We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, the best food, subtle ambiance and lovely people - the best in the area for us!”
Review of Alkyone Restaurant - CLOSED

Alkyone Restaurant
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Alkyone stands for trendy, unique style that characterize the bright area, wooden tables and bar, a luxurious comfort. Whether you choose the inner space or book tables outside, overlooking the sea, our kitchen is sure to delight you!Winter - summer in a great place with pool Alkyone available for events up to 200 people.For parents with children will find a playground where they can play.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, the best food, subtle ambiance and lovely people - the best in the area for us!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Booked this restaurant based on the setting overlooking the sea and instinct and very glad we did, it is stunning. (other restaurants were busier and had more review on trip advisor but we relied on instinct here). Extensive menu, excellent food - the lamb baked in paper (with red wine and potatoes was exceptional) All dishes exceptional and friendly service from Ellana and Costas (thanks guys). The chef Maria works really hard to serve delicious fresh food which is much appreciated. They serve you lovely fresh bread with a dips complimentary on arrival, Maria even made us taramasalata especially as we had not been able to find it on any menu anywhere. We tried all the starters over a few visits, they were all delicious, the Greek salad was so fresh, the cheese dishes amazing, Hulumi cheese in balsamic reduction grilled- yummy - spring rolls with 2 dips excellent, full menu of fish, meat and veggie options.

We always booked a waterfront table for our family, it is a special place with a special view. Best time to get there is around 7.45pm (in July) to take advantage of the sunset over the bay).

Don't miss this lovely family owned restaurant - it is a real find and a treat!

If your looking for a romantic venue a candle lit table for 2 by the edge of the water is perfect!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JanineDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a Taverna with only a few tables by the sea, lovely position and an inside restaurant opposite. The lady owner was very friendly but our food was very disappointing. We had a pork fillet and a chicken dish, both with sauces which smothered the meat which didn't look very nice. The pork was quite tough and the chicken nearly cold. Added to this the wine was undrinkable! We had house wine at every other taverna we visited and it was fine but here it was served chilled (red wine) and tasted old and musty. A shame because it is in a good position but we didn't return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After spending an afternoon at the lovely beach in Almyrida, we picked out Alkyone from a string of very nice looking restaurants. The restaurant was nicely styled, the staff friendly and efficient and the views were fantastic. The food was good and the price quite reasonable. We will probably return before our holiday is over.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JGMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best dining experience in Almyrida”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went to Almyrida in September 2013 and noticed that Alcyone looked different to all the other restaurants ( in a good way ) and had a different menu. We ate there four maybe five times and could not fault the service or quality of the food served. The staff were friendly and attentive !!.
Whilst we were there on the Saturday night the restaurant had a Greek party night with a group and singer? What a night - we left at midnight (ish ) it ended at three am !! And was packed with very friendly locals who were part of the evening and became involved with the entertainment.
Not to be missed if there is a Greek night when you are there !!?
We are committed this year but have already booked to go back to Almyrida in 2015!!!.
Alcyone is definitely on the radar !!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in Almyrida”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stopped here once during our week stay.
I had steak for 10euros and the wife had shrimp same price.
Really excellent value for money.
Was very quiet, as winter is approaching.
Wine was local and tasty, can't ask for more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taggart1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alkyone Restaurant also viewed

Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
 
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
 
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing