We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb resort, nice service, very good food, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

we stayed in Dona Sylvia from 17th Oct 13 to 19th Oct 2013. initially we thought that the resort is just ok. but from the time of booking we started changing our mind because even the marketing person in Delhi, Mr. Rakesh was very supportive. he is a true marketing oriented person. Pick person was very humble. Mr. Jimmy, the manager, received us early in the morning with a big broad smile. the resort is full value for money. we wanted a room near to the beach and they changed immediately. The cottage, swimming pool, health club, everything was perfect.THE FOOD WAS VERY TASTY. THE CHEF, ADITYA, WAS VERY MUCH CONCERNED ABOUT THE TASTE OF EVERY DISH. Not Only this, though there was buffet but still the executive Mr. Rajesh was going to almost every table and asking for anything extra like Hot Tawa Made Chapati etc. I was not feeling well and he noticed that and ordered me a soda water from the kitchen immediately. Ashra, another executive was so good in nature that she was taking special care of my 1 and 1/2 year baby. only drawback was that front office executive needs improvement. they need to be more committed. merely smiling does not work without fulfillment of the services and the restaurent should be covered with so that it can be airconditioned if required. we really had a good time. i think that this resort has raised the bar so high that all other resorts should learn from here. the resort is total value for money

Room Tip: take a package for minimum three night because that in that package offer something extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParvinderKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for having taken the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am glad our associates were of great assistance in helping make your stay a truly pleasant one .

Furthermore, I have noted your comments on our front desk service. I have taken up your comments with the department head to brief the team and have training needs delved into areas of concern. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests the most comfortable and momentous stay.

Looking forward to have you unwind in Dona Sylvia on your next stopover.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Dona Sylvia is a great resort to spend some quality time with your family. Nearby hotels are Holiday Inn, The Leela Beach, Radisson Blu.. Avoid this hotel if u r looking for a happening place with night life. For that u go to North Goa.

We arrived on 13th oct for our 5 day stay. And soon enough we were headed for the beach. In fact it's the greatest plus point. U can just walk to the beach on the spur of the moment. The hotel is practically by the beach. The beach itself is very clean. The sea isnt very rough. Water sports are also available on the beach. At the max there were 10-20 people on the beach. the shacks were yet to start which was a minus point.

The pool is quite good not like some hotels where the depth of pool is max 5 feet. Kids have lots of facilities available like play station, carrom, Table tennis, lawn tennis, badminton, cycling, trikking etc.

In other facilities, toilets need a jet/ hand shower. Using Mugs etc is so old fashioned. A/c units also need replacement as we are no longer used to Non remote A/c.

Half day sight seeing tour of north Goa was ok. if they could make it a full day tour it would be great.

The food was excellent. It was nice to interact with staff/ chef at the time of meals. One would like to specially mention Chef Aditya and Manager Ramesh who always tried to make our stay enjoyable.

Spa at the resort is also excellent. It's not a very short duration spa that u get in other 5 stars like the Marriott.

In the evenings there is in house entertainment in form of live music. And I must say its quite an enjoyable over a round of drinks. The Drinks are a bit pricey as per Goan standards..

Would surely like to repeat our visit to Dona Sylvia

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room with a large balcony... It's quite enjoyable in the mornings with a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Himanikundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for exclusively reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that, apart from a few glitches, we did manage to exhilarate and uplift your spirit for a truly relaxing and enjoyable holiday with us. Also, we do appreciate your helpful feedback & concerns regarding certain areas in need of attention , which we will be looking into in the near future.

We also thank you for raving about our associates, who attended to your culinary needs and requirements likewise.

We would be delighted at your return to Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We zeroed in on Dona Sylvia because of the mostly favourable reviews it had on Tripadvisor. Also, being located right next to a beach, it suited us well. The property per se is very well maintained with Mediterranean villa/cottage style rooms set amongst coconut trees. The pool is huge and has a depth of upto 8 ft at its deepest...a kiddy pool is also there for the little ones. What really disappointed was the room interiors (I think we had a superior type) - the bath was really cramped and the decor seemed very outdated. The shower curtain was inadequate to keep water out and everytime one took a bath, the entire bathroom would get squishy and wet. The quality of the toiletries was also quite average - not becoming of a five star property at all.
Which brings me to the housekeeping - very poor indeed. A plate of cookies we finished on our first day at the resort, remained uncleared from our room for the duration of our stay (3 days!) The verandah of our groundfloor room was also dusty and unswept. The bed-linen was also changed upon request only.
The buffet spread again was average at best. Though the selection was decent, the food lacked in terms of taste - one had to think twice about going for a second helping. Maybe the head chef was on a vacation! That said, the service was quite good.
My wife decided to try out the hotel spa and came away with a mixed review. According to her, the massage was great but the sauna wasn't functioning. Also, post the session there was nobody at the spa reception to take care of the billing! Someone (from the spa) called our room much later to inquire about the billing and when she complained about the sauna, she was told that she could come in to avail of it that very moment - long after she was done. A very lackadaisical style of functioning I must say.
All in all, what works for Dona Sylvia is its awesome location on Cavelossim beach which is clean and enjoys a wide expanse. Do ask for better rooms and I hope you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not go for the Superior rooms - they are small and the bath is miniscule. If you can, pay a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gambitsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for taking the time out and giving us a detailed feedback which will help us in rectifying any such instances in the future. We will take remedial steps to ensure that the shortcomings are tackled and assure you of a much memorable experience on your future stays with us.

Hoping to serve you once again on your future visit to Dona Sylvia.

To help you in your room allocation, dietary requirements and any other query or clarification you may need, I can be reached at atool@donasylvia.com.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The best feature of this Hotel is its location. Practicaly by the beach ... a very beautiful one: fine white sand and warm enjoyable sea. Facilities are good, although age is starting to show. The resort is well maintained but A/C units and bathrooms are calling for a replacement. Best was to be there right after the monsoon and before the invation of russian tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Luis Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We did note that you are well pleased with the ambiance, services and resort in general. Also, we do appreciate your helpful feedback & concerns regarding certain areas in need of attention , which we will be looking into in the near future.

Hoping to see you allured back to Dona Sylvia on your future sojourn.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for two days at this resort as the last leg of our goa vacation and we rued the fact that we didnt come here earlier. Since the tourist season has not started yet there is not much to do in cavelossim right now but we didnt mind that at all. We had done our jet-skiing, shopping and sightseeing in north goa and these last two days were meant for relaxation and Dona Sylvia is the perfect place for that.
From being right at the golden beach to its green acres, from its cozy little rooms to its beautiful pool which has something for all age groups and of course its scrumptious buffet breakfast. Did I have the ultimate holiday experience? Yes! Will I visit again? No doubt about it!
A small quibble though, they should improve their bathroom which though well stocked, are in need of upgradation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our resort. We are pleased to note that you indeed have treasured your stay with us.

As for the shortcomings, we are looking into enhancing / upgrading certain areas in the near future.

Thank you once more, your commendation is our greatest compliment and we look forward to enchant you back on your next sojourn.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Dona Sylvia a place full of warm and highly caring staff, delicious food & great stay quality. I reached at hotel on 1st October@ 9.00 Pm, the time i got fresh n up and reached La gulls for dinner RAKESH accompanied us and made me so confident that everyone is with me to get my conference done in a smooth manner. The very next day MAKBOOL, CHEF ALOK, JIMMY,SHAUN we all geared up as team and did fire fighting planning with situation which got arouse due to the missed out train of our group at Mumbai.

ALL IN ALL A GREAT EXPERIENCE AGAIN BIG FAT THANKS TO MAKBOOL, CHEF ALOK,SHAUN, JIMMY & COMPLETE TEAM OF DONA SYLVIA FOR EXTENDING SUPPORT AND HELPING. EXTREMELY RECOMMENDED PROPERTY.

Room Tip: All Rooms are very good and villa style, for the people who are travelling for conference or meet s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surbhi_shukla_pujari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback posted by you on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a delight having you stay with us. We also appreciate your eagerness and enthusiastic participation in the staff activities conducted in the resort. Also, we heartily thank you for your high commendation of our staff and services, which would be conveyed to them.

Further, We would be elated to have you stay with us in Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staff were amazing, couldn't do enough to help. Food was equally amazing. As westerners travelling through India, it was nice to see proper service. We stayed for a week after a period of travelling. We timed it wrong (end of monsoon season) but even the clouds and rain couldn't dampen a truly excellent experience. Every single member of staff stopped to smile and chat and nothing was to much trouble, The head chef saw us looking a bit confused with the food, so he made a point of talking us through what dishes worked well together and came over after every single meal to make sure we had enjoyed it. The grounds were lush and full of trees and grass. The room was basic, but more than adequate for a young couple. The pool is excellent. The only downside was how the conference guests liked to stare at western females by the pool. This is an Indian thing though and in no way the hotels fault. All in all a fantastic experience and a great example of how service should be done!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for your ratings on TripAdvisor and also for posting such fine reviews of our resort and staff in particular. We do commend the staff for winning us accolades and compliments galore. We are glad that we were able to delight you with our services and the amazing ambiance of Dona Sylvia.

Hoping to be at your service once again on your future sojourn.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,638 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,352 reviews
23.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: £94 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cavelossim Beach and set in 20 acres of beautifully secluded landscaped gardens, NOVOTEL GOA DONA SYLVIA brings to mind a quaint Portuguese village reminiscent of a bygone era – an architectural style that earned international acclaim for its architect, CHARLES CORREA….a truly wonderful and luxurious location for holidays, small meetings to large conferences. This Luxurious 5 star Beach Resort is situated on the Southern Coast of Goa, about 45 kms from the Airport and 15 kms from the Margao Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing