We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Anita's Place

Anita's Place
Ranked #57 of 83 Restaurants in Cavelossim
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
South west uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Went by the reviews but was sadly very disappointed. Had five jumbo prawns which were no larger than that being sold by other local restaurants at 750 rupees. At Antias I was charged 2000 rupees for some plain grilled prawns with some chopped garlic sprinkled over them and chips certainly nothing special. Met another couple who had lobster and prawns and was charged 60000 rupees. Most nights the place is empty and it is not surprise why.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic but lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Anita's was a welcome rest stop to and from our hotel and the beach/Carmona. They serve chicken & beef most days, other items you will have to order one day to eat the next, as it is bought fresh. Don't get me wrong, the food is basic, but it's delicious for that and if you've been travelling through India and are as sick of curries as we got, this is a good way to mix it up whilst still getting something authentic and locally produced.

Anita is very accommodating (yes she sits nearby, but is lovely and chatty, this is her home after all) - she even waived our bill when we didn't have change, trusting us to pay the next time we walked past. Lovely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Threepwood87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food for thought.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a friendly place Anita was most helpful her husband did most of the cooking thanks Donald, beware of the jumbo prawns unless you are starving they are larger that banans I kid you not ! basic place but food is excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank twotogreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“anita's place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

had many wonderful meals here cooked by donald who is a wonderful cook.The food is always very fresh and tasty.Anita makes everyone feel very welcome as does the rest of her family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“warm friendly and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

had wonderful jumbo prawns and warm genuine conversation and company with anita and her lovely husband donald ( he makes a great garlic sauce ).you have to order your food the day before for special orders but they are worth waiting for.do try to visit they really are a very nice family .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anita's Place also viewed

 
Cavelossim, Goa
 

Been to Anita's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing