We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dona Sa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dona Sa Maria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the DSM from 4-3-12 untill 25-3-12 and had a fabulous 3 weeks at a very nice hotel/guest house. The surroundings are gorgeous with the hotel situated in a colourful comfortable garden with refreshing pool and bar area. The rooms are pretty basic as previously stated by others but you do feel at home very early on. The staff are attentive and pleasant with special thanks to Savio and Anita, Geoffry and Sidhu and also to the proud owners Serafino and Puri. There is a lovely restaurant attached to the Hotel where you are given 250 Rupes towards your evening meal but pay the extra for anything over that.
It is a 40 minute walk to Cavalossim "central" and 20 to the beach but we hired a scooter and were able to venture as far as Agonda and palolem (prefer Agonda) although was kept awake by the delinquent fruit bats hanging from the trees . I think a scooter is a must to avoid taxi fares and we paid 200 Rupes a day and the roads are pretty quiet.. Favourite shack was sea pearls,about 200 yards passed the Ramada where the food was excellent and inexpensive. We went to Mikes shack for a beach party on the wednesday and had a fantastic time and had the best curry ever, then we were driven home in a jeep along the beach which cooled everyone down.
Lunch at Joes Cove is a must which is on the ferry road next to the Sal.
Special thaks to the Crowd around the pool at the DSM who were all a good craic and plenty of laughs were had thanks to Steve who i think is still on his moped as sure i spotted him as we refuelled in Bahrain !!!!!. Can well reccomend this hotel and will be back some time in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lancsboyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    62
    18
    12
    14
See reviews for
32
129
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very hard bed. 3 kilometeres from the nearest nightlife/daylife. No Telly if you fancy an early night.

Got told to keep quite after having a sing song to the hotels music?? Cliquey. (look at the reviews)

200 rupees by private taxi to village but hotel vehicle charges 400. Be aware of this.

Apart from this a very peacful place with nothing around anywhere.

11PM its nite nite.

Room Tip: You need a telly if your out all day. Nighmare if you get to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank howdystranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

what a great hotel.all staff and even the owners could not have done enough to make our stay any better.great food rooms very basic but cleaned every day to a very high standard.our only complaint was it is a fair way to any sort of night life.dont get me wrong we are not clubbers but some entertainment would have been nice.do as we did and hire a scooter for between £20 and £25 per week.a great trip to book in cavolossium is with chrisis cruises.to book go to mikes resturant.£8 for a 5hr boat trip to see dolphins + trip up river great food included + all you want to drink.soft or booze.if you are looking for a very relaxed holiday look no further.12/10 A++

Room Tip: room 209 or 210 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank darrengturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

this was our second visit to dona sa maria and it wont be our last.When we visited last year we loved it,we didnt know why but we did.This year i think we sort of worked it out,its a combination of many things. 1, the staff,they are so attentive,so genuinely nice and very skilled in the little things that make a holiday to remember,2, the owners,serafino and puri,they are always there, maybe in the background, but always there,3 ,the location,it really would be hard to find a better one, on the walk to the beach you will encounter pigs,cows,dogs, chickens and cats,and not a one will bother you,they just do their thing, and just walk around you.4, the guests,dona sa maria has a massive reputation for repeat visitors,and we now count ourselves amongst them 5,the food,outstanding, we didnt have one bad meal ,but whilst we were there one couple constantly complained about the food,saying it isnt like the indian back home, well you aint back home deal with it, or go to margate and have a good old chicken tikka massala and CHIPS.6,.And most importantly the goan people themselves, we all agreed that these people are most probably the nicest people on this planet, now we know this is a big statement, but you have to say it as you see it.Ok now the ad for the dona sa maria is over.The area around dona sa maria is quite rural and all the people who live and work in the area are pleasant,well mannered and never bother you ,all you get is a,hello,good morning,how are you,thats it really.The walk to the beach is great, about 25 minutes walk.but if you dont fancy it,get a cab from dona sa maria for 100 rupees(just over a quid).The best shack on the beach that we found was the seagull inn,to find it you simply go to the beach turn right,walk up the sand and there it is!Please mention mark /ann and sue when you meet the coolist man in india,Glorio, so chilled,so laid back plus, he also serves great food .One of the highlights of both visits to dona sa maria is Anitas bar, oh! what can i say about Anita and Donald.Thats it fan-bloody-tastic,they are what goa is all about.You could not find nicer people anywhere in the world.They have two stunning daughters that we only saw twice,and on our last day we popped into a chemist and there they were ,both working,they ran up to us and gave us a great big hug,it really brought a tear to my eye,so much so i had to walk out of the shop.These people have nothing,but still give everything freely.The trips out are well worth it,all i can tell you are the ones we visited,which were elephant safari (jungle book) and the castaway,made the mistake of booking one day on the castaway(should have booked two).Anyway to sum it all up go,give it a try,who knows maybe you will give the dona sa maria a better review than us,i doubt it,because we simply love it!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 203 205 second floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank markstrokeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our third stay at Puri and Serafinos guest house we were lucky enough to have a three week holiday over xmas/newyear our stay was very relaxing the hotel its self is very clean the rooms are basic but contain all you need for your stay.the staff are excellent and nothing is to much trouble to them very friendly.a special thanks to Savio and his lovely wife Anita who helped us so much we will definately will be returnig hopefuyl at the end of this year .thinking of our dear friends love victoria and lance x

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dean021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Another great holiday at Dona sa maria.Just returned from a month stay,thanks to all staff and Puri also Serafino for the warm welcome back hugs.This hotel is our little heaven on earth,we feel like part of the family. Savio,Anita,Stephanie,Geoffry,Rodrigrues,Anhil(driver),Puri and Serafino have become very special friends to us.Cant wait to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lindamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
496 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We've just returned from a 2 week stay in India starting with 8 days in North India driving from Delhi to Agra (a 7 hour drive as we got caught in traffic jams all the way), then Allahabad (definitely not the best place in india to get a decent hotel : we drove round most of the hotels there and eventually spent the night in a noisy, far from clean and rather expensive hotel). We went on to Varanasi with our driver and we spent 4 days there. Then, we flew back to Delhi and then to Goa where we stayed 5 nights at Dona Sa Maria. It was our 5th or 6th time there and once again, we enjoyed it all the way. The rooms are basic but spotless. The swimming pool is very pleasant and makes your stay at DSM relaxed and comfortable. The beach is approximatively 1 km down the road but the walking to get there is very nice. The hotel restaurant is good but there are cheaper places on the road to the beach in the village before the crossroads. the staff are all friendly. Margao is the nearest town and can easily be reached by bus you can board in the village or on the main road .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gilles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
2.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
881 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Salcette District
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sa Maria

Property: Dona Sa Maria
Address: Tamborim, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dona Sa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Sa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sa Maria Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing