructure, we provide 10GB of mobile wifi for your stay, and provide 2TB of blockbuster movies on an external disk for entertainment to avoid the need for movie streaming, we are also turning WIFI off from this point forward as it seems this courtesy is not well appreciated. You are welcome to buy more wifi anytime at an extra $10, which most people are happy to do, it amazes me that for that extra $10 you made such a fuss, but again it's consistent with your attitude the entire stay of not being willing to pay your dues even after they were agreed to by you. With regards to the AC, we are clear that it is not available in all the rooms. It is in one of the rooms in the main house, and 2 of the rooms in the cottage. And very rightly, you saw that this was a technical issue beyond our control despite our best efforts to fix it. I have now turned off WIFI on our listing, it is no longer available on the property as inclusive. As said previously, we are very clear that for groups upto 12, you only occupy the main villa. Our listing clearly spells this out, even outlining the exact sleeping arrangements. In text messages with you I explained the SAME thing and you understood it. You had agreed that your party would share rooms, and I clearly outlined the sleeping arrangements to you on text message. On arrival however, the group that were to share suddenly all occupied single rooms each. I also clearly explained that on your arrival, saying if you needed more space we make allowance for you to occupy the cottage for an extra fee as that means it cannot be rented out, which you agreed to, but did not honor. We are only able to offer such reasonable prices of approximately $29.5 a person a night in your case, by putting these restrictions in place. We have been known to upgrade clients if the other house on the property is not occupied, however, your argumentative nature simply did not allow us to discuss to a mutually beneficial conclusion. We have hosted many guests over the past years and your group was without doubt the most high maintenance and poorly planned one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makoto L
1 review
“I really felt like on holiday!”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Absolutely loved the verandah longe, could lounge there the whole day - we actually spent all of our time there, except when we went to the beach, which was 5 minutes walk away! In the high temperatures of Diani (+30 deg Celcius) occasionally dipping yourself in the cristal clear salt water pool was an absolute delight! It absolutely felt like holiday with your private lounge, private pool, private chef,... 'Upani in DIani' is an absolute must!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Dear Lloyd,
We were very pleased to have you at Upani and so glad that you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you to stay again in the near future,
warm regards from us at Upani,
Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom519
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach retreat for big groups”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Really enjoyed our stay on Diani beach. We were a group of 20 so this house is great if you're looking for somewhere for a big group without feeling crowded.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Dear Tom, so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, the staff also enjoyed hosting you. We'd be happy to welcome you back again,
warm greetings from us ,
Jacqueline,
Upani Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely coastal destination with beautiful grounds with proximity to the amazing Diani beach”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in December 2015

This was an epic holiday destination! The sky blue pool set amid beautiful leafy greenery, surrounding a well built and stylishly furnished coastal villa. The open plan living room area and balconies provided just the right space to catch the cool evening breeze. The daily visits to the beach kept the children well occupied and when they were not at the beach they were in the pool. Diani shopping centre was nearby to provide any needed grocery as we took the self catering option and when the parents needed a night out there were nice restaurants in the surrounding areas. The food was tastefully prepared to suit our needs as we were a large family group.We even saw the resident tortoise! All in all a well spent vacation and we would go back again and soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNN2014
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best-Value-For-Money Family Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Diani is a prime tourist destination therefore coming by an affordable, exclusive holiday on an uncrowded beach can be abit of a rarity. Upani offered us the privacy and pleasure of enjoying diani/Galu beach without all the fuss that accompanies touristy haunts.

Upani is very well located; Close enough to the beach, yet far enough to be away from the crowds and traffic and therefore offers a sense of privacy and exclusivity.
The fact that meals are prepared fresh for every meal by an expert chef is another huge plus for Upani.Hotel buffets can get rather tedious so i enjoyed that the chef made fresh meals and exactly what we requested.
The staff are attentive to your every need and friendly enough without being intrusive and overly familiar with guests.
I loved that for the price, the bed and bath linen was scrumptiously cottony....Most properties will scrounge on little comforts and make you feel like you are paying nickels and dimes and therefore getting what you exactly pay for. Not so for Upani.... Housekeeping services were also great.
The rooms are kept clean and laundry done so the kids always had fresh clothes to wear....
The best personal touch though was Winnie making a beach-ball for the kids out of plastic bags and cardboard..."mpira wa tufe" it was an insight into swahili children's lifestyle and a thoughtful thing to do for the kids :-)))

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel K
Arcadia, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Upani is a real gem!”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at Upani as a large group of 4 families in Nov - Dec 2016 and we had an awesome time. The welcome ceremony by the staff set a very good first impression and the rest of our stay lived up to this! The facility is well-kept and clean. The staff were friendly and courteous. The chef (Jonathan) was simply excellent! Every meal was a 5-star and despite our large number (24 mouths!), he managed to over-feed us and with excellent food. The walks to the beach were literary a few minutes and in a safe secluded area. The beach is superb - clean and without crowds.
The swinging day-bed was such a hit!
Only shortcoming is the number of bathrooms which were stretched by our large number - but the owner has assured us that there is a plan to add some.
We will definitely be going back to Upani.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food, the bedding, the proximity to a clean beach
Liked least: The number of bathrooms were insufficient for our large group
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing