We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Incredible India”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Beautiful setting and grounds kept spotlessly clean. Rooms adequate but bring a plug for the basin! Toilets might not flush & water may stop half way through your shower but be patient - it comes back! Our first room 49 was small with no storage and the toilet didnt flush so we moved to 50 and it was much better although the fridge didnt work in that one! There will be power cuts every night but again only for about 10 seconds. Staff are friendly & polite but a bit clueless. Food is downright AWFUL - cold & poor quality. Our 1st dinner was smothered with midges & our first breakfast had rancid butter. Ended up eating out every day which is a pain having paid for AI - however, there are some great restaurants & locals are brilliant. Exchange money in Jai International, hes a character & will give you best rates. Beach is superb & food in shacks fine, Silver Sands was our favourite Hi Chitan! Girls on beach became our great friends, know all their names and family details, they made our holiday & are not a nuisance at all - be nice to them!! Dont be afraid to use the taxis, we went to Palolem (Bourne Supremacy location) 1hr each way & he waited for 3 hrs there total cost £21 (a must go to place) Finally, Karen the Thomson rep 10/10 knows her stuff and was so helpful/friendly & gave everyone a hug goodbye at the airport - give the girl a rise!! Was very nervous about going to India but ended up loving it so much that cant wait to go back, just go with the flow and have an incredible time and accept all the quirks (except the vile in house food!!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for taking time out and posting a review of your experience in Goa. Please accept my sincere apologies as you could not enjoy our buffet meals.We have looked into our processes here and have taken necessary steps to improve the meal experience.

I am sure you will notice the positive changes on your future visits and stays at Dona Sylvia.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    581
    165
    41
    18
See reviews for
484
760
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel and grounds were lovely and though the room was a bit past it's best it was clean and adequate. Staff were very helpful and I would recommend this holiday to anyone but with one reservation. Not enough sunbeds. Why do holiday hotels let them selves down by not providing enough sunbeds? A great pity because everything else was good or better than good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 333Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we just got back from our 2 week stay at the dona sylvia , we went to india with an open mind as it was our first time when we first arrived i was i was a little surprised at the room it looked a little dated but do you realy live in your room on holiday it was clean and fresh towels daily and you had tea and coffee facilities and 2 bottles of water daily which you dont normally get in a 4 star , the pool was good but you had to get up early to secure a sunbed so we went to the beach the sunbeds were free if you bought a drink or a snack which was so cheap we ate out daily , 30 pence for any soft drink £1 for a bear and the snacks were between 1.50 and 2.00 and were huge,the beach sellers were a little bit annoying but went away if you were stern and the second shack on the left did not allow sellers by there beds so go there if you dont want to be hassled, all the bars outside the hotel were cheap and a good night out, the hotel food was beautiful there was nothing that myself or husband didnt like, there was entertainment every night which wasnt bad by any means usually a singer .the staff were friendly and bent over backwards to make sure everything was ok , karen our thompson rep was fantastic she couldnt do enough for you. we went on the jungle book trip this was amazing and i recomend it to anyone but if you want to spend more time with the elephants then miss out the jungle walk as all you realy saw were lots of the same spider and got sore feet ,but we had an amazing time , ther not much more to say accept this hotel is great the goan are loverly people and we will definately be going back again , we are well travelled and this holiday was in my top 2.

Room Tip: we had a groung floor with own balcony near to pool great room no, 172
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shucky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It’s always a pleasure to get such amazing feedback from our guests. We genuinely appreciate you taking the time out to recommend our hotel, services rendered, and the warm hospitality of our staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on another memorable stay!

Warm regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Excellent friendly hotel, very clean and staff could not do enough for you. Pool was clean and so were the grounds, and rooms. Altogether I would recommend this as a holiday destination.

The beach was only a walk away and the hotel provided beach towels for you to use, lots of beach huts )bras/resturaunts), with friendly staff, beach was white and clean, and sea was like a tepid bath.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same layout, just depends if you want to be closer to the beach or the hotel am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for reviewing us and are more than glad that you had a good time indulging in the facilities we had to offer and for lauding our deserving staff.

We do look forward to having you stay with us on your future visit to Dona Sylvia.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for two weeks for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute. The hotel itself is lovely and we were lucky enough to be given a room that had it's own patio (as other people have said some are shared or indeed don't have any). When we first arrived we did look at an upgraded room which was in a newer building and had a huge balcony but decided that the £300+ upgrade wasn't worth it. Our room was kept meticulously clean everyday with fresh bedding and towels and the room attendants were really friendly. The bar staff at the hotel were excellent, especially Rahul who always knew who had been waiting and always remembered what you were drinking! We didn't eat much at the hotel as we wanted to try different restaurants but I can honestly say the food we ate was excellent. We partically enjoyed the 2 nights when they moved the buffet into the gardens leading down to the beach, and had candlelit tables and excellent entertainment.

Only downside to the hotel is the ridiculous sunbed reserving around the pool! So sad that some people have to get up at 5am to secure a spot and then don't actually lay on it till the afternoon. The hotel should clamp down on this as it spoils it for everyone.

Thanks Dona Sylvia for a truely memorable trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TeamMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of our resort. We are pleased to note that you indeed have treasured your stay with us; above all, appreciated the resort services, and the warm hospitality of our staff.

Also, We have noted your concern and taken steps to address the issue of sun beds.

We would be delighted at your return to Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Dona Sylvia from the 5th November 2013 for 2 weeks on a package holiday with Thompson which included direct flights on the 787 from Manchester.

First of all let me say I always try and write balanced fair reviews based on our own experiences from our stay. We have stayed at many different locations around the world.

The staff at the hotel are all friendly and polite this was noted from check in to check out.
Our first room was a deluxe room but it had no balcony or even windows! We changed the next day to one with a very small balcony, which was better but let me say that it is the rooms that let this hotel down. The rest of the hotel is so clean and modern and the rooms could do with an update really. They were also not the cleanest I have stayed in although they could be worse. Air con can be hit and miss but by our second week it was working fine. You do get fresh towels daily.

The beach is not the cleanest but pretty good for India, mind the crabs especially at night! One night the security were almost refusing us access to the beach so we ignored him and walked past to meet our friend.

The pool area, bars and reception were all excellent.

Food was pretty good generally. There is one main buffet plus two extra restaurants called Mama Mias and Kebabs and Curries. You are allowed one visit to one of these per week. There are surcharges to certain dishes in Kebabs and Curries and strangely it is not discounted from the non-surcharge dishes which it should be really. Breakfast was good, (you could even have curry if you want!) but fruit was on offer, toast and fresh omelettes, (one chef being better at making them than the other though so watch for that!).

To be honest the meals did get a little tedious and similar to each other after the first week. You can ask the chef to make you certain things and they try to oblige. One thing we missed was a good salad selection, it was pretty basic. We did end up eating out a few times to add variety.

Overall a great hotel that could be made even better with some updated rooms and a little more selection and variety on the food front. The all inclusive was good for drinks offering bottles of Fosters, Bud, and Kingfisher. The management came down hard on some bar staff for offering bottles direct to guests which we felt was wrong, the staff were obviously scared of upsetting them. The pool area was clean and I liked the fact it was non smoking too which helped.

There is one British lady that stays there for 5 months every year so you see it has got something going for it!

Thank you Dona Sylvia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, we had to change rooms due to no windows or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

My apologies for the delayed response to your feedback and for the glitches experienced during your stay. We have taken note of your concerns and would look into fine tuning our service levels, as customer satisfaction is our greatest salutation.

Also we are glad to note that you did enjoy some of the services on offer. Once again, your feedback has proved to be invaluable for our assessment.
However, I would be glad to assist you in concerns regarding room allocation and any other query or clarification, mail me at atool@donasylvia.com.

We do hope to serve you better on your trip to Goa & Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just got back from Goa at the weekend and wanted to share our thoughts. Ive got to say the staff at the hotel are fantastic! Want to tell you some of them , Jimmy front of house brilliant, Rahul in the bar brilliant ! Couple of tips for you , evening menu in restaurant very much the same every day, I love curry but not a lot of options so eating out became the norm most evenings.People were getting up in the dark to secure sunbeds ( sad ! ) so go to the beach instead.Win Wins first shack on the left brilliant, Ganesh a real star, go to the weds beach party what a good night.It was our first time in India so if its yours as well accept its different! Overall we loved it and the local people made it for us.
Dave from Kent

Room Tip: Ask for a private balcony, some bungalows have shared, a/c units tempermental
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 207daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortDonaSylvia, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for your review and helpful feedback. We have taken steps to address the issue of sun beds and also looking into our menu selection of buffets. I am sure that you would be pleasantly surprised on your subsequent visits and stays at Dona Sylvia .

Thank you again and looking forward to meet you in Goa in near future.

Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,545 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
5.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,031 reviews
23.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Property: Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing