We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome property but terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had stayed in this property from 21st to 24th june 2014. An amazing property worth staying but terrible housekeeping and terrible restaurant service. Reception guyzz are very helpful but when it comes to housekeeping they take hours to deliver one dental kit, the same was the case again when i asked for the shaving kit,so just one word , terrible housekeeping. The same was the case at the restaurant durring buffet hours. You have to ask again and again for petty things like tandoori roti or iced water or hot tea which arrives after u have finished ur breakfast, lunch or dinner. And surprising if this is the kind of service we expect during off season what happens during peak season. So thumbs on to a gr8 property and thumbs down to a poor service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harsh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for your frank and helpful feedback through this review. It is definitely an eye opener for us and though we strive for excellence in our customer service, I am sorry we fell short of your expectations as far as our service is concerned. We have taken up the issue with the concerned team members and department. We have also intensified our training and counseling. Also, We do appreciate your good words about our property and the ambiance.

I am sure you will notice the positive changes on your future visits and stays at Dona Sylvia.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future thus giving us an opportunity to serve you better !


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

i had made the booking through a website and clearly mentioned in the notes coloumn stating that i wll be checking-in late and will be checking-out the next day late as well and got the confirmation.... now if this was not possible, i should not have got a confirmation for the booking and to make things worse i was charged 1.5 more, and when i had requested to use the room for a few more hours since my train was delayed, i was declined again even after paying excess amount and was asked to pay more to use the room for 3hours.. the food was nothing gr8 and the service staff were friendly(only positive thing)...
they make no arrangemets for late check-in's and getting to that resort is a pain as you will have to follow road signs of raddisson blu...
my holiday there in short was very poor and never will i make the mistake to go there or refer that place to anyone...

Room Tip: do not trust the booking confirmation alone, rather call up reservations and confirm with them verba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cotah1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Let me first apologize to you for the delay in responding to your review. Upon inquiry with the team, it is indeed surprising to note that your request for additional extension of 3-4 hours was in fact made 2 hours after departure from the hotel. I am sure any other hotel would charge an additional amount for check out being on the stipulated time.

As per your booking, you had requested for a late check In and a late check out the subsequent day (11:00 pm) and agreed to pay the late charges after a brief negotiation. The check out time the next day was in fact 01:30 am for which the resort did not charge you anything extra. But your request for usage of the room for additional hours (post departure) because of the delay in your train timing was not obliged to; This obviously cannot be adjusted in the previous days room rate. Given the circumstances, the decision taken by our Duty Manager was within the guidelines and an appropriate one.

I hope all ambiguities have been cleared.


Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

+ve side : This June we have visited Goa and stayed at Dona Sylvia. This resort has a great location and have created a very calm and natural setup inside the resort. This offers a complete basket having different components for the entire family. The staff is very supporting.Full marks to House keeping team.

-ve side: Very careful in selecting the package. Few packages has very limited services. Food is very average (Not well planned- like Naan with moong daal), Food (Not get the value for money). Lack of coordination between marketing and serviced delivery team. Marketing team is not very much customer oriented and have least concerned about their customer and not very sensitive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Dear,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for taking the time out to convey your feedback regarding your stay at the property. We do appreciate your good words about our location, ambiance, services and our courteous staff.

We are sorry that your experience fell short of your expectations in certain areas, like the buffet spread and the service team. My team and I have noted your feedback and will most certainly work to incorporate these aspects into the guest experience. You will be delighted to an altogether different experience on your future stays with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future thus giving us an opportunity to wow you and exceeding your expectations!


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited Dona Sylvia during our short trip to Goa and must be say it was lovely! Jimmy and his team are fabulous, make the guest feel so comfortable that one does not feel like leaving the place. I want to also thank the boys at the pool area who were extremely caring and took action where my son had the head injury. Would defintely recommend to all my friends and would visit next time....

Room Tip: It was our first time and it was a suite ...the room was lovely but had to walk a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We are delighted by your feedback of the resort and for lauding our affable, courteous team.
This is indeed a great compliment for our team. Furthermore, we’re glad that you were able to unwind, relax, enjoy and take back fond memories of the trip!

We immensely thank you once more for commending us and we do look forward to enchant you on your next sojourn.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family & my friends family had stayed here for 4 days from 12 th June to 16 th June , it's fantastic property and it's coconut farm & beach are wonderful we enjoyed lot and one more attraction is swimming pool it's a big one & deferent category also & resort staffs are very good & very clean property & I always suggest this hotel to my friends also

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kutty1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your generous feedback about our hotel, its services and for highly recommending us. Furthermore, we’re pleased to know that you were able to unwind, savor and soak up the Dona Sylvia experience.

Thank you once more, your commendation is our greatest compliment and we look forward to serve you at Dona Sylvia in the near future.

Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A friend and I, we checked in on 09/06/2014. We were looking forward to a few days of total relaxation. The fantastic hospitality, very beautiful room and I must mention the toiletries, very relaxing surroundings and the fabulous view of the sea!!! What more could we have asked for? Planning to go again next year...

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for choosing Dona Sylvia for your stay and for reviewing us. We’re glad that you were able to unwind, relax ,enjoy and take back fond memories of the trip!

Looking forward to delight you on your next holiday.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What can I say - have read the reviews and agree this is a wonderful place. Our flight was delayed but as first choice arranged for accommodation at the radisson made the most of the delay. Was disappointed that we would miss the first evening in resort but as we eventually arrived in resort at around 7am just spent the first day finding our way around. What a place, the food, the rooms and all the staff are the best. We found the food typically Indian with plenty of variety. Why complain about authentic food I wouldn't expect anything other than Indian on the menu. There were four in our party, with two of the party having birthdays. We organised a surprise meal for them and wasn't disappointed. Navin looked after us from start to finish. All members of staff were polite, attentive and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were spacious, well appointed with air conditioning and ceiling fans. The settings of the hotel were well maintained, gardens, paths and patios. I'm sure a first time visitor like us would not be disappointed with the accommodation and level of service. A special mention for Elias a member of the restaurant team, who looked after us at breakfast. The resort of Cavelossim is small but busy - don't expect to get from one end of the (mad mile) main street without visiting at least one shop! or meeting Del Boy and his brother Rodney! If booking all inclusive don't just eat in resort - try a few of the bars and restaurants in the town. One of our favourites is the Riverview - the chicken vindaloo is to die for. Not the usual English fire and spice dish but an authentic Indian dish (cooked in vinegar). We spent our afternoons on the beach and used the Beach Shade Shack (the second on the right on entering the beach) which was run by Rassario, a fantastic place to eat and drink. The male members of our party spent many a happy afternoon in there drinking kingfisher and watching the India/England cricket test matches. They look after your every need from food, drink and if your lucky a body massage from Abdul. Heaven! Don't miss the Wednesday evening beach party - we booked our meals in advance. Would recommend the Red Snapper. There are fruit sellers on the beach - we would recommend a fresh pineapple from Sunita at least once a day. We will be going back, met some lovely people vistors and locals - are saving up for the return journey aleady. One bonus - we were delayed on our return flight - no problem kept the room and board and also got our first(lost) day back, couldn't be better. read less

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you and do appreciate your valuable time to pen down such wonderful feedback in detail - from the ambiance, the property, food, gardens and amenities to our excellent service. Also, your praises for our service and courteous staff too are delighted with the feedback.

Thank you once more for commending us and we do look forward to enchant you on your next sojourn.

Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,636 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,350 reviews
23.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: £96 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cavelossim Beach and set in 20 acres of beautifully secluded landscaped gardens, NOVOTEL GOA DONA SYLVIA brings to mind a quaint Portuguese village reminiscent of a bygone era – an architectural style that earned international acclaim for its architect, CHARLES CORREA….a truly wonderful and luxurious location for holidays, small meetings to large conferences. This Luxurious 5 star Beach Resort is situated on the Southern Coast of Goa, about 45 kms from the Airport and 15 kms from the Margao Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing