We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing”
Review of Mathraki Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mathraki Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Callington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Another great holiday at these adult only studios. Warm welcome and great food. Basic but clean and well looked after. Nothing is too much trouble for the family who own it. Love this complex and will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just back from a week at the Mathraki Studios, here's what we thought -

These studios are in a perfect spot, just minutes from the sea whether you use the road or the more scenic route. They are family run and friendly and welcoming. There's a good pool bar, very reasonably priced - a large draught Corfu beer is €2.50. They also sell milk at €1.80. and
packs of 6 bottles of water at €2

Good points - spacious kitchen area with two electric rings plus very useful oven/grill. Plenty of crockery, glasses and cutlery. Large and small saucepans and frying pan. colander and other bits and pieces. Tea towels provided too. Rooms are spacious, beds are comfy but pillows in plastic protectors are a bit noisy! Plenty of lighting (inc over beds) and plenty of electric sockets.
Bathroom has decent shower which actually hooks on wall! Shower tray and curtain so not quite as wet underfoot after a shower as most places we' be stayed in.
Nice balcony overlooking the olive groves, owner's chickens wandering about and with a view of the sea beyond too! Free WiFi in bar area (2hr usage timer) which may intermittently also reach rooms. Few minutes stroll from shops & seafront. No noise at night. Pool bar packs up around midnight which limits chatter. Shop immediately opposite accommodation though pricey.
Bins are emptied every day, towels changed every other day, bed linen changed weekly.

Bad: not enough storage space. Decent sized wardrobe with two drawers, not enough hangers. Only one bedside table and one other shelf and drawer under mirror. Nowhere to store food apart from fridge and in crockery cupboard.

We will definitely return to this accommodation as it ticked all the boxes fur us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karenc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After reading the reviews on trip advisor we decided to go here. We felt there was not much privacy on the balconies and could hear conversations from our neighbours, even heated arguments. The pool area is very cramped and claustrophobic. Practically everyone that comes here smokes so if you are a smoker which were not would be ideal. There is a lot of road noise as the road alongside is one of the main roads into Arilas, especially in the morning. Also dogs start barking from 6.30am. It does stop but then starts up again at about 6.30pm. The apartments are very clean. Bedding changed only once. Towels changed every 3 days. Maids empty the bins only every day apart from Sunday. The beds are very comfortable apart from the pillows which have a plastic protector. We didn't spend much time in these apartments and the weather was good which was a bonus. There is free wifi. A lovely walk around the back route through rural countryside is nice. Don't think we will be coming back to these apartments. All apartments face the sea.

Room Tip: Top floor for the views and preferable an end one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Can only reiterate previous reviews. Nikos and family were fantastic hosts nothing was too much trouble and from the first minute to our last made you feel at home. Pleasure to spend 2 weeks with like minded people as well, everyone was very friendly but you always had your own space.
Small snack bar served great food and drink and outstanding value for money to boot. Great location nothing too far away. Pool area was lovely and relaxing, always plenty of sunbeds for everyone.
We normally make our own breakfasts but if you stay here have breakfast , superb, best eggs I have ever had and such good value for money.
Problem is everyone quite rightly loves the Mathraki and guess we will all struggle to book now. But this family deserve all the success they can get.
Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davehammer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

A review for these apartments is worth doing to let all people who maybe considering going here on holiday could not choose a better place to stay. All the positive comments are true to form. Nickos. & family are true lovey people, very genuine, the food at Mathraki was on par or better in some cases than the restaurants in the town / village. Yes basic facilities but while in Rome ! We are not a couple to go back but as others have wrote . . We are on our way back next year . . Says it all really !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steff503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped at the Mathraki with my fiancé for my first week away without children in 21 years! It was fab. We love Arillas in any case but this was our first stay at the Mathraki and how wonderful it is to stay in the heart of the resort rather than on the edge - so much less legwork involved. The owner was fabulous and very friendly. The rooms were typical Greek self catering; basic but clean and well cared for. Would return:)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela.redshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I've just got back from an 11 night stay at mathraki and I can say I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience! I'm a 19 year old girl and went with my 21 y.o partner... Through-out our stay we had people constantly asking if it was too quiet for us, but it wasn't! When you read reviews on here and people say it's a quiet place with no night life, that's exactly what you get so if that's what you want, go for it! There's plenty to do if you want to such as water sports, renting out quad bikes, going on walks, boat trips, trips to corfu town and so on... But personally my holiday was to chill out by the pool and that's exactly what I did!
The food at the hotel itself is lovely, we did eat at the hotel a few nights because we were being lazy, but if you fancy going out I would recommend the marina restaurant, they're lovely there, can never do too much for you (they also do greek dancing on a Saturday).
The owner of mathraki studios nikos was so lovely, always happy and smiling and always there to help you out if you have any questions! It is an open pool and a few people do come to use it but know the owner anyway. Through our stay towels were changed every other day and bed sheets were only changed once.... There was a day where our bin for the loo roll wasn't changed too... That was the only downside to the whole experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellab94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arillas
0.6 mi away
Tria Adelphia
Tria Adelphia
#2 of 8 in Arillas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akti Arilla Hotel
Akti Arilla Hotel
#4 of 8 in Arillas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Theo's Hotel
Theo's Hotel
#3 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arillas Studios
Arillas Studios
#5 of 24 in Arillas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anna Studios
Anna Studios
#1 of 6 in Arillas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathraki Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathraki Studios

Property: Mathraki Studios
Address: Arillas 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Arillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Arillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mathraki Studios is a small family run traditional greek complex in the heart of Arillas, Corfu. Only a very short stroll away from the villages' local amenities and large stretched golden sand beach. With an Adult Only focused policy in place at Mathraki Studios, this means its the perfect destination for a relaxing getaway. Not only that Mathraki Studios has an onsite Bar and Grill for fantastic cocktails, local beverages and quality meals from breakfast to evening. Mathraki Studios offers themed nights such as excellent curry nights every Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mathraki Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathraki Studios Hotel Arillas
Mathraki Studios Arillas, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing