We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent villa in idyllic setting”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C1016KCmi...
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent villa in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Excellent, comfortable villa with wonderful views. Ideal for beach, countryside, or just sitting on the pool steps reading and listening to the birds. Comfortable, well equipped villa with an excellent pool and lovely planting all round. Local staff are also excellent. Tavernas in Almyrida and Gavalochori are really good. What more could you want?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thanks for the review, We pride ourselves on our great local staff who make every effort to keep the villas to a very high standard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saber85
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exactly as Promised”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Excellent villa with all possible requirements taken into consideration even down to a potty for our grandson. Spotlessly clean and would recommend to anyone. Nearest village is a good 20 minute walk especially on the return trip however worth it as the restaurants are all good, Monica's is especially worth a visit. Almyrida is a pleasant 30 minute walk down to the beach etc. but a car is needed for the return journey.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks for the review. Yes we do try to think of everything. When we visit during the summer - and also at the start of each season - also make a point of sharpening all the kitchen knives in each of the villas. Little things add up to a lot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeTrot...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantastic holiday at Villa Angelos.”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Following our superb holiday to Villa Angelos at roughly the same time of year 12 months ago i am very pleased to report that once again my wife and i were not disappointed ,if anything the Villa had slightly improved with the interior having a new flat screen TV and refrigerator,the external dining/sitting and pool areas all as good as they were last year.The surrounding beach and inland towns and villages just as charming and friendly as we found them last year.The scenery still captivated us both particularly in the rugged mountain areas,each time you turn a corner the views are magnificent and occasionally quite scary.The food and drink in Almyrida/ Gavalachori and Plaka was fantastic with exceptional hospItality particularly Takis taverna in Plaka who we found to be very generous with there house wine.The one thing that wasn't as good as last year was the weather (we do not hold anyone responsible for this ) we actually had 3 or 4 days of rain but only one day was so bad that it stopped us from going out,at least until we had to eat that evening. This was another fantastic holiday/

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks for the lovely review. We try to improve the villas every year, and you will have noticed the mattress toppers to provide extra comfort as well as the new TV and fridge. The local restaurants too, improve year on year, and there are now three exceptional places to eat in Gavalochory. You can see a lot more about us on Facebook if you search for 'Saint Basil Olive Grove: Villa Holidays in Crete' and please fee free to post any appropriate holiday photos on our page!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
465JohnG
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Each year it gets better and better”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Villa Angelos is now our favourite of the villas in this delightful, private, peaceful and scenic location. The owners and their local team ensure that the villas are clean and well maintained, and every year there's evidence of their commitment to maintaining high standards and making improvements.

This year it was foam mattress toppers, a new fridge and a flat screen TV. Last year it was modifications to make a very good pool into an excellent one.

Just over 2km from the sea, and close to the charming village of Gavolochori, the villas at St Basil Olive Grove are an ideal base for enjoying and exploring NW Crete.

The villas have been sensibly designed to suit the needs of holiday makers, and for Brits, the facility of having UK style plumbing is a major plus.

Fans and air con ensure comfort; we've found that the inevitable evening breeze lowers the temperatures to a very pleasant 19 -21, so night times are not impossible. the balconies outside each of the upstairs bedrooms ensure that sun worshippers can follow the sun, and those who prefer the shade can nevertheless sit outdoors.

Family friendly, the villas are furnished and equipped sensibly and practically, (Unlike the French gite where grandmere's prize possessions were still all about us!)

There's a good relationship with the local AutoClub car rentals which is another plus.

And it's possible to stay for a fortnight and eat out at a different restaurant or tavern every night, and be delighted at the choice and standard of the food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. Hopefully you will come again next year to see the next round of improvements, We will be adding a waterproof covering to the pergola over the main patio so you will be able to sit outside, should you get an occasional rainshower.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirlsast...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Villa Angelos”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from the fantastic Villa Angelos in Almyrida. All we can say is it is Home from home providing all amenities. There is a great pool with spacious surrounding area. A 20-25 minutes stroll to Almyrida. Lots of lovely restaurants on sea front. Few cafes where can get lunch. There is also 10-15 mins walk to village Gavalochori where you will find handful tavernas serving great food. There is also a bakery and small supermarket in Gavalochori. Taxi available back to villa from Almyrida is between 6-8 euros so no point in walking back home.

Almyrida is lovely with plenty of places to eat & drink and few shops. There is a bus to Chania which takes around 20 mins costing 6 euros return.

Can't fault villa and would recommend to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks for your reply! We think our little corner of paradise is the ideal place for family holidays with all the ingredients you need for the perfect holiday: a great pool, comfortable accommodation, high quality tavernas nearby .... plus those fantastic views from every balcolny!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for groups”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We previously stayed at the neighbouring Villa Helios as a couple in September/October 2014. We enjoyed ourselves so much that this time we brought six friends to stay at Angelos next door. The views from the upper rooms of the mountains are spectacular. The villa is situated between the sea and the village of Gavalachori which is picturesque and has at least two great restaurants we have eaten in. The swimming pool at Angelos has been refurbished and is very inviting. The villa is simple but comfortable and offers extremely good value. Look forward to returning to Crete and Gavalachori!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks for your lovely review! Yes indeed, our villas are ideal for groups. After several family holidays in Spain, all with slightly disappointing accommodation, when we took the opportunity to build our own villas in Crete we designed them with families in mind. Many people have built their villas and then decided to rent them as an afterthought, which means they have their dining room and kitchen upstairs, with bedrooms downstairs (the Greek way). This is not ideal if you are a mother coming downstairs while balancing a tray of food on one hand and a toddler in the other. Our kitchens are all on the ground floor, with an open plan dining area which overlooks the pool so parents can keep an eye on their children even while preparing food in the kitchen. And we are the only villas in the area that we know of where the pools have been designed right from the start to have gates around them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila B
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay at this lovely villa. It's in a beautiful setting, quiet and private, but very close to amenities at the beach resort of Almirida and the lovely old inland village of Gavalachori. The owners respond well to comments and suggestions, the place is kept very clean, the pool is super and all in all we had a relaxing and comfortable stay. Would definitely book again, prices are reasonable, (we took advantage of an offer), and the plumbing is British!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your review. We are continually aiming to make improvements as and when they become possible - for example this year all beds have 2-inch thick memory foam mattress toppers, and the TV is a new 28-inch Smart Samsung. We are also glad you like the pool, it is in a lovely position and the new walk down steps are very sociable for sitting on the edge with a glass of wine at sunset!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing