We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit”
Review of Almyrida Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almyrida Residence
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Almyrida Residence has every thing needed for a great holiday. Friendly staff, excellent cleaning service with every attention to detail. On arrival I mentioned my food intolerances and for whole two weeks a member of the restaurant staff was waiting to help with choices and to cook my meals separately if necessary. This was our first visit and we were so impressed that we will definitely be returning soon. Many thanks to the ALL staff for our stay. We look forward to meeting with all the friends we met who all were of the same mind as us and will be returning also.

Room Tip: ALL rooms are of good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPANNER022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    42
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
102
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just returned from our holiday and already looking forward to returning to the Almyrida Residence, same time next year. We have travelled to many countries, but this was our first visit to Crete and the Residence ticked all our boxes for a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable Greek holiday.
The hotel is an attractive low rise contemporary building just a 2 minute stroll to the lovely beach and tavernas. There is a rooftop infinity pool and cafe/bar, which is a perfect spot to eat/drink or just relax in and has great views of the resort.
Our room was nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and although it overlooked the small parking area - this was not a problem at all, as it faced the attractive Almryida Beach hotel and also had good sea and mountain views.
It was still warm enough to eat breakfast & dinner in the pleasant outside terrace and all areas of the restaurant were exceptionally clean, service was efficient and friendly. There was a wide choice of hot and cold food - including some delicious traditional Cretan dishes. I especially enjoyed the cheese pie, locally made greek yoghurt and pastries. All the food was of a high quality and the fruit and vegetables tasted amazing.
The weather was ideal for walking and a 25 minute gentle uphill stroll takes you to the nearby village of Plaka and we enjoyed a delicious leisurely lunch at one of the tavernas. We also caught the local bus to Chania (takes approx 40 minutes and about 6 euros return) and spent a few hours exploring the town and picturesque venetian harbour - definately worth a visit - I guess gets very crowded in high season, but it was pleasant in October.
As we were arriving at the end of the holiday season, I was a little concerned that perhaps the staff at the hotel would be feeling jaded and service wouldn't be so good. I was wrong - as all the hotel staff were extremely welcoming and were always very helpful, we cannot fault them, they were fantastic - a real credit to the Residence.
We had a perfect holiday and have already recommended this hotel and resort to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We returned to the Residence early October, for the second time this year, again for 2 weeks. We received a huge welcome from everyone, & although the weather in the first week was disappointing, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.
We emailed before we arrived to ask for a kettle in the room, & it was there waiting for us together with cups, spoons, wine, fruit - a lovely touch thank you. Rooftop pool & views are still a dream, no trouble finding very comfortable sunbeds.
The evening buffet meals were lovely, loads of choice each evening, hot food was hot, & although we enjoyed the meals in May, we felt they we even better this time so thank you to all the chefs! Choice of meat dishes each night, always some lovely fish, & lots of different vegetarian food too. Puddings were too delicious & difficult to resist!
All of the staff - reception, cleaning, restaurant, kitchen, bar - all of them - at the Residence are so helpful, always smiling, nothing is too much trouble. They work really hard & are very professional.
Room & bathroom plus all of the hotel - everywhere is so clean. Lovely powerful shower. Luxury toiletries in bathroom, with clean towels daily. Super pool towels provided too. Huge very comfy bed with excellent pillows.
We booked through Thomsons both times & they advertise satellite TV in the hotel but there really are only 2 strange English Speaking channels, no real English Channels.
Sister hotel - The Beach - just across the road has a huge library - all in alpha order. €1 to take a book, honesty pot - for a local charity, saves weight in suitcase - something for everyone.
Almyrida itself is a small unspoilt village, with a lovely beach - sandy at each end but a small part is pebbles. Lots of sunbeds - small charge. Water sports available. Friendly Tavernas all along the beach with views out onto the sea.
Very very sad to leave. Thank you to Fofi & everyone at the Residence. See you all next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were kept waiting over 20 minutes in reception as the manager was "too busy" to decide if there was a room available for us. We were asked at least 6 times if we would prefer the rather downmarket sister hotel across the road. We were eventually granted a room with a mountain view... It actually was overlooking an ugly concrete underpass. The room seemed ok apart from the view but the soundproofing was truly appalling. It felt as though the occupants next door were actually in our bathroom rather than their own. We were above the restaurant so the noise from breakfast service wakened us around 06:45. The wifi was also poor with a different login/password required for each device. We were also constantly interrupted following our arrival, firstly by a maintenance guy who spent some time in the bathroom but didn't repair either the toilet roll holder or the shower rail which were hanging off the wall. The we received a call saying that the previous residents would need access as they had left their passports in the room safe- they never arrived which was strange but stopped us from relaxing.

Room Tip: Don't accept a mountain view room, it's a car park & underpass view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent a week in September at this lovely hotel and were sad to leave.

The entire staff was amazing!
Very friendly and helpful service, attentive and professional, with a relaxed feeling. My elderly in-law-parents stayed with us, and the whole staff did everything to make our stay a memorable one.

My husband said that at some level of the organization, there must be a real “leadership guru”, as the staff was really doing its best at all times, and genuinely seemed to enjoy doing that.

Rooms were nice and comfy and spotlessly clean. We had a bathtub, but there are also some rooms with walk-in-shower. There was a small fridge in the room, which was a big bonus.

Breakfast was always one of the highlights of our day. We enjoyed having our delicious breakfast at the roof top terrace watching the lovely scenery. A great way to start one´s day!

There are two swimming pools at the hotel, one at the roof-top terrace and one at the ground floor, never a problem of finding a free sunbed.

In the evenings, the Roof Garden restaurant “Thea” serves a la carte dinner, we ate there in three evenings during our stay. The food was delicious every time, international cuisine with a Cretan touch.
If you want to taste food cooked the way “Cretan mama” would do, go to restaurant Alisahni at the beach street. Alisahni is a family restaurant with very tasty Cretan food with a friendly service.

Overall, I can only praise Almyridas Residence. We want to thank the whole staff for giving us a wonderful holiday experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pirjo_Jari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a very small resort with not much to do so ideal if you want peace and quiet. The Residence is very modern but the sister hotel next door The Beach has a lot more homely feel to it which we preferred. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The swimming pools are all very nice our favourite being at the Beach plus we never had a problem getting a sunbed. As there was only entertainment on three nights of our holiday we were at a loss as what to do at night after dinner so went to Captain Jacks just round the corner to have a drink. Prices were reasonable but not many people about. After reading several reviews about how fantastic the food was We were somewhat disappointed and it was only Luke warm most of the time. Taking water to the swimming pool area or to dinner was not allowed and you have to buy it at the hotel and pay their prices. We thought this was unfair and water should be provided at dinner. Several guests were told to stop drinking their own water and we watched amused as guests hid it under their tables. If you want a meal that is hot go to the Roof Garden and pay. The balcony does not give you any privacy as the sides are glass.The housekeepers are fantastic and do a great job in your room with fresh towels and good quality bed linen. The comfort of the bed was the best I have had, even better than my own!. If you want a lively holiday this won't be the place for you.

Room Tip: Book a room with a walk in shower as standard rooms only have a shower over the bath with a horrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

When we arrived at the Residence we discovered they had somehow overbooked and we were asked to stay the first 4 nights in one of their other hotels (Almyrida Studios which are apartments at the other end of the bay). It was a bit disappointing that we only had the last 3 nights of our holiday in the Residence. However, the staff looked after us very well and gave us probably the best room in the hotel with a sea view and two balconies. Throughout our stay we had breakfast at the rooftop restaurant with stunning views and a fabulous infinity pool (adults only). Just a few yards away is the beach and the sister hotel, Almyrida Beach with its own Windmill pool and bar which we also visited. We also sampled the buffet meals which were very good. The town of Almyrida itself is only small and quiet but plenty of tavernas and bars. Everyone we met was very friendly and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almyrida
0.0 mi away
Almyrida Beach Hotel
Almyrida Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Almyrida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isadora Apartments
Isadora Apartments
#5 of 7 in Almyrida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyrida Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyrida Residence

Property: Almyrida Residence
Address: Epar. Od. Kalivon-Kefalas, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyrida Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Almyrida Residence Hotel, we pride ourselves in being able to cater to your every need. As our guest, you will have access to an array of facilities that will complement your visit. Starting your day with a rich breakfast, your next decision is to choose one of the activities the area has to offer. Sunbathing, reading a book, hiking and cooking are just a small idea of what we can offer. A Professional 4 lane bowling alley is waiting for you in the Almyrida Residence, to add an extra touch of competition and fun. The guests of the Almyrida Residence have access to 4 swimming pools, one of which is located in the roof garden of the hotel, on the 3rd floor, offering amazing views, and great cocktails. On the Roof Garden, you'll also find Thea Restaurant, with panoramic views of Souda Bay and the Lefka Ori (mountain range). Indulge in the joys of Cretan and European gourmet cuisine and accompany your meal with a bottle of wine from our excellent wine list. The Roof Garden pool bar serves exotic cocktails made to order by our friendly and accommodating staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Booking.com so you can book your Almyrida Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyrida Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing