We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunningly beautiful villa in an ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
damamaji
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A stunningly beautiful villa in an ideal location”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The villa was absolutely perfect, I can't fault any aspect of it at all. It was really clean, spacious, very comfortable and we felt at home straight away with everything we could possibly need at our disposal such as cooker, washing machine, kettle, iron, microwave, a proper bath, towels etc. The customer service from John and his team has been second to none.....to be honest I was e-mailing constantly with questions and John replied really quickly and was really helpful and not at all frustrated with me for bothering him constantly. It was very quiet at the villa, only the sound of goats in the distance and crickets chirping away, it was absolutely perfect.
At first we didn't hire a car as we like walking and thought that it would be a fairly easy walk to Almyrida and Gavalochori but the hills are a killer (especially in the heat) so we did eventually hire a car, and we are so glad we did as we were then able to explore quite a lot of Crete which is a stunning island. We stayed for 2 weeks but wish we had stayed longer...I could honestly live there, I especially liked Gavalochori which is very quiet and traditional and the food there was really really nice and the locals are very friendly too...especially the family who own the supermarket there. I would like to thank John and his team for such a perfect dream holiday, definitely worth every penny and we will be definitely booking again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your 5 star review. Taking on board your comment about how you could live there, you might like to see what Crete is like in the winter months when the tourists have gone home, yet there are plenty of tavernas still open, the sun still shines and the sea is still warm enough to swim in right up until Christmas! Every November we offer out-of-season olive picking holidays and this year we have 21 people coming over to help us gather in the harvest from our 200 trees, and visit the local olive press to see the olives they have picked being turned into extra-virgin olive oil..There is hillwalking with a local guide, visits to Chania, and even local cookery courses to try. You can see more on our Facebook page - search for 'Saint Basil Olive Grove: Villa Holidays in Crete' and give is a wave and a like!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my family stayed with another family in July and had a great week. The Villa was clean and tidy. Nothing fancy but had everything we needed. It is in a lovely rural location with just a few other villas nearby but really spaced out. Wonderful views across the mountains. The village of Gavalohori is walking distance and is a lovely place, lots of old buildings and windy streets and a few picturesque tavernas and a bakery. A few mins drive to Almyrida which has a good beach and more tavernas etc. The owners and local managers were great, really good directions and local guide giving advice on where to visit which we took and had some great food. We had a really chilled out week but visited Chania one day which is a beautiful town with a really lovely venetian harbour - worth a visit and a drink on the harbourside. Definitely need car hire. We tried both the Cretan wine and the snails and both got the seal of approval.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: If it was a shorter walk to the beach it would be even better!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
The villas are in a beautiful area and it is very relaxing to spend time chilling out by the pool. However we do recommend that guests explore the area especially Chania which has a fantastic Venetian harbour. Our local manager, Mark, can provide a lot of information about where to visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C1016KCmi...
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent property in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Well maintained property with all the necessities for a relaxing holiday. I particularly love the location with the wonderful view of the White Mountains and glimpses of the sea. It is a short walk to the traditional tavernas in Gavalochori , and, in our case a short drive to the beachside tavernas in Almyrida.
I also love the fact that it is a "real" area with traditional Cretan food and customs. The villa is well placed so you don't feel the need to go out other than to eat the wonderful local produce.
The local maintenance staff are excellent and the villa and the pool were well looked after during our stay, with prompt attention to any faults.I have already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOcatiom
Liked least: The 2 days of bad weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
One of the reasons we love this area is that it does give our guests a real feel of Cretan culture and food both of which are fantastic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turners Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and pool
Liked least: Wifi access costs.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
The walk to the beach is about 25-30 minutes. It is a nice walk mostly downhill with great mountain views. I also enjoy walking up from the beach especially after a nice meal at one the many beach side restaurants but if needed there is a very good local taxi service to get you home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CLandP
Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very peaceful stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Villa Helios in Crete. Booking the villa was easy and the owners gave us detailed instructions on how to locate Villa Helios. Villa Helios is located between Almyrida and Gavalohori, and we walked to both villages on numerous occasions throughout our stay, Almyrida takes approximately 30 mins to walk and Gavalohori is approximately a 15 mins walk, the walk to Almyrida is very steep and if you struggle walking you would find this difficult. The walk to Gavalohori is much easier on the old pins!, both villages are lovely we would recommend for lunches in Almyrida a place called Annas café which is great for breakfast and lunch, for an evening meal we would recommend Makis. In Gavalohori there is a spectacular restaurant called Gavalianos which is a must if you are staying at this villa.

The Villa has beautiful surroundings and is very quiet and private, having a private swimming pool was great and the water was always warm, we enjoyed a number of bbq's as there is a large bbq with a large patio area and outside table and chairs. The villa is very spacious and all rooms have their own balcony, we did find the mattress was a little too hard for our liking. The living room area, has two comfy sofas, and a dining table, the kitchen is well equip which was great as we like to cook our own meals on occasion when on holiday. We did however find that the living room area was quite small in comparison to the rest of the villa, and was disappointed with the size of the tv and lack of English channels, it was also very small and you could not see it properly from the sofa, when we first arrived at the villa we had no satellite box, and had to wait 5 days for it to be fixed by the local engineer. The villa is clean and tidy and the cleaner visited the villa 3 times during our stay to change the bedding and towels, however, in places a lick of paint wouldn't go a miss.

The air-conditioning was good, you can select the aircon for each room for 2 hours at a time, which we found adequate, however the unit for the living room area was located outside near the patio and was quite noisy, which meant you would need to turn it off if you were eating/sitting outside.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this as a holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private pool
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
We are glad to see that the guest liked the lovely taverna in Gavalohori (Gavalianos) which we really enjoy. It is great for a late afternoon snifter or a lovely dinner on the terrace in the evening. The comment about the TV is well taken and we will certainly consider a new one for next season. The villa is also scheduled for some repainting at the end of this season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Helios. A great position and very quiet. We had a car which made getting around very easy. We cooked for ourselves in the well equipped kitchen as well as enjoying nearby restaurants recomended by the owners.

We had great week on the island of Crete and when returning we would consider staying at Villa Helios or another villa within the same property.

Thank you to everyone who helped organise our trip. The service we received was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
The other properties that are referred to are the 3 similar villas we have on our olive grove. We have 4 villas on our 4 1/2 acre olive grove 60-80m apart for privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Only having booked for one week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
We have just 5 villas on our 4 1/2 acre olive grove of which 4 are rented as holiday homes. They all have private pools, are spaced 60-80m apart and surrounded by olive trees so as the guest says they are private and peaceful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing