We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place in India which doesn't feel like India :P”
Review of Bamboo House Goa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bamboo House Goa
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a superb experience. White sand, blue water, no crowd at all. A place where you hear only the sound of your voice and the sound of waves. Food is too good.. especially the pancakes. Don't forget to grab a beer and hit the beach in the midnight. Go lie down on the bench and enjoy the drink and the cool breeze. It's amazing!

This place is beautifully made and kept very well. Clean and hygienic. Service is good and people are humble and helpful. Almost everything is made of bamboo and it gives a feeling of being close to nature. Bathrooms are nice and you will have fun if you've got a partner. ;)

This place is close to some good up scale diners and hotels. You can shop around a bit and have fun at the beach and do some watersport as well. Rent a bike from some place near by and explore south Goa.

My experience was awesome and I really enjoyed every moment I spent there. Longing to visit this place again soon. :)

Room Tip: Bathrooms have drop down bamboo curtains (no latches) so be cautious if you sharing the room with so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsyScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights around New Year. The place is quite off the main city but totally worth it if you have your own or rented vehicle. The beach is just a few steps away and you can hear the sweet sound of waves at all time. Accommodation is very true to its name and almost everything in the room is made of bamboo. Gardens are very well maintained and the café is serves good food. You can ask for a candle lit dinner on beach as well. Room and toilet are very clean and towels are replaced from time to time. Beach itself is very clean and isolated. If you just want to relax and sun bath by the beach, you don’t have to go anywhere else.

My only complaint from this place is the poor service. Toiletries in the bathroom are limited, by limited I mean just one soap and that too is not replaced if you are staying for more than one day. So I recommend taking you own.

Renting vehicles from the resort staff should be avoided, they try to mug you and quote higher price than the ongoing Goa rate.

My overall experience was wonderful, except for the minor unpleasantness.

Room Tip: All rooms are same I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernova85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been with our 3 years old daughter in April 2014, just before the closing week for the monsoon season.
The bamboo houses are all very well done, considering the natural material they are done with. Beds are king sizes, rooms are quite big and bathrooms huge, very comfortable.
The reception was extremly kind and there was free cold clean water avaialble every day.
The houses are immersed in green grass garden, maintained every day by a young kind indian. His wife takes care of hotel treatment cleaning service every day. Birds, frogs, and all other animals are also included:)
The beach is in 200 meter from the houses, white sand, wide and practically private for the place. The only down thing about the beach is that the left over from the fishing boats are often found on the shore after high water comes, but anyway garbage remaining in India is a general problem, and this did not interfere with our vacation. Sunset can be seen from the beach or from the restaurant that offer a well prepared fish or indian vegetarian or not vegetaria food. You cna have pasta or steaks as well, so international food can also be cooked.
We travelled with taxis to Morgau, Ponda, Spicy Plantation and Colva beaches. Ask always to get a taxi from the reception, they'll give you the best rates, better than bargaining on the road.
Leaving at 1:30 in the night was also nice, with the reception guys waking up and coming to pick up our baggages, very nice service indeed.
The rooms are equipped with ventilators, but if you do not stay under the stram of air, during the first hours of the night you'll suffer a little the heat.
Electricity was coming and going, but each room had a pre-charged torch available.

Room Tip: Thre are 10 bamboo houses, starting from the reception until last closest to the beach, but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teogabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here during a tour of South Goa. We had been recommended to eat at The Blue Whale which is a good walk along the beach from Cavelossim. Whilst enjoying a meal there we saw the board advertising The Bamboo Huts ,which are situated just behind. So we asked to look at them and immediately decided that we would spend our last night here.
We weren't disappointed , They are beautifully and thoughtfully designed, with memory foam mattress and pillows giving a wonderful nights sleep. All huts have tea and coffee making facilities and there is filtered water available at reception to help yourself to. Due to the location it is very quiet and we enjoyed our dinner at the same restaurant under the stars.In the morning we watched the sunrise where the river and sea meet.
Can't wait to come back for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorsetdame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We had just finished a week travelling through Delhi, Agra and Jaipur, so we were stressed out and exhausted. Much to our delight we arrived to this paradise tucked away in a secluded area of Goa. Aman greeted us at the entrance and walked us to our wonderful little hut- 1 of 10 in this little area. It was perfect for those who enjoy experiencing something a bit less 'prissy' and more 'real.' We had a massive room, that had a comfortable bed and the hot water always worked. The eco-friendly huts were such a welcome change to the westernised hotel/resorts we had seen along the drive there. It was beautiful to wake up to birds chirping, waves crashing and a clear sky with a warm sun. The beach was quiet and practically our own, no one bothered us, unlike the resorts further away which were full of people and not as peaceful. The Blue Whale Cafe was also great, Roque the owner was very friendly and served us great food everyday. You mustn't miss out on the stunning and uninterrupted sunset too... The best I've seen!! We can't wait to come back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanderlustloverss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Forget the five star hotel luxury and try something different and Eco friendly! The Bamboo House provides very comfortable accommodation in a friendly and relaxed environment. There are of course negatives; howling dogs at night and the occasional waft of drying fish from a nearby processing operation. The loo by the beach doesn't flush although there is a bucket and jug to do this manually [Amar, this might be worth improving?]. Having said this, the cost is no where near five star hotel prices and the positive experiences will last a lifetime. The staff are brilliant - so friendly and can't do enough to help - they really go out of their way. Amar and his team are continually improving the experience for guests. Bedding and towels are changed on a daily basis. The 'houses' are fitted with international electrical sockets and tea and beverages facilities are provided in each 'house.' The 'Blue Whale' 'shack' attached to the property is superb although the beach sunbeds need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have just had 6 nights here. Beautifully constructed cottages, spacious, clean & very comfortable. Lovely comfy mattresses on bamboo beds. The bathroom was fab as you could be having a shower & were able to watch the eagles from the window! Also good that the washroom is split so you don't get water over the whole floor when having a shower. Good to have tea making facilities & also a cold water dispenser at reception to fill your water jug. The gardens were lovely & so well tended, it was lovely to watch the Ibis & crows having a bath in the garden sprinklers. Early evening the sky was crowded with Red Kites, Sea Eagles etc. the setting is lovely as you can watch all the fishing boats coming & going on the river behind the cottages. However, that can also be a downside as at times they is a very strong smell of drying fish that wafts through your cottage. The beach by the cottages is lovely as so quiet & just The Blue Whale shack for lovely food. Another small problem was the amount of dog barking throughout the night, this caused us to be constantly woken for the first 3 nights as of course you do hear everything in the cottages. One night we could see 6 dogs lying on the terrace of the opposite cottage & they just kept starting each other of barking & howling!

Room Tip: All cottages same so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.8 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,580 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
1.9 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Goa

Address: 95 Bamboo House Goa 1, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Cavelossim
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful, serene and peaceful beach of South Goa. 10 aesthetically, hand made Bamboo cottages await you amongst a well laid landscape. The cottages are unique in design, interiors and are well equipped. Spacious, comfortable and above all- close to nature. All you hear is the birdsong and the rush of waves.The restaurant serves you the choicest of food and has been rated excellent on various travel sites/magazines.We believe strongly in the environmental cause and thus maximum care has been taken taken to lessen the impact on mother nature. Hot water comes through solar heating, waste is handeled responsibly and the waste water gets treated by organíc bacteria and released back to irrigate the trees.Corporate Social responsibility is not just a word but for us an everyday task.Our staff has 2 mothers working with us and their children are with them. They can adjust their work as to their own plan and childrens, needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing