We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Helia

Villa and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves Rear of  Villa and Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Villa and pool
View from patio area out to sea over olive groves
Rear of  Villa and Pool
Relaxing by the  large  pool
Front of villa
View across pool out to sea
View to Almyryda
View to White Mountains from front balcony
Part of Lounge and outdoor dining
Kitchen
One of 2 double bedrooms
Rear balcony
View of the White Mountains
View from the patio area
Walk through the lower garden area
Lower garden area
Lower garden area
Almyrida beach
Almyrida beach
Chania harbour
View of Souda Bay from Aptera Fort
Almyrida Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Klindsjo1
Strommen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday house”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are more than satiesfied with our stay at Villia Helia. Perfect location - quiet, view and only 25 min walk to the beach of Almyrida. Great pool which is a lot bigger than usual. The house was cery clean and welcoming. The owner is very easy to communicate with. We would love to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, house and pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizjr2016
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peace perfect peace!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The length of time it has taken to review this villa is not a reflection of our opinion! The villa owner is extremely helpful, & went out of his way to help us from the very 1st enquiry. The villa is situated down a long track which twists & turns, but the destination is worth it. The villa is modern, attractive and efficient, but it is its setting that really makes it. Only a few minutes from Almyrida but here you really feel part of a little corner of real Crete. This is perfect peace with wonderful views and a huge, easily entered, blissful pool.
If you are looking for modern facilities but in a traditional spot then put Villa Helia on your visit list! On the doorstep of lovely Almyrida and its facilities but with a tranquillity to rest the most frazzled of souls!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, views and pool.
Liked least: Outside shower was not working during our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielOrt...
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa with a spectacular view and amazing pool”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve recently spent eight wonderful days at Villa Helia. The house is nice, clean and modern, but the real treat for us was the tranquil and peaceful location, the padio with the pool and the wonderful view from the two balconies. The pool is amazing with crystal clear water and the view is spectacular from the balconies, one facing the sea and the other a valley.

Graham is very accommodating and helped us with all our questions and requests. The house is well equipped and has the most stable wifi we have experienced in Crete. The only thing we missed was a microwave (which is useful when traveling with toddlers, with constant heating and reheating).

We have already recommended the house to our friends and family and would love to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corriman
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything as described”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just back from an 11 night stay at this amazing villa.On arrival the place
was beautifully clean, .the villa more than lived up to it's description and we
all had a wonderfully peaceful time. The pool was fantastic and exceptionally large with plenty of room on the patio for everyone. My 2 younger ones spent many a long day splashing around in the pool and I am sure they were developing webbed feet by the end of our stay!
The villages surrounding the villa ,Gavalahori,Vamos,and Plaka had a real authentic feel to them and were all in easy reach.
Almyrida is a wonderful traditional seaside resort and is all the more charming because of the lack of mass tourism,go soon and catch it, and the surrounding area at it's best.
Thank you Graham for a truly memorable stay.
Ian Kennedy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidsB69...
Stevenage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Villa peaceful, tranquil and well equiped”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from our family holiday. The Villa is fantastict and as described, we share the excellent views expressed by other holiday makers. The villa was ideally located if you like excellent views, peace and quiet but also like to be close to al the main attractions. Our two children came with us (21 and 19 together with a boyfriend also 21) who also had a fantastic time. The Villa is well equipped, very clean and the cleaner who came in at the end of the first week did a fantastic job. We experienced problems with our flight (obviously not the fault of the Villa owners), however the Villa owners were very understanding and extremely accommodating. We would have no hesitation recommending this Villa to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whole pacage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julesno01
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After much searching we found Villa Helia and what a fabulous find. We reiterate everything the other guests have said. The views were breathtaking, the pool and house were very well kept, with a welcome full house clean halfway through, the pool more regularly and Graham's correspondence and information were priceless! The pool and outside space were definitely the highlight for us, our girls lived in it . At 9 and 12 they loved every minute of it and told us ' it's the best holiday we've ever had'! We got everything we would have wished for in a holiday and more. Lazy days by the pool ( lots of books and board games in the house), early morning swims as the sun rose, early evening swims watching the sunset, some lovely trips out sightseeing plus the local beaches and restaurants were gorgeous. The Cretans are also very lovely, helpful and welcoming. The villa is situated up a dirt road so whilst our hire car sufficed we have said when we go again we will hire a 4x4! On that note we can't wait for our next stay it was certainly the best family holiday we've ever had and we're all very sad to leave 'our house'! Thank you graham and family for the welcome pack and loan of your wonderful home 'we will be back'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
I am really pleased that you and your family enjoyed our villa and pool so much and endorse the positive comments of others. As has been said the access from the road is fine for a hire car. For the benefit of others it is worth clarifying that the access is part ashphalt and part loose surface and that in Crete this is perfectly normal , particularly for newer properties.
As you have said the views from the villa are stunning and as noted by others in a very peaceful location.Thank you again for your booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korpakos1
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We returned for another year to this excellent villa and once again was well worth it.Great facilities even more now that wifi has been added.As other said in reviews location and views are outstanding;living quarters match the above and are a reflection of how well maintained the property is by owner.
We would no doubt been returning next year and would highly recommend this villa to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, tranquil location
Liked least: Not available
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing