We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, Surf and Dona Sylvia.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun, Surf and Dona Sylvia.....”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

April 2014:

We'd like to thank all at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, Goa for a fabulous holiday..... Our pleasant experience started even before we arrived, with Reshma at Reservations being extremely helpful and accomodating with our room requests and preferences.... thank you Reshma !

Dona Sylvia is a beautiful property located right at Cavelossim beach.... very well maintained and sprawling.... Super ambience, an awesome and delicious spread at the buffet and great drinks!! Best of all is the very courteous and dedicated staff... at Reception, ( thank you Mr. Milan), housekeeping, at Sea Gull, (Thank you Mr. Rajesh & Mr. Benny) ,at the Amalia Bar, ( thanks guys, you made magic in a glass!), at Tia Maria by the pool.... Most of all, a big thank you to Gita Naik, Duty Manager and an asset to the hotel, who went out of her way ( even in her off-duty hours) to meet our every request promptly and with a smile !

Only downside, though the rooms are clean and well-appointed, they could certainly use an overhaul as the furniture and linen has seen better days....

We were a whole bunch of family and friends and this was our third stay at Dona Sylvia..... and we will certainly be back for many more super times ! Thank you, Spasibo, Obrigada, Gracias..... and Hasta la Vista !

Yaz Contractor and Friends

Room Tip: a room on the ground floor is better as it comes with it's own sit-out area.... wonderful for ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaz513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We’re immensely thankful to you for posting your generous feedback about the property and our services and are truly humbled to hear such welcoming comments about our well deserving team, which definitely be conveyed to them.

Furthermore, we’re pleased to know that you were able to unwind and have really had a nice time in Dona Sylvia.

Looking forward for your continued, valued patronage of Dona Sylvia.

Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    581
    165
    41
    18
See reviews for
485
760
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here 4/4/14-12/12/14 on the final leg of a Thomson Golden Triangle Tour.
The tour whilst exhausting was a fantastic experience with some tremendous sights and memories that will live forever,it was our first visit to India and indeed Goa.

The welcome should have been our warning!!.

No welcome pack available from Thomson even after requested!

We arrrived at 4.00pm in the afternoon and waited for over an hour for our room to be allocated.On allocation I returned to reception as the balcony was not large enough to take 1 chair and the air conditioning was not working!!.

We were reallocated room no 173 which was an upstairs room with a larger balcony but this was not without problems,the room was dated,stained bed linen,broken curtain rail,malfunctioning fridge (and the location would not allow proper access to the wardrobe).The toliet was difficult to flush and the safe failed twice during our stay,causing lengthy delays each time. Oh I almost forgot to say you could not sit on the balcony or leave clothes out due to the mess from the Crows!!

The pool area was good and where we spent the majority of our days,however it was spoilt by traffic cones all around the pool area and I did notice the supplied towels were off casts from the near by Radison Hotel!!. The sun beds and mattresses were in desparate need of replacement

There was no evidence of poolside entertainment or games the whole duration of our stay

The beach was a huge disappointment it was dirty,many fellow guests complained of bites from sand bugs and there were wild dogs sunbathing everywhere obviously fed from the scraps from the beach shacks,just not for me!!

The main hotel restaurant had a large reliance on hot plates and I have to question the quality and temperature of this food particularly on the evenings when it is transferred to the ground areas.

We visited both Al La Carte restaurants,Mamma Mias poolside was excellent food and service,so good we returned for a second visit,Kebabs and Curries was poor void of any atmosphere,cold and slow service there were only 10 diners in total attendance.

We were perhaps unfortunate during our stay as our visit coincided with several cooperate events,2 Indian Weddings and the Indian Elections.

The corporate events and weddings had a detremental impact on hotel guests with the noise levels,does anyone want to listen to bangra at 2.00am in the morning!!

The Indian Elections meant there was an alcohol ban from 6.00pm on the 10/4/14 until Midnight on 12/4/14.

Whilst appreciating this was outside of the hotels control it did not help the situation or my holiday mood.

All the hotel staff tried hard to please particularly Mahal at the poolside bar (when it was open)

I realise this review is negative and will undoubtedly upset many of the guests we met who appear to return year after year and Karen the Thomson rep who was always available for help and advise.

She recommended us eating at both Pappa Joes River cafe and Mikes place where we enjoyed lovely food and good entertainment.

As a seasoned traveller I tell it as it is and how it impacts on me personally.It is my opinion that this resort is dated and in desperate need of refurbishment and the hotel management have become complacent with return guests or just have end of season blues.

Sorry Dona Sylvia I will not be returning and recommend any future clients give consideration to my comments prior to booking again

Room Tip: Ensure you have a large balcony and west facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beamoSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your review and for the detailed and helpful feedback. My sincere apologies for the 'not so pleasant' experience you had on your recent stay with us.

With regards to your room allocation, upon inquiry with the team, I was made to understand that initially the room was alloted to you without much delay. Also, your request for a room change with a spacious balcony was obliged to. Till such time the new room was alloted, to ward off any inconvenience and as a special gesture, the earlier room alloted was extended to you for the wait.

We, at Team Dona Sylvia strive towards guest delight and will take the necessary steps to tackle the issues enlisted by you.

Also, we would have been in a better position to sort this out had you mentioned to us at the onset , whilst you were in Goa.

Furthermore, the beach is a public place and presence of stray dogs, etc are not under direct control of the hotel management, though it is our endevour to see that these things do not occur.

However, we will take the appropriate remedial measures to ensure all your future stays at Dona Sylvia are memorable.


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a very short but a very pleasant stay at Dona Sylvia (1st week of April). We were able to check into our rooms very soon after our arrival. The staff is courteous, smiling and helpful. Geeta at the Reception, specially, saw to it that my family had a wonderful break. We had taken the package with breakfast only and it was worth it.

The food in the Sea Gull restaurant was quite good and the staff quite attentive (barring maybe a few times when the place was packed) to our needs. What's more, the chef Afsar went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and was ready to dish out whatever we preferred to eat.. whether a particular soup or vegetable dish or a dessert. We tried only one other restaurant of theirs (Kebabs & Curries) and found it to be okay. It could've been better.

Geeta, he and the other staff by and large were responsible for making us feel quite at home at this ideally located resort.

Our rooms were spacious (#73A/B) and well-maintained. Maybe our room could've done with a lil' more lighting, we felt. But that wasn't much of an issue. Whatever little niggles that were there (with the AC/TV) were very promptly attended to.. to our satisfaction. Our cottage was situated between the reception/restaurant area and the beach.. so not much walking to do.

The pool is of an adequate size and other than that made good use of the Kerala Spa.

The weather wasn't as hot as we thought it would be and that alongwith the service and the location of the resort gave us the welcome break we were seeking on my trip to Goa. Have been to Goa many a times in the past, over the years but this short stay will linger long in my memory.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darsh2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We do appreciate your valuable time spent in giving us such wonderful detailed feedback. Also, We are humbled at such welcoming comments and compliments of our amiable staff and services.

We immensely thank you once more for commending us and we do look forward to enchant you on your next sojourn.

Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were three families spending the beginning of our summer vacation in Goa from 2nd April-5th April 2014. We chanced upon Dona Sylvia Beach Resort and we have absolutely no regrets for the decision. This resort is great for holidayers. The white sands beach, the approach to the beach, the swimming pool, the restaurants, th adjoining shacks in the beach, boatride on river sal were all fantastic. The infra is quite old though. The spa and the service there certainly needs improvement.Food was just about okay but what made up for the lapses were the lovely staff in the resort, particularly Gita.
Will certainly go there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balaji N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and for the helpful feedback therein. We, as Team Dona Sylvia are actively working to fine tune service levels meted out to our guests and your feedback has proved to be invaluable for our assessment, as customer satisfaction is our greatest commendation. Above all, we are glad that you have indeed treasured your stay with us, cherished the resort amenities.

We look forward to have you stay with us and will ensure to make it even more memorable.

Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Dona Sylvia from 23.3.14 to 6.4.14. This was our third holiday in Goa but our first time at this hotel.

I had emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before we went to request an upstairs room with a large balcony, which is exactly what we got (room 139). The large room had a kingsize bed, plenty of storage, air con, ceiling fan, electronic safe, hair dryer, flat screen tv and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was small but it had a nice walk in shower and towels were changed everyday and quite often made into towel art on the bed.

The only meal we had every day at the hotel was breakfast where we was well looked after by Nixon who would get my poached eggs on toast for me and Rahul who kept us topped up with tea and coffee.
We did not bother with lunch at the hotel, if we was not out on a trip we preferred to spend our days on Mobor beach (a 20 minute walk away) and so we would have lunch at "Bettys" our favourite shack.
We was not impressed with the food in the evening at either Seagulls or Haystack so we decided early on in our holiday to try some of the restaurants in Cavelossim and we are so glad we did. We ate out most nights and the food was always excellent and also very cheap and we did not have 1 upset tummy !!

The hotel is in a great location, walk through the well manicured gardens and you are straight onto the beach or go out of the front gates and across the road are the shops and restaurants.

Would we go back to the Dona Sylvia ?
Only if they started doing a B & B option as all Inclusive was a complete waste of money for us.

Room Tip: Bungalows have two rooms that share a terrace. Block of four have two up, two down, all have their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essexho1idaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your frank and helpful feedback through this review. It is definitely an eye opener for us and though we strive for excellence in our customer service, I am sorry we felt short of your expectations as far as our food is concerned.

We are looking at enhancing our guests' meal experience by upgrading the quality and variety of our buffets, especially the lunch and dinner. I am certain that on your next visit to Goa and Dona Sylvia, you will see marked improvements and a change for the better as far as our food is concerned. You can mail me on atool@donasylvia.com before arrival and leave the rest to us for your future bookings.

I am glad to know that you were happy with our other services and facilities.

Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here from 22nd March for 2 weeks - this was our first trip to Goa.

ROOMS - Although on here a lot of people state the rooms are quite dated we found ours to be quite good with a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens. However, there were a few issues with the room. The shower was a lovely big walk in type but it was hit or miss whether there was any hot water or pressure, toilet was variable on whether it flushed and we think this may be why there are jugs/bowls in the toilet - so you can throw more water down it. We also had an issue with the aircon dripping large amounts of water but this was dealt with quickly by staff.

FOOD - Hygiene leaves a lot to be desired. At breakfast we often fancied pastries but as they were all sitting out uncovered with flies on them our appetite for them waned! My husband is also qualified to teach food and hygiene and kept telling me what to eat and what not to eat. On the nights were food was in the Haystack area (twice a week) burners had often gone out after a short while and lids were left open - so the food was at a dangerous temperature for consumption, especially rice which is a high risk food. I like spicy food - but not chilly hot - and found the food at lunch and dinner was a bit too hot for me - there were very little other options and often the veg were deep fried or in hot sauces - we therefore ate out quite a bit where there was more choice. A special mention to Rahul who was attentive to our drinks supplies in the restaurant - when Rahul wasn't there we struggled to catch anyone's attention. There were a lot of staff about but say clearing tables and weren't particularly attentive to people's needs.

There are 2 a-la-cartes in the hotel - Kebabs and Curries and Mamma Mia. Kebabs and Curries did the most fantastic food but when we arrived there was only one other couple in there who left after a short while. No music is played and there is no ambience. Mamma Mia is poolside and another couple we met had problems one night they were there as Russians in the pool were splashing around. There ought to be a cut off time for the pool in the evenings - people were often in there quite late. However, the food was fabulous there too and I feel the hotel are missing a trick. One problem might be that it was difficult to get booked in either of them. The phone number they gave us kept ringing and ringing but if there was more of an atmosphere in what should be their flagship restaurant - Kebabs and Curries - this should be the highlight of your hotel stay - the food is certainly excellent.

ENTERTAINMENT - As others have stated, the entertainment in the hotel is just not what us in the UK after after - we would prefer something more Indian/authentic to the area as we have gone to Goa for the Indian experience..

As Gill has stated, it would be a fantastic idea to have beds in the gardens near the beach and we often thought it was a wasted area. There is good shade here thanks to the trees and as my husband and myself both like to sit in the shade a lot of the time we found the beach shack cover a bit inadequate as umbrellas only covered one bed really. Doing this would also enable people to make use of the all inclusive lunch they have already paid for.

We did the 3 day Tiger Tusks and Temples trip and loved this - including the long train journey each side but there was lots to view etc. and we didn't find it as hot as we thought on the trains as quite open and breezy. We did the Elephants and Spice Trail day trip which we found a bit of a waste of time - a lot of time spent travelling for not very much when we got there. We were on our way back to hotels soon after lunch.

We visited Jazz Inn a few times and loved listening to UB40 Graeme singing - he's fantastic and well worth a night out. We also visited Mike's Place one evening when they had live music where we even got up dancing!

As we spent most of our time on the beach and therefore paying beach shack owners for food/drinks at lunchtime (in exchange for using their sunbeds) and we ate out quite a few evenings and also did the 3 day trip out of the resort, in a way the all inclusive was wasted on us, we felt we had "double paid". We would visit Cavelossim again but would definitely go B&B only but that is just us. We know many people who stay in the hotel by the pool - everybody likes different things.

Grounds in the resort are lovely and are a good match for some of the Caribbean hotels we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 57 which had a fabulous balcony and was between the beach and main hotel/access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisyday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for your frank and helpful feedback through this review. Your feedback has proved to be invaluable for our assessment, and though we strive for excellence in our customer service, I am sorry we felt short of your expectations as far as our food is concerned. We have taken up the issues with the concerned team members and departments. We have also intensified our training and counseling.

We, as Team Dona Sylvia are actively working to fine tune service levels meted out to our guests as customer satisfaction is our greatest commendation.

We do hope to serve you better on your trip to Goa & Dona Sylvia in the near future.


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was a fantastic holiday,such a relaxing hotel.,The staff were wonderful especially Joseph from housekeeping who kept out room spotless.The food was all fresh,hot and plentiful with no upset tummies!!I couldnt find any fault with this hotel and will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Firstly, we thank you for generously reviewing us on TripAdvisor and for the compliments galore. We are indeed pleased to hear that your stay with us has been a wonderful experience.

We would be delighted at your return to Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,548 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
5.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,051 reviews
8.4 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Property: Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing