We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Location...”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location is very good, though not on the sea beach, but the beach is just across the road (approx. 100 mtrs). The resort is actually on the riverside, the beautiful Sal river flows by at the rear side of the resort. The rooms are good, food is very good but pure veg. The complimentary breakfast menu is really bad. Almost same menu every day and tasteless. Room Service is average. Staff behavior is cordial but not professional.

Room Tip: Don't book online. Go there and negotiate for a better price and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Old Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, rooms and our services, following your stay at The Byke Old Anchor - Goa.

Delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. Regret that you did not enjoy our breakfasts which otherwise has been liked very much. However, we will certainly make certain more changes.

We have shared your comments with the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts in providing guests with an experience that exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards.

Mihir Sarkar.
VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    110
    77
    42
    72
See reviews for
143
98
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Awesome location if you just want to stay close to nice clean beach..river flowing on the back side of resort..I got a good renovated room which was great.however pool wasn't upto the mark..it was big but urgently needs makeover. Food was below average

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venkatesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Old Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, rooms and our services, following your stay at The Byke Old Anchor - Goa.

Delighted that you liked the locations and the room. We have noted your suggestions for further improvising of the Pool. Also we are bringing in more varieties in our Food Menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards.

Mihir Sarkar.
VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome location...just what you want..stone close to nice clean beach..river flowing on the back side of resort..I got a good renovated room ..which was great..however pool wasn't upto the mark..it was big but urgently needs makeover...breakfast was below average..imagine I wasn't even provided butter..lol..as bar was closed due to election n butter was in cold storage.sounds funny..restrurant needs to improve...activity n games room were locked..dnt know why..however great location n mine room was great too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank luvisafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Old Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, rooms and our services, following your stay at The Byke Old Anchor - Goa.

We were humbled to hear that you had a memorable stay and have noted your suggestions for the Pool. We would also review our breakfast menu. The Pool has a timings and the game room can be opened whenever required

We have shared your comments with the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts in providing guests with an experience that exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards.

Mihir Sarkar.
VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

had my stay there this april. and we booked from a website in a deal for 1800 per room, and i was enthralled by the rooms shown on-line for this cheap deal.The only thing good about it it is surrounded by 5 stars and a great cavelossim beach. But i warn you, Dont book it like that.

A. You will not get a sea facing room that they advertise about in the pictures
B.The room will below average with 0 amenities
C.Its not value for money at all.

They called themselves Byke anchor, with reception built in the shape of ship and selling Gujarati and Rajasthani food. Totally confused hospitatlity

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navpkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Old Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed unfortunate that you have been confused about our hospitality and allow me to clear your misunderstanding of your stay: - 1) The economy room which you had booked online is one of our budget category room with limited features and the same is fully mentioned in all the online portal. 2) The normal Deluxe Room is the one which you were enthralled with as it has more features and there are sea facing rooms in this category 3) All the categories of our rooms have complete amenities. 4) We do have reception in the ship shaped structure. 5) We are no. 1 in Gujarati and Rajasthani Food. I am sure with basic understanding of your room booked, you could always make more out of your holiday.

Best wishes.
Mihir Sarkar - VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cavelossim hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have been there on 1-Mar-14 to 4-Mar-14 , i had done this booking after visiting various Website , though there were some negative comments on Trip Advisor, i took a chance of booking this hotel, which is a 100% worth , its natural ambiance & beauty is too good , Food is excellent, it is the only Hotel which has got view for SunRise & Sunset, I had recommended to many of my friends to visit.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Azam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Old Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for such an honest account of your stay at The Byke Old Anchor - Goa.

We are honored that you found our resort up to your liking and gave the ranking of 100% worthiness. We work very hard at keeping everything up to standard and in great condition.

Your description of the resort ambience is very beautifully penned and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes,

Mihir Sarkar - VP, The Byke group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have stayed between 17 to 20 March 2014 in Byke old anchor. The hotel is very good for vegetarian people as it is very difficult to get pure veg food in Goa. You can check below points and decide on booking in the hotel.

Positive points:

1. Hotel location is very good.
2. Foods, especially dinner is awesome.
3. Transportation facility is excellent. Mr. Anil Das has given us very good service for pick up and drop and sight seen.

Arias of improvement (Negative points)

1. Room service is very slow. We have to call so many times for each and everything.
2. Rooms are average regarding cleanliness. Bathrooms are stinking like anything. We ask room service for that but not get solution of the same.
3. In food, breakfast is very average. We are getting same breakfast for all three days. You should add some more variety in breakfast.
4. In the Gym there is nothing for exercise. In games zone there is nothing to play.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the rooms before check in. Take a room on first floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajpathak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Old Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at The Byke Old Anchor- Goa.

We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay and your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Your constructive feedback has also been noted.

Please allow us to clarify regarding some of your points :
1. We do agree that Room service is slow, however, we always inform the same to the guest. Nevertheless, we have improvised on this to minimise the serving time.
2. Rooms are serviced daily by the house-keeping staff and we try to achieve a standardised hygienic cleanliness. However, if the bathroom need to be cleaned again, the same is done through the call to the house-keeping dept.
3. The breakfast has a large spread and the menus are different everyday, however, we have now improvised on the same with trendy and delectable cuisine.
4. The gym is a basic one, however, we do have different indoor games in our card & game rooms as well as Billiards. Besides, these, we have many outdoor games such as cricket, football, volleyball, badminton, etc. etc.. Not to mention the fun the swimming pool and the pool games therein.

Thank you once again and we hope to elevate your experience on your future stay.

Best wishes.

Mihir Sarkar - VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here from 20-Feb-14 to 23-Feb-14 and this was my worst experience, first of all they dont entertain an Indian customer and this is really worst feeling for me. Lot of problem with electricity and most worst part is we had lots of cockroaches on the bed when we reach the room. Only good thing was the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: I will not at all recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drkasat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Old Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed unfortunate that your holiday experience wasn't as per your expectations.

However, we clarify that for us a guest is a guest, whether Indian or Foreigner. We strive hard to ensure that all our guests are satisfied and there are no discrimination for the services to the guests.

Regarding the electricity, please note that as in most of the holiday destinations, even in Goa, there occurs drop in the supply sometimes, however, our 24 hours generator restores the power within 10 minutes.

Standardised Pest control is carried out regularly, however, if you would have encountered any stray pest, this is immediately taken care of, although the occurrence of these is rare.

Also, we would have been in a better position to sort this out had you mentioned to us whilst you were in Goa.

Please accept our sincere apologies to you for the 'not so pleasant' experience that you had, however our team is always more than willing to walk that extra mile to ensure customer delight as is evident from all the feedback and encouragement we have been receiving from our guests feedback and reviews including tripadvisor.

Best wishes.

Mihir Sarkar - VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.4 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Old Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Old Anchor Resort

Property: The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Address: Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Salcette, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Old Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first ever Resort in South Goa Old Anchor has cast its spell on one and all. Here, from dawn to dusk, you can see the earth & the sea resting in one another's arms & dreaming of waves, tides, clouds, sands & lush green palms. Where you can succumb to timelessness with no schedule to follow except those set by the tide. Goa echoes with the magic of its natural panoramic beauty, beaches temples and churches with their distinct style of architecture, colorful festival, a rich cultural atmosphere and above all friendly and warm people. Silver sands, cool sea breeze, the parties at the shacks, water sports, swimming with the Dolphins or a lazy cruise down the river, what ever makes your holiday. Goa has it all. And there’s no better place to drop anchor in Goa than at The Byke Old Anchor Resort. You have the river on one side, a pool in the middle and the sea on the other side. Invigorating warm sun above and cool green shades below. The resort has 240 Deluxe bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Byke Old Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Old Anchor Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing