We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and private home away from home.”
Review of Luisa by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luisa by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a very clean, fully equipped home (65) with our family of 6. It was located only a minute walk to the pool, river or front gate. The care taker makes sure everything is in clean, good working order. The place is not over priced at all and is a great alternative to a hotel. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luke_streety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed with friends in "Villa Annabella" owned by Mr Jean-Pierre Hoffer, it is actually villa # 1
The interior decor and furnishings are unique and add to the feel of where you are staying. The villa is kept to a high standard of cleanliness by Olinda, who even did our laundry when we returned from our trip to Hampi. The location on the banks of the river Sal is heavenly, 5 minutes walk from the restaurants, 10 minutes from the beach. The AC in the bedrooms, which are all themed works well, games of snooker can be had, if you so wish, I preferred to be outside, the tv has lots of sports and films. We went fishing and our boat picked us up from the lawn at the rivers edge, personal royal treatment, this was a fantastic holiday, made so more special by the villa, we have already stayed in dreams, so can fully and honestly recommend Mr Hoffer to provide a home from home and more, I still dream of the morning ritual, boil some eggs, cup of coffee and sitting outside watching the sun come up. Thank you Jean-Pierre.

Room Tip: All the rooms are themed, so to prevent argument just do what we did and toss a coin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eckmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This place is nothing extraordinary ... And if you love to spend the whole day in the beach then it is certainly NOT the place for you. Reaching the beach will require a lot of energy, time and resource if you are travelling with family.

The property is filled with villas at every corner and needless to say, more the money more beautiful the villa !!! But the rooms are airy, sunny and spacious. However, you need to manage here everything on your own from pin to plane. You need to buy even the basic things that you take for granted in a hotel such as tea, coffee and oh even water! Forget the beer !!!

To simply put it, if you are the type who loves little luxuries of staying in a hotel then this is not meant for you. And if you are in love with the sun & sand like me, then stay away from it please!
But if you are the type who loves to extend your daily routines/ household chores even on a vacation then bang on ! This is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Basutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful six week holiday at Villa 59. The location is perfect, close to many restaurants, bars and shops and just a five minute walk to the beautiful beach. The villa (and the resort of Luisa by the Sea) is very quiet and peaceful if you just want to chill out on the lovely veranda which faces the idyllic swimming pool.
Sunita Saldanha (the owner) and her team (Anjali & Amita) were marvellous; nothing was too much trouble. Any problems or requests were dealt with with prompt efficiency. We loved it so much we have already booked the villa for 2014 and we hope to return for many more years to come. We have always stayed at hotels in Cavelossim in the past but found that they seem to be favouring corporate business and weddings more and more which we believe is to the detriment of ordinary holidaymakers, so we decided on a change of accommodation this time.That decision has been justified and we wish we had made it years ago.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RightsaidMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joie_devivre69, Owner at Luisa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your write up about villa 59.
Anjali and Amita were delighted at your appreciation and remembered you as warm and kindly guests.
We look forward to your visit next year.
Do stay in touch at joie_devivre69@hotmail.com or (91)9821081420
We are also have a facebook page Goa Holiday at Luisa by thes Sea Cavelossim
We would love to see some of your photos if you care to share.

A bientot
Sunita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Fantastic villa for a family or large group of friends. We were there for a wedding at the nearby 5 * Leela hotel and this was the perfect base for us. Close to the shops, beach and restaurants, everything was on the doorstep. The swimming pool although lovely was a little murky and I was unsure about swimming in it, but apart from that it was lovely. Stunning gardens and friendly staff. All amenities in the villa make it a home from home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank daniconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Have been to Cavellosim several times and have been keen to stay at Louisa by the Sea because of it's excellent location to the beach and the many restaurants on offer.
We were so pleased to have got in touch with Sophie George, she was so helpful when booking and recommended Tobias (villa 61) as we wanted a one bedroom villa for 2.
From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The villa is surrounded by lush, well maintained gardens and overlooks a small swimming pool.
The veranda is very spacious and lovely to sit out on (just be aware of the mosquitos in the evening and bring plenty of deet!)
The accommodation has a lovely, well furnished open plan kitchen and living room, and separate bedroom with a comfortable bed and ensuite shower room.

We were very impressed that the villa was cleaned daily (apart from sundays) and the bedding and towels changed regularly. (quite unusual in Goa). Sophie also popped by at least once a week to check we were ok.

We stayed here for 3 weeks, part of an 8 week tour of Goa and this was by far the best accommodation we have had on this trip and indeed on other trips to Goa.
Would not hesitate to recommend and hope to return ourselves another time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Having been to Cavelossim for the past 4 years staying in hotels and appartments, We were really looking forward to a new experience of a villa, and we were not disappointed.
The two bed room villa was great with all the facilities we could need, cooker, fridge, microwave etc.
Every day we had the cleaner come in and do a marvelous job and even did our washing for us, and this was not expected. When we had a few maintence jobs carried out she worked on to escort the contractors, which was very welcome.

The whole estate is well maintaned with the pool done daily, but it was amazing to see people swimming after the chemical treatment in the evening, but as most of the signs are in english i suppose the russians can be excused or is it just their way to do what they want?

Sun loungers are on a first come first served bais although many have villa numbers on them, but how many eastern europeans play by the rules, some thing the so called site security could work on as things do go on that shouldn't. Sunday morning yoga class for 20 plus russian ladies who just arrived from all over and set up around the pool, to soft porno photo session around what was thought to be a deserted pool!

All dealings with the owner JP were first class, he responded to emails very quickly and his site rep Jayson and the cleaner especially, were first class.

A villa well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Villas around the big pool are the best, that is unless you can get one on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.8 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,575 reviews
1.9 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luisa by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luisa by the Sea

Address: Mobor,Cavelossim, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Cavelossim
Price Range: £29 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Luisa by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Luisa By The Sea Hotel Cavelossim
Luisa By The Sea Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing