We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely seafront fish restaurant”
Review of Thalami Taverna

Thalami Taverna
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Almyrida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely seafront fish restaurant”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited on the 2nd night of our holiday, following recommendations. The restaurant was quite busy (we took that to be a good sign), and we were not disappointed. It has a very good location on the beach front, with several different seating areas. Although we were not seated at a beach-side table, we still had good views over the bay. Service was very attentive without being rushed or "starched". There was a good choice of fish and seafood dishes, including daily specials, as well as a range of the standard meat dishes. In comparison to other restaurants, it might be thought a little expensive, but it's worth it. Swordfish, sea beam and prawns (usually called shrimps in Crete) were all excellent. The cheapest bottle of Cretan wine (not the carafe of house wine) was good value at €10 and there was even attention to detail in the ice bucket and apron for the bottle. Finger wipes were also thoughtfully provided.

The complimentary dessert was a pleasant surprise, as we had only experienced watermelon at other restaurants (this was a small portion of a tiramisu type of cake, just the right size and very light).

We would have gone back later in the week, if there hadn't been so many others to try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LP118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    56
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic Taverna”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was one of our favourites and every meal we had was delicious. It says its a fish taverna and certainly we had bream, swordfish and prawns, all excellent. But also had lamb chops and a beef dish, also lovely. The waiters are friendly and it is set right next to the sea, definitely worth a visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thalami, Almyrida”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Oasis of quiet, calm and fish. Gentle, welcoming with lovely food and charming people. You can almost dip your hand in the Aegean as you eat its eponymous octopus. Best raki in the village, v fine Greek coffee and excellent food. An essential tranquility in a lovely bustling holiday village. I returned often for morning coffee, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Four friends, 2 weeks in Crete and we are so thankful that we chose Thalami on the 2nd day there. The location is lovely, with the sound of the waves and a breeze through the restaurant.

We avoid restaurants with photos of the food and menus in 6 lanugauges. Thalami has a very good selection across the board, so everyone will find something delicious. We tried various restaurants in the area but ended up going back to Thalami again and again. It was always busy at lunch or dinner time, but the service was always efficient and friendly. The 2nd time we went the waiter remembered what we'd ordered. We had many of their dishes, the 4 of us all tried something different and shared, and we could not fault a single dish. The taramasalata is the real thing, home-made, not pink muck. The fish dishes were delicious, and one member of the party said the sardines were the best he'd ever had, anywhere. The sea bream, bass, cuttle fish, squid, prawns were all done to perfection. The salads, meat dishes, starters - all excellent and simple Greek cooking which is the best! The wine selection is very good and the prices extremely reasonable.
Once you're seated, they bring bread, olive paste and garlic butter for you to nibble on whilst studying the menu. After your meal either free fruit (cherries, watermelon) or dessert and a little carafe of raki.
For the reviewers here who expect their meals in 5 minutes, here's a thought: you're on holiday, in Greece where the favourite saying is "Siga Siga". That's why one goes to Greece, the sun, the relaxed atmosphere, the beach (and maybe the museums etc.). If we expect rushing waiters and frantic, fast meals, maybe it's best to stay home.
We will be back in the area later this year and will definitely make a habit of Thalami again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FernwehZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaarina
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish, waves and beach.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely setting on the beach. Great evening venue when the tide is high, waves break onto the front of the restaurant with lovely fresh air on a warm summer evening.

More of a fishy restaurant so prices can be a little higher as they generally are with fish. But there is also a wide selection of other non-fish items so something absolutely for everyone.

Great fish food, service is good, fair prices.

Local food a little bit higher priced than some nearby but by no means gastro expensive.

In 2013 we paid €42 for mixed seafood for two, one Greek salad to share and a carafe of house wine. On another night we had mussels. sea bream another litre carafe of house for €21

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulakaKaarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thalami Taverna also viewed

Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
 
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
 
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Thalami Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing