We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”

Hill's Den Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 83 Restaurants in Cavelossim
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hillsden is a multi cuisine restaurant, right opposite to the Holiday Inn Resort. We specialize in fresh seafood, Indian, Chinese, Tandoor and Goan cuisine. One of our best dish is the famous Fish & chips.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The restaurant was very quiet when we ate there but we had a pleasant evening with some delicious fresh food. It is situated opposite the Holiday Inn hotel and within easy walking distance of The Leela hotel. It is slightly more upmarket than the beach shacks but not in the same class as the The Fisherman's Wharf and therefore cheaper.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Try it!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, service and prices. Kathleen and her team take great pride in looking after diners. See you again next year!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePuddingsOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillsden, Front Office Manager at Hill's Den Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from Hillsden!

Thank you for setting aside your precious time to write about us and about the food and for appreciating the good work. feedback like yours encourages us to strive harder and to go the extra mile to serve each and every guest ,and to make his experience a memorable one.

Yes we too hope to see you again next year and to render our best services to you.
Thank you once again.

Warm regards
Kathleen Gonsalves
For HillsDen Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible breakfast”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We had to shake the staff out of their slumber and off the tables as we walked in for breakfast at 11am. I guess this should have been a sign of things to come, but then again this is Goa so we let it pass.

We were asked to repeat our order (a cheese and mushroom omelette, cheese and tomato toasty and hash browns) three times as the server insisted on memorising it instead of writing it down. 30 mins later we were brought a cheese and tomato omelette and a cheese and mushroom omelette. Neither with toasts on the side! The hash brown was a stir fried Chinese dish with soy sauce, garlic and chives. The chef insisted that this was how it was done.

I'd much rather have had the same experience sitting at one of the 'multi-cuisine shacks' on the beach instead of having to stare at a hotel taxi stand across the road...

Helpful?
Thank KGoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillsden, Front Office Manager at Hill's Den Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hillsden !!
Your feedback is truly appreciated.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact that you had a terrible experience at Hillsden.
I assure you that we have taken serious note of all the issues put forward by you and we will take immediate action on the same.

I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you at Hillden once again.

Warm regards,
Kathleen Gonsalves
For Hillsden Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal lovely people”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from goa had been getting tips of the ta the hills den was very highly rated I can see why 4 of us went the food was great 2 of us had the steak and mushroom sauce fantastic the other 2 meals were chicken tikka and veg curry lovely we met Kathleen very lovely lady after the end of our evening they even gave us a ride back to cavelossim thank you hills den for a lovely evening out Wendy joe Val and allan

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wezzerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillsden, Owner at Hill's Den Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hillsden Goa.
Thank you for setting aside your precious time to write about us.
we are happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant. It is your positive feedback and appreciation that encourages us to give you our best services .
Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Kathleen Gonsalves
(Owner of Hillsden)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great food great people”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Have been coming to this restaurant since 1992 and Daniel and Kathleen are lovely people nothing is too much trouble the rooms are lovely we are looking at flights at the moment for next year with a view to staying there as opposed to the holiday inn.
The food is always hot and plentiful and the naan bread is great.
Keep up the good work Kathleen and Daniel and will contact you shortly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillsden, Front Office Manager at Hill's Den Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Friends,
Warm greetings from Hillsden Goa.
We are are glad to read that you enjoyed your meal here at Hillsden.
And so we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is our constant endeavor to give quality food and service to each and every guest. and to go beyond their expectations.
On behalf of my staff and management I thank you once again for your valuable response.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kathleen Gonsalves
for Hillsden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hill's Den Guest House & Restaurant also viewed

Cavelossim, South Goa District
Cavelossim, South Goa District
 
Cavelossim, South Goa District
Cavelossim, South Goa District
 

Been to Hill's Den Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing