We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My rating: 3.5/5 ("Good" but tripadvisor does't give that option so "very good" :P)
Planned a relaxing trip to Goa in June'14 and this time wanted to go to South Goa so selected Dona Sylvia.
Directly starting with Pros and cons:
Pros:
1. Excellent property.
2. Well maintained and Very nice pool.
3. Easy access to clean and beautiful Mobor beach.
4. Being vegetarian could find a bit of less options in the buffet. Need to mention specially "Afsar" the chef was really very helpful and concerned.
5. Also travel assistance from "Jimmy" too was helpful.
6. In general the whole staff is very courteous and helpful.
7. U can hire bike/car from right in front of the main gate.

Cons:
1. We had selected "Standard room" but were a bit disappointed at the size of the room and some of the amenities in the room. We have been to other hotels in Goa and found better rooms.
2. Booking experience was really bad as I had to call them on time to time to remind them about replying to my mails.
3. While checking out had to carry our luggage ourselves to main area as they had completely forgot about it. And the reception phone was not working.
4. Some renovation work was going on right behind our room so could hear the noise early in the morning.
5. Could also experience some power outage and AC was going off at least 4-5 times during stay.

Would still recommend it for family outings if the above mentioned cons are rectified. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somitk296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for taking the time out to convey your feedback regarding your stay at the property. We do appreciate your good words about our location, ambiance, pool, and our courteous staff.

We are sorry that your experience fell short of your expectations in certain areas, like the rooms, baggage service, delay in your booking confirmation; also, the disturbance caused by the ongoing maintenance work in the resort. My team and I have noted your feedback and will most certainly work towards these aspects and towards enhancing the guest experience. Moreover, our rooms are being renovated in a phased manner, based on the feedback of guests. You will be delighted to an altogether different experience on your future stays with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future thus giving us an opportunity to wow you and exceeding your expectations!


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is beautifully spread out and gives enough space for all the guests. The service is impeccable. Their Duty Manager and the staff very extremely courteous and ever helping. I would definately recommend this place as it is value for money and the old Portugese culture and modernism is mixed well by the hotel. Kudos !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiranYedery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We are truly thankful to you for reviewing us generously. We’re pleased to know that you were able to unwind and have made the best of your holidays in Goa. Also your appreciation of out team would be surely conveyed to them.

Thank you once more for highly recommending us. Looking forward to delight you on your next holiday.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a hotel where we run our conference in May every year for the past ten years or so. Great location , lovely ambience , close to the sea . Very helpful staff. Great service . People who believe in cultivating real relationship . We have never had any complaint all these years . That is some record to boast of . I am talking of hundred odd people for two weeks . The staff knows us by now .
Good pool and spa . I would recommend any day for a conference . It just has a different energy . There is soul of the place which connects .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Thank you for taking the time out to convey your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel and for highly recommending us. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us have treasured your holiday moments in Dona Sylvia.

Looking forward for your continued, valued patronage of Dona Sylvia.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was second visit within a span of 8 months.That itself xplains our satisfaction about your hospitality.Reception team is fantastic.Food is exellant.An superb property,accomidation is up to the expectation but still scop for improvement!!!!!!

Room Tip: good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmahesh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your generous feedback about our hotel, its services and for highly recommending us.

We look forward to serve you at Dona Sylvia in the near future.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Dona Sylvia is 25 year old property, just beside the beach.. Even the Radisson Blu also goes to the beach from Dona Slyvia.. Well Maintained, Food is good, Staff is helpful.. They have a big swimming pool and can enjoy the whole day... We stayed in a individual cottage which was very close to the beach... Apart from phone not working for 2 days for 1 room, small portions of ala carte, everything else was great!!. I would recommend the property but always have breakfast & dinner included in your package.. There are a lot of choices for veg food as well... Would recommend the property...Just check the other restarurants other than Sea Gull as they were introduced but were either using the same kitchen or were busy with other meetings, so could not serve..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamratRawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for choosing Dona Sylvia for your stay and for reviewing us. We’re glad that you were able to unwind, relax and take back fond memories of the trip! My apologies for the glitches experienced by you. My team and I have noted your feedback and will most certainly work on the same. Also your appreciation of our team would be surely conveyed to them.

Looking forward to delight you on your next holiday.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This resort has a very excellent locational advantage. We stayed in this resort from June 21st, 2014 till June 23rd, 2014. This is located right on the beach. The beach is very neatly maintained by the property. So, you will not find any broken bottles or any trash. You can walk around in the beach on bare foot which you can not avail in other so called popular beaches of Goa.

The reservation process is very good as well. They welcome process is also fantastic. The property have fantastic reservation specialist named Tanya.

Just look around for a great chef called "Afsar". He pulls out the items that i bet you do not find neither in their menu nor in any other hotel. We tried Mexican Dosa, Karela with kaju & kismis, multispice Naan etc. These dishes are really excellent. Just try it!!

They have great banquet manager named "Jacub". He takes care of you & your needs really in a great way. Thank you so much Jacub.

The property organizes every night some entertainment. If you happen to be in the live music day that too by Damu, then your evening will be really special. He has a great voice.

Swimming Pool: I have never seen in any great properties as well, the frequency by which they clean the pool. Great clean pool.

Kids entertainment Room: They have really good kids entertainment room with so many toys, AV systems in place as well.

Thank you so much Dona Sylvia for making our marriage anniversary a great memorable moment.

Room Tip: Select rooms nearer to the beach, so that you do not have to walk much of a distance. This property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you and do appreciate your valuable time to pen down such wonderful feedback in detail - from the ambiance, the property, food, swimming pool and amenities to our excellent service. Also, your praises for our service and courteous staff too are delighted with the feedback. We are glad to know that you have indeed cherished your stay and will be taking back fond memories of the trip!


Thank you once more for commending us and we do look forward to creating many such moments to treasure in the near future.


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had stayed in this property from 21st to 24th june 2014. An amazing property worth staying but terrible housekeeping and terrible restaurant service. Reception guyzz are very helpful but when it comes to housekeeping they take hours to deliver one dental kit, the same was the case again when i asked for the shaving kit,so just one word , terrible housekeeping. The same was the case at the restaurant durring buffet hours. You have to ask again and again for petty things like tandoori roti or iced water or hot tea which arrives after u have finished ur breakfast, lunch or dinner. And surprising if this is the kind of service we expect during off season what happens during peak season. So thumbs on to a gr8 property and thumbs down to a poor service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harsh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRDS, Manager at Dona Sylvia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dona Sylvia !!

We thank you for your frank and helpful feedback through this review. It is definitely an eye opener for us and though we strive for excellence in our customer service, I am sorry we fell short of your expectations as far as our service is concerned. We have taken up the issue with the concerned team members and department. We have also intensified our training and counseling. Also, We do appreciate your good words about our property and the ambiance.

I am sure you will notice the positive changes on your future visits and stays at Dona Sylvia.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future thus giving us an opportunity to serve you better !


Do like us on Facebook for updates on activities planned at Dona Sylvia !


Warm Regards,

Atool Mulgaonkar,
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,325 reviews
14.2 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
5 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: £94 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing