We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Almyrida Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Almyrida Residence
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent a week at the Almyrida Residence and can't praise it enough. The hotel is very modern, spotlessly clean, and staff throughout the hotel are always polite, friendly and very very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them and they work very hard to keep the guests happy. We went half board as we weren't sure if there would be anywhere to eat, but there were plenty of Tavernas along the beach and prices seemed very reasonable, but the food at the hotel restaurant was excellent with Greek dishes every evening. The beach was beautiful and there are several 'supermarkets' which are very reasonably priced. There is also a bakery which you have to visit. All of this is within a few minutes walk from the hotel. You should also pay 'Captain Jacks' bar a visit, very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. It's just next door to the hotel. The resort is very quiet which suited us down to the ground, so if you want livley this is not for you. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I have just stayed for two weeks at the Almyrida Residence. The hotel is very good and the staff are excellent, especially Elena on the front desk. We booked a junior suite for bed and breakfast as we like to eat out at night. The junior suite was fine, with a very comfortable bed and air conditioned. However, the full length frosted glass door for the bathroom was rather unusual. You may not be able to see in the bathroom when the door is closed, but you can certainly see the body outline and as the toilet is in direct line with the door, it was rather dis-concerting at times !!! The breakfasts were buffet style and were only OK. Nothing to write home about. There also needs to be a dedicated laundry bag and price list clearly on show. We asked for a laundry bag and were given two plastic refuse bags and we had no idea how much we were going to be charged. As it happens, the laundry charges were quite reasonable.
The maid service is very good, but took place rather late in the day, sometimes as late as 4pm, which curtailed our afternoon siesta plans at times. If you book a junior suite, you expect your room to be serviced before 4pm.
On the plus side we both loved the roof garden and infinity pool, we spent a lot of time up there during the day. The roof garden restaurant is also excellent, although the menu is rather limited.
The hotel is in a fantastic position, with the beach just over the road.
In summary, this hotel is very good, but if it just makes a number of small improvements it will be fantastic.

Room Tip: Go the extra expense and book a junior suite to give yourselves more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jep1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from another 2 excellent weeks at The Residence. We were there twice last year, both times for 2 weeks, & have absolutely no regrets having gone back again. We received a beautiful welcome by all the staff, everywhere we went in the hotel! They are lovely people, always smiling, & always make us feel so special. If there is something you need, you just have to ask. Nothing is impossible!

Everything at The Residence is just as good as last year, (see previous reviews), & the food is even better. The hot food at breakfast & dinner was always hot, & so many things to choose from. Every day we looked forward to our evening meal, so many amazing delicious tastes, & lovely tender meats. Always a fish dish & always vegetarian options, which were also very tasty.

We ate in The Hotel every day for 14 days, for breakfast & dinner, & didn't have one bad meal, so we do not understand a previous Trip Advisor review where the traveller was unhappy with the food. We are returning in September & once again we have chosen Half Board.

In danger of repeating contents of previous reviews...... But - our room was spacious, nicely decorated, air con works well, very good sized balcony with side sea view, but a very good sea view, & views of the mountains the other way. Huge comfy beds & good pillows, fridge, luxury beach towels waiting for you in your room. Bathroom with fantastic shower, luxury toiletries, towels changed daily.

We had great fun ten pin bowling on ground floor level of hotel - very modern system - with air con in there so no heat issues!

You can use the facilities at Almyrida Beach Hotel across the road, & also Almyrida Studios a few minutes walk away near the beach. Lots of English Books in Library in The Beach Hotel with honesty box for local charity.

Thank you to Fofi & every single one of your staff.

See you all in September. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Crustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Did not know quite what to expect but hotel accommodation, food and staff surpassed all my expectations and then some. No complaints at all. Room was big, beds comfy. Breakfast on the roof terrace was very good with plenty of choice. Would not do if you want English breakfast, chips, and lots of action but if peace and quiet is what you are after this would be a good choice

Room Tip: Rooms with view of white mountains are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Greece, to Crete and to Almyrida. For the first time in this small and quiet village between Chania and Rethymnon.
Arrived at about 22.30 and a bit tired.
At the reception of the hotel we met a really nice girl. Client focused in a pleasant way. Everything went so smooth and effective. Before we left her she said: "As you missed the evening dinner we have made you a cold plate with some Greek specials. They are in the refrigerator"
We went to our room and was almost chocked. Positive chocked.
So big and fine room. Beautiful decorated. Fine furnished. Really fine bath room.
After sleeping very good we run up and came out on the balcony. It was soooo beautiful that we almost cried. Mountain in the north direction with snow at the top. ( On Creete in May!!) In the south direction a fantastic view over the sea. Magnific.
Breakfast was really good. A large buffet.
Very nice, polite and professional staff.
A top roof pool was extra plus.
All staff were very nice, helpful and client focused.
It was very clean everywhere.
We were very satisfied with everything expect two small thing.
1. The music up on the top restaurant/pool area. Same mecanical boring music every day. Play a mix and preferrably greek music instead.
2. The water from the shower was flowing out over the whole bath room floor. "Construction error"?
But except from these two minor negatives we give the hotel 5 stars and we will certainly come back another time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ThoMIca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Having just returned from a 2 week holiday in this lovely resort i have to compliment management and staff on the hospitality, cleanliness ,decor ,food and general wellbeing!!!
We had booked into Beach but upgraded to a sunnier room in Residence. The rooms in Beach had all been refurbished during the winter to an exceptionally high standard. Rooms in Residence are boutique chic,large with lovely sunny balconies.
The pools at both location were lovely although very cold at this time of year. We still had a daily dip tho!
The meals for being buffets were of a very good standard. There was always something that suited all tastes and very plentiful. If you want chips,chips and chips you will be disappointed !
Hot and cold selection at both breakfast and dinner.
The housekeeping staff kept us amused with different towel sculptures everyday. The cleanliness of our rooms and the hotel in general could not be faulted.
Undoubtedly the best feature of this Resort were the staff! All so friendly and nothing too much trouble but a special thanks to Fofi, Ireni and Ireni who made our stay very special.

If you have not booked a holiday yet the area is extremely beautiful /but quite hilly/ the beaches very safe, local tavernas surround the bay and obviously a great hotel. This village will not suit anyone who requires plenty of nightlife with entertainment!

Room Tip: Rooms in Residence have sun afternoon/evenings Rooms in Beach have morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank madpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights a few years ago, and thinking it was quite good value decided to spend a spring week here as I love this area. Booked what was called a 'superior' room and arrived finding it smaller than the previous time, had the tiniest cramped shower room, and couldn't sleep because of the 'karaoke' in Captain Jacks bar which appeared to be attached to us and kept going until 2am. The staff were friendly and we were moved across to a bigger room which had a lovely bathroom (small bath AND shower) which I would advise others to book before going there. Much better and quieter room.
The small balconies , however, are horribly designed ( you can see by the photos) with most having a glass screen to adjacent rooms offering no privacy from neighbours and so we could not actually enjoy sitting out there at all.
The food was basic and not very good quality, the restaurants in Almyrida are nicer. The breakfasts offered a very good selection but not all that nice and it was impossible to get a hot cup of tea. Most buffet breakfasts around the globe have a waiter at least bringing fresh tea or coffee to your table!
The roof top bar is very pretty (the music usually power ballads or strange versions of classic pop) but the pool , like the others in this hotel and the Beach hotel is not heated and absolutely freezing. Only the very brave dared to venture in and they were hardly used even though the weather was very warm in May. I actually love swimming pools on my holiday and it is very important to me, and I was very disappointed that I couldn't swim. You would hope that at the start of the season, and the hotel being nearly full, that at least one heated pool could be offered.
All in all, a lovely quiet beach resort in a lovely mountainous area of Crete but will not be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms with a bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ganeshEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almyrida
0 mi away
Almyrida Beach Hotel
Almyrida Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Almyrida
488 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
566 reviews
9.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
684 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stratos Villas
Stratos Villas
#1 of 1 in Melidoni
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyrida Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyrida Residence

Address: Epar. Od. Kalivon-Kefalas, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Price Range: £59 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyrida Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Almyrida Residence Hotel, we pride ourselves in being able to cater to your every need. As our guest, you will have access to an array of facilities that will complement your visit. Starting your day with a rich breakfast, your next decision is to choose one of the activities the area has to offer. Sunbathing, reading a book, hiking and cooking are just a small idea of what we can offer. A Professional 4 lane bowling alley is waiting for you in the Almyrida Residence, to add an extra touch of competition and fun. The guests of the Almyrida Residence have access to 4 swimming pools, one of which is located in the roof garden of the hotel, on the 3rd floor, offering amazing views, and great cocktails. On the Roof Garden, you'll also find Thea Restaurant, with panoramic views of Souda Bay and the Lefka Ori (mountain range). Indulge in the joys of Cretan and European gourmet cuisine and accompany your meal with a bottle of wine from our excellent wine list. The Roof Garden pool bar serves exotic cocktails made to order by our friendly and accommodating staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Almyrida Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyrida Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing