We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dona Sa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dona Sa Maria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“3rd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This time we stayed for 8weeks.First we would like to thank Serafino and Puri for taking good care of us and making our stay brilliant.We arrived 05.00 and our room was ready even though check-in time is 12.00 mid-day which we were very thankful.All the staff are wonderful thet really take care of you and always ready with a smile.Anita on reception is very efficient and helpful,she goes out of her way to make sure you are all happy,her husband Savio is a waiter he is a star the nicest man we know, everyone loves Savio,they have a daughter Steffie who is cute. Rodrigous is the night gaurd (armed and dangerous with a torch) we all love him to.We had a great holiday and made so many new friends and met old friends to.We had some good nights with plenty of laughter.The rooms are a little basic but very clean the room boys do an expert job and work very hard to keep the rooms spotless.We always use the laundry service and patric does a very good job also and a low cost.There was a rumour that the hotel was being sold but this was not true Serafino gave his word he will never sell.Serafino and Puri are the owners and they make everyone feel part of one big happy family. Puri is the kindest lady we know, she helps so many people, she adores children and the nieghbours children somtimes come to play in the hotel garden, its a privelage to watch them having fun.The local beach is a pleasant walk or you can hire a bike and get fit at the same time. Cavellosim is a short taxi ride away.Looking forward to our next visit only been home 3 days cant wait to go back.linda and bob

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    61
    18
    12
    14
See reviews for
32
128
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

basic but very friendly hotel, staff and guests make you feel very welcome .many guests return year after year and some visit for long periods at a time .food is lovely especially the tandoori nights .The local beach is a gentle 1/2 hr stroll away and is beautiful clean and spacious , not crowded at all. you must call into anita's bar en route to and from the beach for a cool kingfisher or two .we had jumbo prawns and sizzling beef on two occasions and they were awesome .you need to order the day before and donald goes to market to pick up the supplies and cooks you a wonderfull meal ,his garlic sauce is to die for . anita and donald and their girls are so friendly and welcoming ,you can even help feed his pigs !!!!. on a final note serephina and his staff at the dona sa maria were really good when my husband became ill and called a doctor immediately and ensured that I had all the help required .

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank gillbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We are regulars & stayed for 4 weeks.had a great time.met old friends and new ones.everyone is made to feel welcome here.a 20 minute walk to the beach or hire a cycle or motor scooter.nothing changes much here which is great.why change anything when its the ideal family run 1star small hotel.anything that doesnt suit you is soon put right.so as usual no complaints.only praise for owners and staff.( no he isnt selling up)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bossMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Me and my partner visited the dona sa maria 31st of jan until the 14th feb the hotel is very friendly staff are very nice , rooms are basic but thats goa ha ha , the food was very good , I have been to goa 3 times now but my first time to dona sa maria the other guests make you feel very welcome and at night they all sit around the bar area for a chat and a drink I realy enjoyed it and met some realy nice people , the walk to the beach is about 20 mins down the lane and is wonderful we spent a lot of time in the seagul shack where the owner gloria is lovely and ive used his shack everytime I go if you visit colva which is about a 20 minute taxi ride visit a restaurant called jamies its excellent , overall a lovely hotel and good value for money and realy nice friendly hotel .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkiManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was our 7th time met some lovely people and caught up with some of the regulars. Enjoyed the quiz nights Jeff and Nora organise and money raised goes to help locals or staff. Had fab night out at the jazz bar with Mo John Ian Lyn Bob & Lyn lots of dancing and good music food average. Bettys kitchen still my favourite food fab and service the steaks are excellent - fillet and for less than £5. Hired a taxi from Joe again very good value £2.50 a day just be careful as not insured for accidents we travelled alll over and felt safe. Taxi from airport 800 rupees per car approx £10 very good for distance. Went on train to old goa not much to do but worth the train journey 12 rupees need to get taxi back approx 1000 rupees.
Now for the down side there appears to be alot more rubbish as everyone dumps their rubbish along the road side, there are alot more dogs but they generally just ignore you. I did feel this year that we were not treated very well by the owner Serafino as when we arrived six of us 4 were shown to their room at 4am but we were given a sheet and sun lounger as the room wasnt ready we didnt check in until 10am tired and bitten by mosquito's we nearly went else where and someone took our room key by mistake once again the owner was not bothered as repeat guests we did expect a little bit more than a shrug of the shoulders it turned out that keys to another room opened our door!! Will we return? probably not to the dona sa maria time for a change - oh and rumours that Serafino is selling up are untrue as confirmed by the man himself.
Flight with Qatar - not very good dont know who gave them the title of 5 star airline 2 at a push entertainment was not working in our row on journey out food below average never came round with drinks boarded early because of pending snow only to sit on plane for over an hour on run way without drink or anything. Return journey sat on plane for nearly hour before take off entertainment worked on return but food average and yet again no drinks. When they come round with drinks with food I asked for tomato juice told there wasn't any?? only to see when waiting for the toilet that they indeed had 5 cartons

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms out the back be careful they have not over booked as you can find your moved to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brooksbjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

why do people allways complain abaut the dona sa maria some people are just full time moaners you should do your homework before booking. If its not about the half board allowance its about the breakfast my god what do people want if you want better go to the leela and you will see about value. Yes it is out on its own as it says in the brocure just read it before you book you can get a taxi into cavellosim for £2-00. I know some of the people complain when they get home instead of just going to the management and telling them about their gripes. I love the location of the hotel as do many more peace and quite its lovelyand about the regulars thats true i've been a few times and i dont mix with them you do what you want to do. And lastly its about the people that leave the hotel saying i have no more money to pay the bill well make sure you have money left or dont order meals and drinks. And if you want to complain about the insects-bugs- ants-frogs i suggest you go th skegness for future winter holidays.

Jonnie 1 Leg


jonnie 1 leg

Room Tip: just ask the management
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Loved the place. Met many lovely interesting people. would certainly go back.

lots of long term people here. many of them elderly. would agree with rg82's comments to some degree.

good pool and pleasant bar area.

rooms typically indian. well maintained and spotless.

main attraction is waiter savio, lovely man, but all staff pleasant and helpful.

half board idea works well food is typical basic indian. we ate there most nights as we were so busy in the day. Walking cycling and swimming.

Good for birders i feel, because of the nearby lakes. Saw kingfishers, bee eaters, herons, eagles and many more.

be warned. don't mention anjuna market. i love it but many regulars frown upon it as "too touristy". We are all tourists though aren't we.

another word of warning, the owner appears to be selling up and so there may well be changes at some point.

Room Tip: we had room at the rear looking out onto pleasant garden area and fields beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
2.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.6 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
5.7 mi away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#3 of 5 in Margao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sa Maria

Property: Dona Sa Maria
Address: Tamborim, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dona Sa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dona Sa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sa Maria Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing