We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Udupi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was second visit within a span of 8 months.That itself xplains our satisfaction about your hospitality.Reception team is fantastic.Food is exellant.An superb property,accomidation is up to the expectation but still scop for improvement!!!!!!

Room Tip: good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmahesh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your generous feedback about our hotel, its services and for highly recommending us.

We look forward to serve you at Dona Sylvia in the near future.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    569
    162
    41
    18
See reviews for
463
744
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Dona Sylvia is 25 year old property, just beside the beach.. Even the Radisson Blu also goes to the beach from Dona Slyvia.. Well Maintained, Food is good, Staff is helpful.. They have a big swimming pool and can enjoy the whole day... We stayed in a individual cottage which was very close to the beach... Apart from phone not working for 2 days for 1 room, small portions of ala carte, everything else was great!!. I would recommend the property but always have breakfast & dinner included in your package.. There are a lot of choices for veg food as well... Would recommend the property...Just check the other restarurants other than Sea Gull as they were introduced but were either using the same kitchen or were busy with other meetings, so could not serve..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamratRawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for choosing Dona Sylvia for your stay and for reviewing us. We’re glad that you were able to unwind, relax and take back fond memories of the trip! My apologies for the glitches experienced by you. My team and I have noted your feedback and will most certainly work on the same. Also your appreciation of our team would be surely conveyed to them.

Looking forward to delight you on your next holiday.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This resort has a very excellent locational advantage. We stayed in this resort from June 21st, 2014 till June 23rd, 2014. This is located right on the beach. The beach is very neatly maintained by the property. So, you will not find any broken bottles or any trash. You can walk around in the beach on bare foot which you can not avail in other so called popular beaches of Goa.

The reservation process is very good as well. They welcome process is also fantastic. The property have fantastic reservation specialist named Tanya.

Just look around for a great chef called "Afsar". He pulls out the items that i bet you do not find neither in their menu nor in any other hotel. We tried Mexican Dosa, Karela with kaju & kismis, multispice Naan etc. These dishes are really excellent. Just try it!!

They have great banquet manager named "Jacub". He takes care of you & your needs really in a great way. Thank you so much Jacub.

The property organizes every night some entertainment. If you happen to be in the live music day that too by Damu, then your evening will be really special. He has a great voice.

Swimming Pool: I have never seen in any great properties as well, the frequency by which they clean the pool. Great clean pool.

Kids entertainment Room: They have really good kids entertainment room with so many toys, AV systems in place as well.

Thank you so much Dona Sylvia for making our marriage anniversary a great memorable moment.

Room Tip: Select rooms nearer to the beach, so that you do not have to walk much of a distance. This property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you and do appreciate your valuable time to pen down such wonderful feedback in detail - from the ambiance, the property, food, swimming pool and amenities to our excellent service. Also, your praises for our service and courteous staff too are delighted with the feedback. We are glad to know that you have indeed cherished your stay and will be taking back fond memories of the trip!


Thank you once more for commending us and we do look forward to creating many such moments to treasure in the near future.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had stayed in this property from 21st to 24th june 2014. An amazing property worth staying but terrible housekeeping and terrible restaurant service. Reception guyzz are very helpful but when it comes to housekeeping they take hours to deliver one dental kit, the same was the case again when i asked for the shaving kit,so just one word , terrible housekeeping. The same was the case at the restaurant durring buffet hours. You have to ask again and again for petty things like tandoori roti or iced water or hot tea which arrives after u have finished ur breakfast, lunch or dinner. And surprising if this is the kind of service we expect during off season what happens during peak season. So thumbs on to a gr8 property and thumbs down to a poor service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for your frank and helpful feedback through this review. It is definitely an eye opener for us and though we strive for excellence in our customer service, I am sorry we fell short of your expectations as far as our service is concerned. We have taken up the issue with the concerned team members and department. We have also intensified our training and counseling. Also, We do appreciate your good words about our property and the ambiance.

I am sure you will notice the positive changes on your future visits and stays at Dona Sylvia.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future thus giving us an opportunity to serve you better !


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa Velha, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

i had made the booking through a website and clearly mentioned in the notes coloumn stating that i wll be checking-in late and will be checking-out the next day late as well and got the confirmation.... now if this was not possible, i should not have got a confirmation for the booking and to make things worse i was charged 1.5 more, and when i had requested to use the room for a few more hours since my train was delayed, i was declined again even after paying excess amount and was asked to pay more to use the room for 3hours.. the food was nothing gr8 and the service staff were friendly(only positive thing)...
they make no arrangemets for late check-in's and getting to that resort is a pain as you will have to follow road signs of raddisson blu...
my holiday there in short was very poor and never will i make the mistake to go there or refer that place to anyone...

Room Tip: do not trust the booking confirmation alone, rather call up reservations and confirm with them verba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cotah1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Let me first apologize to you for the delay in responding to your review. Upon inquiry with the team, it is indeed surprising to note that your request for additional extension of 3-4 hours was in fact made 2 hours after departure from the hotel. I am sure any other hotel would charge an additional amount for check out being on the stipulated time.

As per your booking, you had requested for a late check In and a late check out the subsequent day (11:00 pm) and agreed to pay the late charges after a brief negotiation. The check out time the next day was in fact 01:30 am for which the resort did not charge you anything extra. But your request for usage of the room for additional hours (post departure) because of the delay in your train timing was not obliged to; This obviously cannot be adjusted in the previous days room rate. Given the circumstances, the decision taken by our Duty Manager was within the guidelines and an appropriate one.

I hope all ambiguities have been cleared.


Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

+ve side : This June we have visited Goa and stayed at Dona Sylvia. This resort has a great location and have created a very calm and natural setup inside the resort. This offers a complete basket having different components for the entire family. The staff is very supporting.Full marks to House keeping team.

-ve side: Very careful in selecting the package. Few packages has very limited services. Food is very average (Not well planned- like Naan with moong daal), Food (Not get the value for money). Lack of coordination between marketing and serviced delivery team. Marketing team is not very much customer oriented and have least concerned about their customer and not very sensitive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Dear,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for taking the time out to convey your feedback regarding your stay at the property. We do appreciate your good words about our location, ambiance, services and our courteous staff.

We are sorry that your experience fell short of your expectations in certain areas, like the buffet spread and the service team. My team and I have noted your feedback and will most certainly work to incorporate these aspects into the guest experience. You will be delighted to an altogether different experience on your future stays with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future thus giving us an opportunity to wow you and exceeding your expectations!


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited Dona Sylvia during our short trip to Goa and must be say it was lovely! Jimmy and his team are fabulous, make the guest feel so comfortable that one does not feel like leaving the place. I want to also thank the boys at the pool area who were extremely caring and took action where my son had the head injury. Would defintely recommend to all my friends and would visit next time....

Room Tip: It was our first time and it was a suite ...the room was lovely but had to walk a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We are delighted by your feedback of the resort and for lauding our affable, courteous team.
This is indeed a great compliment for our team. Furthermore, we’re glad that you were able to unwind, relax, enjoy and take back fond memories of the trip!

We immensely thank you once more for commending us and we do look forward to enchant you on your next sojourn.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
1.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
9.4 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
23.4 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Property: Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing