We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We love the DSM and have been 10 times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dona Sa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dona Sa Maria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We love the DSM and have been 10 times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We have been to the DSM for the last 11 years and still it is the best holiday home in South Goa, especially if you like a home from home.
Serafino and Puri will takecare of you and are always on hand to help you, they also do so much to help the local village and community and deserve praise for this. The local area is a dream for bird watchers, local wildlife and flora and forna.
The hotel is in such a beautiful surrounding and Serafino has done so much to ensure this, by planting lovely shrubs and flowers in and around the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, Patrick, who does the laundry is a GEM, and the bar and restaurant staff are helpful and so friendly, the housekeeping staff greet you each morning with a big smile and are so trustworthy and friendly.
The food is more than adequate and you never need to go hungry. If you want to get out and about see Joe Fernandez for his scooter hire. The restaurants in Cavelossim are many and varied, all good, especially Bettys Kitchen and The Rice Bowl, the restaurants in the lovely local village of Zalor, 10minuites walk frrom the hotel are authentic and welcoming and extremely cheap, especially Casmys.
If you hire a scooter from Joe go accross the River Sal and see the fishing villages and
small local markets, especially the one at Asolna.
Changing money can be a bit hit and miss, we always use Jai opposite the Hatti Mahal in Cavalossim and he gives a really good deal. Should you need a chemist when you are on your holiday DeMelos in Cavelossim is very good.
Calhoo has a small shop within the hotel grounds and he is very quiet and shy but is helpful and has some lovely clothes, gifts and jewels, he even is going to sell marmite in 2012.!!!! Sometimes the hotel has quiz nights that raises money for the local community and Nora and Jeff make this a really good night, especially if you are partial to Honey Bee Brandy!!!!. Once tried never forgotten!!
Give Goa a go but give the Dona Sa Maria a go because it is the most laid back happy place but no frills hope to see you February 22 to 14 March 2012, cant wait!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank donasamariababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    58
    18
    12
    14
See reviews for
30
124
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My self and my partner arrived here on New years eve. After frequenting Goa several times we knew not to expect The ritz and bearing in mind we paid £540 for 2 weeks this was an absolute bargain, the Half board was a bonus. Previous holidays to Goa have cost over £500 on flights alone and they wasn't direct either.
The dsm is a lovely place and the owner is a very proud man but he does go on a bit sometimes lol
The the breakfast agreeably is lite, but if you want a good old English fry up then Stay at home ( ;
The evening meal is good also and the allowance thing seemed to work for us anybody who moans about a few extra quid is just being tight.
The staff are friendly and helpful but over worked i feel that they could do with a full time Bar man who solely deals with drinks as the guys have to juggle it between themselves which you can sometimes wait ages for a drink or to get your bill.
The rooms are clean and the beds are very uncomfortable which is the usual in Goa
Our room was right next to the reception and we found it very noisy especially when people arrive and 1st thing in the morning so if you like a lie in then get a room well away from the reception ( ;
Now we are a young couple and we used the Dsm as a base while we did some exploring of the South! If your looking for a lively hotel then the Dsm isn't for you and maybe you should go North. We have done all that and liked the peace n quiet although we spent 5 nights in Palolem in a Beach shack which was a bit lively
Ive read a few reviews on here where people have questioned why people go back and during our stay we met some lovely people who have been going there for over 10 years
We certainly would go back and maybe this year
But if you want to pay peanuts and expect 5 star treatment with all the trimmings then i would go elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ANDREAMOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

It takes two or three days to figure the DSM out,and believe you me it really is hard.But once you have figured it out it is the most outstanding place ,to call it laid back does it no justice at all.The staff are outstanding,the food is out of this world.To all the people who knock this place,GOOD.Go to spain and leave us alone. P.S just booked for 11.3.2012 .Anyone who would like to join us is more than welcome,P.P.S you really cant beat this place.Best regards Mark,Ann ,Sue

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank markstrokeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

It was my first visit and Pete's 2nd, we knew what we were getting, basic clean, idyllic setting, nearby beach, we were looking for a cheap, quiet holiday and that is what we got. We went with Jewel in the Crown, bit of a mix up with buses at the airport, other than that no complaints, I think Thomas Cook might be slightly mis-selling this holiday. Breakfast is included but only toast, there are other options which you can order which are very reasonably priced, same with the evening meal, basic is included but lots of other options with a little extra money. This is NOT a 5 * hotel but a very cheap guest house, don't expect 5* luxury. We had a great room overlooking the pool. Rooms are spotless, bed very hard and uncomfortable, good shower, fan which was needed because it was very hot and humid. The beach is a lovely flat walk of about 1 1/2 miles, I loved looking out for the unusual birds, I spotted four kinds of Kingfishers - including a black/white pied one. Very quiet beach, brilliant food in the shack. We had the hotel taxi for a day trip out very reasonable, we also used the hotel taxi for trips into Cavelossim, especially to the River View Restaurant at lunch time, brilliant views of the river and great food. We had a lovely day out on a river trip with Fee, Tony and Dave, but warning - don't order the free Gin !!!
Met some great people - staff and guests, especially everyone who was left on our second week, which helped make our two weeks memorable.
Ronex - the Everything - hope you are not working too hard getting that garden ready!
Carol & Pete

Room Tip: Best rooms are overlooking the pool
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Canalletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Well, i am astounded that some people return year after year to this hotel. Yes ok, all our needs are different and you cannot please everyone, but, and this is a big but, one of the biggest enjoyments of a holiday for a lot of people has got to be the food. Now reading some comments from people saying that the food was good has got to be some kind of a joke, either that, or the chef was on holiday when we were there.Breakfast consists of two slices of toast every day with the same red jam, we all made a joke of it in the end, but really, you call that good. Food in the evening was not to bad if you chose the vegetarian meal, but wo- betide if you chose any kind of meat, sometimes it was quite un- recognisable as to what it actually was, and nigh impossible to chew it.
The location for us was a little too quiet, and with a cufew in the evening, and lights out by 10-30, we felt it was not a holiday we were on, but a sentence. İf you want to be in a very quiet and secluded place, in bed by 10, not bothered what the food is like, then this is the place for you, but if you want good food, a bit of life, and a holiday feel, then please go north to Candelim, you will not be disappointed, because overall, in the beach shacks and all the restaurants we visited, the food was fantastic and very cheap. Back to the Hotel now and just to say that the staff were very nice, and it was comical to see the owner lying on the floor watching tv half dressed in the foyer. İf the owner could just employ a good chef, then things would improve immensely.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank scorpio121152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed for two weeks at the DSM. A friendly down to earth guest house, all the staff were very friendly and always happy to help you. The rooms are basic but very clean, food good and the location is quiet and relaxing. Bars and restaurants nearby, nice walk to the beach, bike hire at Joe's is cheap and nearby. Overall we enyoyed our stay and would go back again.A memorable holiday. Lin and Keith.Wirral.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l-hook59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Dona is a haven of peace, tucked out of the way about 11/2 miles from the local town.Would`nt take children as they would be bored to tears in about 5 mins.Our first trip to India so i read up on it & got what I expected.It was Very hot & humid which made sleep difficult & could certainly do with air conditioning in the room.A large ceiling fan is ok but I would have paid extra for Air con.However when you see the poverty around you on leaving the hotel a fan is the height of decadence.
We thought the food was very good & any extras to the set menu were minimal to say the least. Large beer.£1, g & t £1.10p....all drinks were very reasonable .
Now the real essence of the Dona, the staff.........Ronex, Geoffrey, Joe and the incomparable Savio made this a holiday to remember. Friendly, welcoming & nothing, abnsolutely nothing, was to much trouble.We arrived as guests & left as very firm friends, we shall miss them all.Yes there are several things I would modernise & improve but would it destroy the charm & feel of the place...maybe.We met some wonderful people & my wife Fee, brother Dave & I would like to say a special hello to Pete & Carol, Tam & Sue the Fisherwoman! & Roy, the Dentists best friend! Some will go back..........I would for the hotel & staff but feel I may have seen what South Goa has to offer. All in all a wonderful holiday in the true sense of the word

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
2.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sa Maria

Property: Dona Sa Maria
Address: Tamborim, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dona Sa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dona Sa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sa Maria Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing