We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dona Sa Maria: Mother Nature’s favourite hotel.”
Review of Dona Sa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dona Sa Maria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

No TV. Check.

No network. Check.

No waste. No plastic. Check. Check. Check.

Gentlemen, put away those smart phones. Switch off the idiot box. And detox yourself with some chilled beer at Dona Sa Maria.

This many roomed cottage is beautifully maintained by Mr. Serafino and his manager. Large and portly, Mr. Serafino is up for a joke every now and then. Not to mention the fact that he has a POV on everything. From the decline of football in Goa to the demand for Face cream in Kerala.

Enough about the owner. And on to something that concern you: the rooms. Sprawled around the property are a mix of AC and non AC rooms. They are nice, well-appointed and have a touch of traditional Goan cottage living. (Which is a far cry from antiseptic hotel rooms.)

Some overlook the pool (which is clean) and others overlook the lazily-swaying palm trees.

The best part? Each and every part of the waste products are recycled. I Personally took pictures.

The food is good but not fantastic. But, a warm friendly staff more than make up for the lack of culinary skills. But I suggest you hop across to the beach which is a five minute cycle ride away. And the beach is mercifully empty of tourists.


Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Anindya_Banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

This was our 8th visit to Goa and several years ago we found the Dona Sa Maria and since we have always chosen to return to the hotel. All our previous visits were taken at Easter (I was a teacher now retired) so it was interesting to take this holiday in January. We arrived a couple of days early and although they were full Serafino and Purie found us a room. The hotel was full of English couples who like us return year after year. We have stayed at the Holiday Inn, Dona Sylvia and other hotels and even though the rooms are basic we love the family, friendly atmosphere of the hotel. It is a short walk to the beach and about 3 miles to Cavelossim and most days we enjoyed making the walk along the beach. The service and food at the hotel is excellent and was the perfect end to a month in India in which we visited Mumbai, Kerala and Goa.

Room Tip: Always like room on the first floor and facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

4th time at Dona Sa Maria - fabulous holiday as always. All staff friendly and welcoming its like coming home every time we stay. Serafino and Purie are NOT selling the business and people who make comments like that have really upset them. Savio and Anita are always helpful and friendly. Already provisionally booked for next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NickiIainH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have been visiting India for the last 18 years and first stayed at this hotel 16 years ago. This year we returned with our grand-daughter for a months holiday knowing that this south Indian hotel would be ideal for the young child (20 months old) and can confirm that our expectations were exceeded by the hospitality of Serafino and Puri and all the staff from the room cleaners to bartenders who could not do enough for us. The hotel has not really changed much in these years (a good thing) and it is really ideal for a relaxing holiday. Our grand-daughter was the third generation of our family to stay here and we could really reccomend it to families with young children owing to the fact that the hotel is kept spotlessly clean by all.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children ask for one of the lower rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jenny3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed two nights here and enjoyed having a large pool in which to swim as the sea is not great for swimming. Put off initially by numerous signs about not doing things, and extra charges, but these seemed to be irrelevant in practice. The hotel is used by package companies, which might explain the signs, but most of the very friendly fellow guests we spoke to were English independent travellers, either over 50 or with young children. A very good location, clean and pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OBOCheltenhamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just got back from yet another lovely stay at the hotel. Still as good as ever and had a lovely welcome back from all the staff. The rooms are still basic but cleaned daily with clean towels and sheets, although the bed did seem more comfortable this year, maybe were just gettting used to the beds . Met some new friends as well as the regulars, all of whom had a fab time. There has been a new road surfaced outside, so the walk or ride to the beach is a much smoother journey and still a breathtaking moment no matter how many times you walk it. Thank you to Savio and Anita for all your help during our stay.. Big thanks to Purie for helping us see our first picture of our granddaughter, Amelie. We stayed for 3 weeks and it was lovely that Serafino and his staff were all lined up to say goodbye to us when we were going, it made us feel very special and its just one of the reason's why you have to go back. Yes we will book for next year Carl and Janet

Room Tip: not telling, the secrets of the best rooms will die with me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MidlandsBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

As in the title this hotel is very basic, with this in mind we found it one of the most friendly places we have visited. Tamborim is very small I found it to quiet for myself my wife loved it.as stated by others the rooms are cleaned daily sheets towels changed etc.Bar and eating area was great Thank you SAVIO for making us feel welcome at all hours of the day and knight. Would recommend the river trip the best £10 i have ever spent.All in all OK but will not be going back to quiet for me Tony & caroline

Room Tip: 1st floor go for air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twotogreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
5.9 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#9 of 39 in Salcette
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
5.6 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
2.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sa Maria

Address: Tamborim, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: £9 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dona Sa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dona Sa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sa Maria Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing