We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for two days at this resort as the last leg of our goa vacation and we rued the fact that we didnt come here earlier. Since the tourist season has not started yet there is not much to do in cavelossim right now but we didnt mind that at all. We had done our jet-skiing, shopping and sightseeing in north goa and these last two days were meant for relaxation and Dona Sylvia is the perfect place for that.
From being right at the golden beach to its green acres, from its cozy little rooms to its beautiful pool which has something for all age groups and of course its scrumptious buffet breakfast. Did I have the ultimate holiday experience? Yes! Will I visit again? No doubt about it!
A small quibble though, they should improve their bathroom which though well stocked, are in need of upgradation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our resort. We are pleased to note that you indeed have treasured your stay with us.

As for the shortcomings, we are looking into enhancing / upgrading certain areas in the near future.

Thank you once more, your commendation is our greatest compliment and we look forward to enchant you back on your next sojourn.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Dona Sylvia a place full of warm and highly caring staff, delicious food & great stay quality. I reached at hotel on 1st October@ 9.00 Pm, the time i got fresh n up and reached La gulls for dinner RAKESH accompanied us and made me so confident that everyone is with me to get my conference done in a smooth manner. The very next day MAKBOOL, CHEF ALOK, JIMMY,SHAUN we all geared up as team and did fire fighting planning with situation which got arouse due to the missed out train of our group at Mumbai.

ALL IN ALL A GREAT EXPERIENCE AGAIN BIG FAT THANKS TO MAKBOOL, CHEF ALOK,SHAUN, JIMMY & COMPLETE TEAM OF DONA SYLVIA FOR EXTENDING SUPPORT AND HELPING. EXTREMELY RECOMMENDED PROPERTY.

Room Tip: All Rooms are very good and villa style, for the people who are travelling for conference or meet s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surbhi_shukla_pujari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback posted by you on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a delight having you stay with us. We also appreciate your eagerness and enthusiastic participation in the staff activities conducted in the resort. Also, we heartily thank you for your high commendation of our staff and services, which would be conveyed to them.

Further, We would be elated to have you stay with us in Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staff were amazing, couldn't do enough to help. Food was equally amazing. As westerners travelling through India, it was nice to see proper service. We stayed for a week after a period of travelling. We timed it wrong (end of monsoon season) but even the clouds and rain couldn't dampen a truly excellent experience. Every single member of staff stopped to smile and chat and nothing was to much trouble, The head chef saw us looking a bit confused with the food, so he made a point of talking us through what dishes worked well together and came over after every single meal to make sure we had enjoyed it. The grounds were lush and full of trees and grass. The room was basic, but more than adequate for a young couple. The pool is excellent. The only downside was how the conference guests liked to stare at western females by the pool. This is an Indian thing though and in no way the hotels fault. All in all a fantastic experience and a great example of how service should be done!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for your ratings on TripAdvisor and also for posting such fine reviews of our resort and staff in particular. We do commend the staff for winning us accolades and compliments galore. We are glad that we were able to delight you with our services and the amazing ambiance of Dona Sylvia.

Hoping to be at your service once again on your future sojourn.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in dona 29th aug.' 13 to 01 sep '13 it was a great experience. Resort is very well maintained. Buffet food very nice and gives a huge choice of food. Pool is big and suitable for kids to adult and swimers. Staff is very polite and redy to serve you each and every time. Main thing is cleanliness it's common convenience also ware neat and clean. We were group of 12 persons all satisfied in all aspects.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamlesh239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for the wonderful review and are humbled at such wonderful comments and compliments galore. We genuinely thank you once again for making your holiday a truly memorable one.

Looking forward to delight you as always.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks ,is an hotel near the beach,perfect to walk and go to the water,the beach is always almost empty,enjoy!!
The rooms are ok,the AC it works very well,the rooms are style bungalow in the midlle of the grass and trees ,beautiful, they have wi-fi in the hotel,works well.
The food of the buffet is specially to indian customers but is really good,the cookers( Mr.Raju and Mr.Afsar) are really good at his work and very friendly,sametimes we had to ask them west food and they did it very well,Thank you very much!!
The goodwill of this hotel is speacially the Staff,always friendly and kind,also thanks to Miss.Guita of the front desk.
If you wish to rest and enjoy the south of India choose this hotel.
Location,the road of the airport to the hotel is not very good but at 30 minutes you have Old town of Goa and Margao,visit it please.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for taking the time out to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very much pleased that you have treasured your stay with us and also elated for highly commending the hospitality of our deserving staff.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us on your future visit to Dona Sylvia.

Warm regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Based on our experience we feel that the staff at this resort does care for the guests. Here are a few of our experiences during our 3 night stay at the hotel
* We were not satisfied with the room allocated to us. And the staff did not have any problems in showing us 3 more available rooms to pick one at 5 am in the morning.
* The 14 seater for sight seeing had 2 seats vacant whereas we were 3. The hotel arranged another vehicle (14 seater as all there cabs were busy!) without any issues.
* The host at the Seagull restaurant is a very warm person who goes out of his way to make experience of the guests special

Some other things that we liked about the resort:
* Great location. The beach is good. Also the small market outside the resort is good.
* Great outdoor landscape. There is an airy, green and fresh feeling to this resort where almost every villa opens to a big green lawn. Even the path to the beach with green lawn and trees on both sides is great.
* BIG pool. We spent a lot of time there.
* Amazing spread in buffet. We never had problem with variety or taste of the food.
* Live music in the evenings is a very nice way to end your day. The Hindi singer on the last day was really amazing. My kid was elated when he obliged to sing her favorite song.
* The rooms are not very ornate or luxurious but are comfortable.

In all we had a very relaxing stay at Dona Sylvia with a great staff. I would especially recommend it to travelers with family.

Room Tip: * Room 137 is one of the closet to the pool. It can get noisy in evenings if there is a party on in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feet2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for the excellent reviews. It’s always a pleasure to get such amazing feedback from our guests. We genuinely appreciate you taking the time out to recommend our hotel, services rendered, and the warm hospitality of our staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on another memorable stay!

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Let me start by saying that all resort hotels should send their staff to this hotel to see how it should really be done.

Service excellence just reached a new high

At every level a warm smile and a genuine greeting all day every day - not a sour face in the place.

Food - excellent with Tara making sure you got what you wanted even if it was not on the menu or on the buffet - thanks Tara, great food

Rooms - compact but clean - we didn't go on holiday to stay in the room - bed very comfortable.

Pool awesome and not a trace of green - no eye sting even though we were in it during most of every day.

Location - wonderful - short walk to an enormous beach - the splurge says there are 60 miles of beaches and I well believe it. Another short walk into the village and a nice variety of shops, bars, pharmacies and thank goodness an ATM.

You can avail yourself of the local sightseeing tour and here unfortunately we were disappointed with far too little time allowed at the Basilica and the Temple - enjoyed both but would have like to have had a more leisurely visit.

We were then told that all the coach had opted to go on a riverboat cruise (extra Rps 200 ea). So rather than wait for them to get back we joined in - big mistake - 400+ people crowded into cattle stalls waiting to board a boat which looked at best a little overcrowded and unsafe - we chickened out and took a private taxi back - extra Rps 2000 - Don't be sucked in.

Despite this set-back the overall feeling is that the holiday was great and it was thanks to the lovely people at the resort

Well done, we will see you again but we'll organize our own sightseeing next time.

Room Tip: You can hear the comings and goings of your neighbors in the double bungalows and it is a shared pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for the wonderful review, which lauds our truly deserving team. We are also happy to note that you have cherished the resort amenities ,above all, treasured the whole experience.

Hoping to be at your service once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,575 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
14.2 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
5.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: £87 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing