We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
120
66
21
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
66
21
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstandoori nightsother guestsrooms are basica family run hotelgreat holidayrural locationyear after yearlocal townquiet areamin walkjust returned from a weekchristmas and new yearpuridsmscootertaxijoe
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the DSM from 4-3-12 untill 25-3-12 and had a fabulous 3 weeks at a very nice hotel/guest house. The surroundings are gorgeous with the hotel situated in a colourful comfortable garden with refreshing pool and bar area. The rooms are pretty basic as previously stated by others but you do feel at home very early on. The staff are attentive and pleasant with special thanks to Savio and Anita, Geoffry and Sidhu and also to the proud owners Serafino and Puri. There is a lovely restaurant attached to the Hotel where you are given 250 Rupes towards your evening meal but pay the extra for anything over that.
It is a 40 minute walk to Cavalossim "central" and 20 to the beach but we hired a scooter and were able to venture as far as Agonda and palolem (prefer Agonda) although was kept awake by the delinquent fruit bats hanging from the trees . I think a scooter is a must to avoid taxi fares and we paid 200 Rupes a day and the roads are pretty quiet.. Favourite shack was sea pearls,about 200 yards passed the Ramada where the food was excellent and inexpensive. We went to Mikes shack for a beach party on the wednesday and had a fantastic time and had the best curry ever, then we were driven home in a jeep along the beach which cooled everyone down.
Lunch at Joes Cove is a must which is on the ferry road next to the Sal.
Special thaks to the Crowd around the pool at the DSM who were all a good craic and plenty of laughs were had thanks to Steve who i think is still on his moped as sure i spotted him as we refuelled in Bahrain !!!!!. Can well reccomend this hotel and will be back some time in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lancsboyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very hard bed. 3 kilometeres from the nearest nightlife/daylife. No Telly if you fancy an early night.

Got told to keep quite after having a sing song to the hotels music?? Cliquey. (look at the reviews)

200 rupees by private taxi to village but hotel vehicle charges 400. Be aware of this.

Apart from this a very peacful place with nothing around anywhere.

11PM its nite nite.

Room Tip: You need a telly if your out all day. Nighmare if you get to bed early.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank howdystranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

what a great hotel.all staff and even the owners could not have done enough to make our stay any better.great food rooms very basic but cleaned every day to a very high standard.our only complaint was it is a fair way to any sort of night life.dont get me wrong we are not clubbers but some entertainment would have been nice.do as we did and hire a scooter for between £20 and £25 per week.a great trip to book in cavolossium is with chrisis cruises.to book go to mikes resturant.£8 for a 5hr boat trip to see dolphins + trip up river great food included + all you want to drink.soft or booze.if you are looking for a very relaxed holiday look no further.12/10 A++

Room Tip: room 209 or 210 are great
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank darrengturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

this was our second visit to dona sa maria and it wont be our last.When we visited last year we loved it,we didnt know why but we did.This year i think we sort of worked it out,its a combination of many things. 1, the staff,they are so attentive,so genuinely nice and very skilled in the little things that make a holiday to remember,2, the owners,serafino and puri,they are always there, maybe in the background, but always there,3 ,the location,it really would be hard to find a better one, on the walk to the beach you will encounter pigs,cows,dogs, chickens and cats,and not a one will bother you,they just do their thing, and just walk around you.4, the guests,dona sa maria has a massive reputation for repeat visitors,and we now count ourselves amongst them 5,the food,outstanding, we didnt have one bad meal ,but whilst we were there one couple constantly complained about the food,saying it isnt like the indian back home, well you aint back home deal with it, or go to margate and have a good old chicken tikka massala and CHIPS.6,.And most importantly the goan people themselves, we all agreed that these people are most probably the nicest people on this planet, now we know this is a big statement, but you have to say it as you see it.Ok now the ad for the dona sa maria is over.The area around dona sa maria is quite rural and all the people who live and work in the area are pleasant,well mannered and never bother you ,all you get is a,hello,good morning,how are you,thats it really.The walk to the beach is great, about 25 minutes walk.but if you dont fancy it,get a cab from dona sa maria for 100 rupees(just over a quid).The best shack on the beach that we found was the seagull inn,to find it you simply go to the beach turn right,walk up the sand and there it is!Please mention mark /ann and sue when you meet the coolist man in india,Glorio, so chilled,so laid back plus, he also serves great food .One of the highlights of both visits to dona sa maria is Anitas bar, oh! what can i say about Anita and Donald.Thats it fan-bloody-tastic,they are what goa is all about.You could not find nicer people anywhere in the world.They have two stunning daughters that we only saw twice,and on our last day we popped into a chemist and there they were ,both working,they ran up to us and gave us a great big hug,it really brought a tear to my eye,so much so i had to walk out of the shop.These people have nothing,but still give everything freely.The trips out are well worth it,all i can tell you are the ones we visited,which were elephant safari (jungle book) and the castaway,made the mistake of booking one day on the castaway(should have booked two).Anyway to sum it all up go,give it a try,who knows maybe you will give the dona sa maria a better review than us,i doubt it,because we simply love it!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 203 205 second floor best
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank markstrokeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our third stay at Puri and Serafinos guest house we were lucky enough to have a three week holiday over xmas/newyear our stay was very relaxing the hotel its self is very clean the rooms are basic but contain all you need for your stay.the staff are excellent and nothing is to much trouble to them very friendly.a special thanks to Savio and his lovely wife Anita who helped us so much we will definately will be returnig hopefuyl at the end of this year .thinking of our dear friends love victoria and lance x

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dean021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews