We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic xxx”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic xxx”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

we have just got back mon 21st may after a week at this gorgeous place the views are amazing, the hotel is clean and welcoming and the staff there are fab, the entertainment is hilarious, what can i say this was my 2nd time and roll on next year so we can go back. i would recommend this place to everyone

Room Tip: got to be sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    112
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
128
75
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HERTS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I was hoping to give a really good review of this hotel but sadly the treatment after we've returned has been awful and that is not only from some of the hotel staff but also from Thompson.

Having stayed at the El Greco in Portinax last year we had high expectations booking another 3* hotel in Ibiza. On first impressions the hotel appeared very nice and the reps Kate & Mike were very friendly and helped us with our bags as the hotel do not provide any trolleys or similar (The El Greco lent us a laundry cart!)

The room was adequate - fairly small for 5 people but nicely decorated and clean. Unfortunately for 4 days there was no hot water and no reason was given for this, even the reps didn't know! The beds were made every day and the bedding and towels were probably changed twice in the two weeks we were there. The room did have nice views and it was reasonably quiet even when the entertainment was outside.

The restaurant was well laid out - I actually chose this hotel based on the huge glass windows which gave a fantastic view of the bay but weren't good for sitting near with a baby due to the direct sunlight. Bruno the restaurant manager did a very good job of keeping the place running well. I was a bit miffed when he told us off because our 1 year old had dropped some food but it's fair enough that he wanted to keep the place clean and tidy! I spent the next two weeks on my hands and knees under the highchair cleaning after every meal! One evening at dinner we were presented with a bottle of bubbly from Bruno which was a lovely surprise! The food was fairly good and they do regular theme nights with fresh fish and the staff dress us as sailors! The Chinese restaurant was a bit of a disappointment as it was only open for 1 hour a night and it was a fairly cramped, stuffy windowless room. The quality of the food was fairly good though. The biggest disappointment was the food in the Western Saloon which was dire. The best bar was the 8th floor cocktail bar and Marie Jose was the best barmaid!
One downside to the restaurants is that they are totally inflexible on opening hours so if you are due to leave before 8am on departure day you will not be able to get any food.

The Club San Miguel pool was fantastic for small children and the Hotel pool was better for older children and adults. My 11 year old used both pools every day but we stuck to the Club pool for the little ones ( 2 and 1). The beach is also wonderful - lovely sands and beautiful calm clear water. We were at the beach every day and found some great palm trees for shade which saved us 10 euros for an umbrella. The kids club was also great, along with the mini disco. Emma and Brit did a great job getting the kids to dance! We didn't see much of the other entertainment as the toddlers didn't cope much after 9.30pm.

The lifts can be a bit of a nightmare at meal times as they are usually packed and it can take up to half an hour to get a lift if you have a pushchair. Several times I folded the buggy and walked up between 3 and 8 flights of stairs! I expect it's far worse in high season and I was very glad we didn't bring our double buggy.

I was also quite surprised the hotel charged for the majority of TV channels and for WiFi, something the El Greco provided free. At least the air con worked even though it was ancient and very noisy. Overall the hotel was clean and nice but seems to be in need of an update soon.

Unfortunately our real troubles started on our trip back when I realised I'd left my phone in the room (after being up all night with an ill baby and trying to get everyone fed between 8am and 8.15!) We reported this to the rep at the airport who then got in touch with the hotel. They said that if it was found then they would send it back to us if we were happy to pay which of course we were! We then heard nothing for about 4 days. I emailed the hotel and heard nothing. I then rang and was told my phone and a couple of the kids toys were with Kate the Thompson rep and she was going to contact me. Again I heard nothing. By this time it had been a week so my partner (who speaks very good Spanish) rang the hotel and arranged with the receptionist Lola that she would get the phone back from Kate and have it sent out to us and they would charge our card. All we had to do was email the details which we did. No response to that email. When it got to 10 days I got in touch with First Choice who are apparently "investigating". I emailed the hotel again to ask what was going on an received a somewhat rude email all in capitals from one of the Receptionists saying that she had no idea when I'd get my phone back as she had to post it on her day off. Now, I worked in hotel lost property in London and there's no way I would have spoken to a client in this way, nor would any member of staff be expected to do hotel related work on their day off. Apparently the rep had been told by her boss that she was not allowed to return any lost property to guests. This seems very odd to me and why didn't she get in touch and explain this? If the hotel had been polite and helpful then I would have rated them more highly but this experience means we won't be returning as it's left a very bad taste to be treated in such a rude manner. So 3* overall for the hotel but the customer service is what you would expect from a 1* .
We had planned to return next year but will most likely go back to the El Greco again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMCHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

A 3 star you get what you pay for. Reception area on floor 8 gives the impression of a 4 star but the rest of the complex is truly 3 star standard.

Food - improved as the hotel geared up for the season. Chinese buffet recommended food often tepid in the main dining room.

Bedroom - spacious for 2 people.

Bathroom - a little tired.

Bar - plastic glasses in pool bar and the tapas bar (not sure why they could not be glass in the tapas bar). Main bar on floor 8 did not open until 21.00 hrs would have suited us better if it opended earlier for pre-evening meal drink.

Beach and bay views tremendous - isolated location if you did not have a car. However, there is a daily bus service (except Sunday) to Ibiza town and odd days to San Antonio etc.

Overall enjoyed the location and the hotel was what we expected from a 3 star resort.

Room Tip: Better sea views and quieter rooms away from the pool and main bar areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWTON ABBOT
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I returned from a 1 week stay here last week and I personally absolutely loved it! The hotel reopened for the summer season on 1st May and I arrived on the 2nd so it was pretty quiet, but it busied up by the end.

The hotel is very clean overall. The rooms were very nice and the beds extremely comfortable! A double and 2 singles. Had 7 good nights sleep. I was on floor 3 and my sea view balcony had the most beautiful views, plus it was a sun trap in the afternoons. I would definitely recommend a sea view rather than a pool view.

The food was ok. Breakfast was fry up, continental, fruit, yoghurt or freshly cooked croisants or omelettes. Dinner and tea was a good choice or meat, fish, pasta or salad and lovely cakes for sweets. Alot of people complained about the food, but I suppose you cant please everyone! We managed to find a nice enough meal every day so I cant complain. Tho it was alot of the same kind of stuff churned out.

There were snacks like burgers, hot dogs n chips in the western saloon but this was the only thing I didnt like. The chips were nice but everything else tasted cheap and undercooked.

There is not alot in San Miguel except a few bars, restaurants and souvenir shops but that was just fine for me. If you want lots of pubs, clubs & shops San Miguel is NOT for you!

This hotel was so relaxed & laid back, I loved it, and as mentioned before, the views were fantastic!

The beach is just on the doorstep and just by the beach is a little train which runs to Portinax for 15 euros. Buses to Ibiza town & San Antonio pick up outside the hotel.

Entertainment was ok, while I was there there was a Hypnotist, a singer, a parrot show (why??) & Karaoke.

I would definetly go back to this hotel at the as I loved it.

Room Tip: Choose a Sea View room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MKD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Firstly I need to say that we were actually booked into the Galeon next door via Holidaynights.com to find it was closed, luckily the same this is part of the same complex so with little hassle we checked in here. Unfortunately there was no note on the Galeon saying you need to check in next door at the San Miguel Hotel (also known as the Cartago). The Galeon, San Miguel and Club San Miguel are all part of the same complex and facilities are shared.
Check in was easy although our booking details said Galeon on they had our name down for the San Miguel, the receptionist wasn't really friendly but efficient. Our room was large with a twin bed and double bed, decent size bathroom and nice size balcony with lovely sea view. The air conditioning looked a bit precarious (sort of hanging off the wall) but we didn't need to use it. The room was clean, the maid cleaned daily and gave fresh towels. There was a TV we didn't use (it worked we turned it on once there is only one english channel you have to pay per view for any more than that). a desk and chair and hairdryer.
The food was acceptable, all tasted nice but a limited choice compared with other 3 star all inclusives we have stayed in. Breakfast had standard full English, cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurt, contiental. Lunch we didn't go to the main hotel for so I can't comment on we used the snack bar "Western Saloon" who cooked fresh to order snacks such as hot dogs, burgers, chips and sandwiches which were all of ok quality. Dinner had a pasta dish, a meat dish, a fish dish, vegaterain option, salads and deserts (standard AI cakes, jelly, trifle (this I haven't seen before) etc). We went to the Chinese buffet which you had to book the night before for, the food was good and good selection. We also went to the Tapas bar were you ordered fresh tapas and drinks, this was very enjoyable. One nice feature of the bars was that they had put together a list of 12 cocktails to choose from AI which was nice as alot of places charge extra for cocktails.
Some brochures state there is a Mexican restaurant- due to the Galeon being closed this restaurant is closed.
There were 2 pools to use one for the Cartago and one for the Club San Miguel the second we used most. This had Jagguzi built in, little bridges and waterfalls and was a bit bigger than the one closer to the Cartago. The pool was clean fun to use and as we were out of high season for the most part quiet.
The beach was very easy to access as the hotel is built into the cliff you can take 2 lifts one goes as far a the main bar and pool for the Cartago the next goes down one floor to the Club San Miguel the beach is only 50m or so from the lift on the same floor- no steps or steep hills! We went into the sea to snorkel every day there are quite a few fish to see and sea is calm due to the enclosed bay.
We didn't use the entertainment but they seem entusiastic for the kids, there were things like bingo and magic shows later for the adults. There were 3 bars some open at different times, we especially enjoyed the cocktail bat on the 8th floor open form 9pm it was quiet and used glass glasses for the drinks.
Overall this holiday was very good, the sea view and proximity to the beach was excellent however the food could have been slightly better- we paid only £180 AL for 5 nights for 2 people so I feel is was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misselaineious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have to write a review of this hotel after reading the previous report. We, two friends, decided to try a cheaper holiday and stayed here last September and had a really relaxing break. Alright, it isn't 4* but doesn't pretend to be - its a good qualitiy resort, wonderful for families and adults alike. We stayed in a nice room with a balcony with a view to die for - always kept very clean. We considered the price we paid excellent value for an all-inclusive holiday.

The restaurant was well run and the Manager, Bruno, was very attentive to people's needs and was always in attendance keeping his eye on things (thankyou Bruno!) The food was very good and, as on all 2 week hollidays, its impossible to keep everyone happy re variety but they certainly made a great effort. It must be very difficult to cope with the tastes of so many nationalities but, in the main, we enjoyed a very varied menu. The only downside was the request for proper attire at dinner was not enforced - it doesn't take much effort to wash and change before the evening meal!

The beach was lovely and we spent every day just relaxing or going for walks along the coast, or catching the bus to other resorts. Alright the sunbeds do work out expensive but we included this in our holiday budget when comparing hotels and considered the holiday still of excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PamH127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Visited the Hotel last June 2011 and was extremely disappointed due to the fact there was no where to go? Two mini supermarkets on one road!? Stayed here for 2wks and I honestly wanted to come home..the Germans were incredibly rude and as for the staff they weren't any better constantly muttering in Spanish under their breath! Only nice barman there was 'Domingo'. Planned several excursions which were cancelled due to people not parting with any cash? The sunbed problem was pretty disgusting! People rushing down to the pool in the early hours of the morning to put their towels down then not appear until the afternoon? The sunbeds at the beach club were disgusting .. they looked like they'd never had a good clean before. Most days we had to sit on the chairs at the bar because there was absolutely zero sunbeds!!!! The beach as well beware is man made and the sea is full of jellyfish..so its your choice to go in and get stung..I seen a couple of young children being stung by the jellyfish and their parents were rushing them off to the life guard who casually sprayed vinegar on it!!!??? the rooms were fairly standard..kept clean. The entertainment was pretty good..only on some occasions it was pretty boring! The all inclusive is good..the only downer is that is stops at 11pm !..The food was excellent ! Won't ever be returning to San Miguel !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
878 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#3 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,181 reviews
4.9 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.6 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Property: San Miguel Hotel
Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing