We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The truth about Dona Sa Maria”
Review of Dona Sa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dona Sa Maria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The truth about Dona Sa Maria”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Firstly, In answer to negative reviews, did not the people complaining on trip advisor have the opportunity to discuss and resolve problems with owners Puri and Serafino whilst there.Why wait until returning home and giving no chance for owners to put matters right at the time.The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean,pool is clean and very well looked after. Staff are very hard working,attentive,very loyal to the owners to ensure holiday goes well,(please note they are not the moaners personal butlers treat them with respect).This was our 4th visit,got home Friday rebooked our flights on Saturday to return for 3 months. Serafino and puri do so much good work to help the less fortunate,without wanting praise or recognition for doing so.This year Nora and jeff did quizzes and raised money for a good cause.We had a fantastic time at this guest house and we feel very priviledged to be able to stay here. Serafino and Puri and all the staff have become very close to our hearts and wish we had BIG HEARTS like them.We do feel very hurt and offended by narrow minded people who tend to compare Goa with European Countries.We would like to thank Serafino and Puri for a great holiday,part of our hearts are left behind in Dona Sa Maria. Thanks to Anita,Savio,Maheesh,antony,and all backroom staff for looking after us. We went as guests and left as friends for ever.Looking forward to seeing you all in November.Linda and Bob xx

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    62
    18
    12
    14
See reviews for
32
129
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Dont believe the good reviews. If this had been our first time in goa it would have been our last.
Hotel uncomfortable and filthy.most of the staff Staff rude and unhelpful.travel providers need to revisit this hotel and see the truth.
This holiday cost nearly ��2000 for two of us .we chose it after reading all the great reviews. We moved out and paid for a week in a hotel in colva. The Skylark. Fantastic hotel. Pleasant staff. Clean rooms. Beautiful rooms.
Will i read trip advisor again before booking a holiday.
I will be very careful particularly when they all read the same as if they have been written by the same person

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank mumat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have returned from our 13th visit to the Dona Sa Maria and have enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and already planning our 14th visit. This year we stayed over Christmas and new year with our daughter son in law and two grandsons. I was a little apprehensive as a family because when holidaying together we usually go to Spain or Portugal but I wanted them to see something and somewhere different. To say they enjoyed it was an understatement!!!! They are already planning their next visit! Puri and Serafino made them all welcome and took time to have conversations with them which the boys loved and in their own words said "that wouldn't happen in Spain" They both enjoyed the wildlife around the hotel especially the birds. Everyone thought the position of the hotel was idyllic being quiet but not far from the village of Zalor and the larger (but not too large) resort of Cavelossim. The bar staff Savio and Anthony as usual were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The housekeepers kept the rooms clean and comfortable and when returning from a day out it was lovely to get back to a nicely smelling clean room. Well done lads!!!! Patrick oh Patrick who does the laundry, everyone should have a Patrick his laundry when returned to you is beautifully clean bright and pressed. Anita in reception is always on hand and with a lovely ready smile and a wicked sense of humour!!
The hotel is a haven of peace and quiet if you want to be somewhere were bars are open almost all night then go to the north of Goa where there are plenty but I doubt you will find hosts like Puri and Serafino they are passionate about Goa and their hotel and I take offense at people that make comments about them and or their hotel ONCE they have got home and write negative things on trip advisor. Both Puri and Serafino will go out of their way to try and make you welcome and comfortable but please if you have a complaint complain before you go home and not after when they cannot do anything about it.!! The staff are a team and I had the pleasure of working in the kitchen along side Evens the chef and one sunday betwixt and between us we prepared a sunday lunch all the kitchen staff were so helpful even the lady who prepared all the vegetables and the lads that cleared up after us. Yes the hotel is basic , yes it is clean, yes it has a character all of its own and yes it is an excellent base to travel round and YES the staff make it and yes I am going back again for a 14th time 15th time 16th time and so on god willing!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donasamariafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay at the dona sa Maria as seems a lot more do but you can't please everyone. A lot of the sad moaning brigade just can't help theirselves they probably fall out with their neighbours at home. It's true the hotel has it's faults like every hotel people just like complain for a living. The management purie and serafino will go out of their way to try please their guest. We was their in January and they had a tragic case to deal with and they handled it in a very professional way and people moan about the beds been hard. And the people that criticise other guest as beer bellied and have tattoos how dare they get personnel about other people. I remember the people that made the statement on their own no intention of mixing but that was their choice. And also people that complain about the cliques they are just people that get on with other guest and meet up year after year nothing wrong with that. I will be returning later this year and meeting up with the nice guest that likes a good time but they will also be the moaners that don't want to mix which is their choice.
Jonnie 1 leg

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank jongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Dona Sa Maria during peak season Christmas/New Year 2013/14, chosen mainly as a base to explore that area of India, to avoid Calungute, and because of some surprisingly good reviews. Compared with what we thought we might get we were pleasantly surprised. LOTS of return visitors, almost exclusively retired couples from 'up north', friendly and very helpful staff, nice pool (certainly clean when we were there), OK restaurant, quiet location pretty much surrounded by coconut plantations and fields. We were lucky enough to be placed in a small villa a little up the road with very clean and spacious rooms, so I cannot comment on what is offered in the main block.
Possible downside is the lack of many walkable eateries and a local shop, although the taxi's are cheap and 10 minutes gets into town where these problems fade away. As many have said, it is cheap, clean and best viewed as a base to explore, but not a problem if you need to bed down for a few nights between journeys out. If you want more you will pay more, the choice is all yours. It suited us perfectly well.
Do try to get to Hampi, Gokarna and Agonda beach....worth any effort and really memorable experiences! And maybe try the river trip on the Sal organized by Betty's Place, unbelievable value at less than £9.00 for the day including a brilliant seafood lunch and all you can drink.

Room Tip: The annex up the road run by Paulo and family might be the pick of the bunch?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheZororoRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Visited Dona Sa Maria for two weeks in January 2014. We stayed in an annexe down the road which was spacious, clean and quiet. We enjoyed the wide variety of evening meals on offer which were excellent value. We found the basic breakfast adequate for us although there was a selection of additional items available at very reasonable prices. The pool was cleaned daily and was pleasant for swimming. This is a family run hotel by Purie and Serafino and everyone is made to feel very welcome. Our grateful thanks to all the team especially Savio, Anita, Anthony and Mahesh who saw to our every need. This part of South Goa is still unspoilt and DSM is in a good quiet village. It is a good base for exploring the many wonderful beaches and other attractions. We were made welcome by the regular guests and thoroughly enjoyed their company during quiz evenings and a trip to Agonda Beach. Serafino organised a special buffet meal accompanied by an excellent singer that we all enjoyed. Should you have any aches or pains, or insect bites, do not worry, Francis the on-site physio, is at hand to deal with these very effectively.
We feel we have seen part of the real Goa and are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Having read all of the latest reviews I have to agree with Nicky B
'In many years of travelling, this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a hotel review. During previous trips around the world I have stayed at various types of accommodation from back packers upwards, so I am well aware of the general standard of hotels.'
We spent our first week travelling around Kerala then ended the trip with 6 days at Dona Sa Maria. I really did wonder where the hell I'd ended up. We like others were shown to the outhouse across the road, we didn't even unpack. The room was minimal and dirty. The next morning it was an all cloak and dagger move to a house down the road and we were told not to tell other guests we had been moved. This new room however was lovely so we just got on with our holiday. We spent as little time at the Dona Sa Maria as we possibly could, the atmosphere there was awful with lots of unhappy guests or 'I've been coming here for 13 years' brigade. The staff were painful and quite unhelpful. The breakfast is a joke and took forever, how can 2 slices of 'air' bread take 30mins to toast???
We spent time travelling round and experiencing different places, this seems to be what a lot of people do as its cheap enough to use Dona sa Maria as a base.
The only time the owner, Serifino managed to speak to us was on our departure night and all he wanted was for us to put a positive review on trip advisor - Well Serifino your cheek infuriated me to write a review.
Why anyone would want to return to this place is beyond me, I've experienced it, formed my opinion and won't be back as Nicky B said, 'I am completely mystified by the reviewers who wax lyrical about this shabby guest house they have been visiting since time immemorial. Raise your expectations, broaden your horizons and try elsewhere -I can assure you that there are far better places out there for less money.'
I am so pleased to hear though that the couple with the 10 month old had a good holiday. I saw them arrive and be shown the grotty outhouse - I thought that was criminal. good for you for moving out.

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank worthygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
5.6 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
1.6 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
895 reviews
5.9 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 38 in Salcette
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#100 of 110 in Calangute
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sa Maria

Property: Dona Sa Maria
Address: Tamborim, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dona Sa Maria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dona Sa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sa Maria Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Hotel Salcette
Dona Sa Maria Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing