We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“entertainment amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“entertainment amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

lovely place so friendly ,entertainment magga fun , thanks to zorro and the gang its that good he comes to england once a year to do zorros road show , quiet resort lush cove safe for kiddies, san miguel quiet place but lovely , get it booked u wont be dissapionted its a 3 star but enjoyed more that some 4 stars weve been to as its so friendly , Zorro is even on face book if u wanna check out the place ,

Room Tip: rooms basic but u only sleep in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Loz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    110
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
127
72
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My Wife and I have just returned from 7 days at the San Miguel Hotel in Ibiza and it more than lived up to our expectations. I know there has been some negative comments on here about this Hotel but I can assure you we had a great time. The Hotel was clean, friendly and well run. It was in a great location overloooking the small but excellent beach. The room was clean and well decorated the bed was comfy and the shower room clean and had a plentiful supply of hot water. The balcony had a great view over the beach and sea and was in the sun from around 10.30 am until sunset at around 6.30 pm ( Room 306).
We were all inclusive and the food was great with a wide choice for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. My only criticism was sometimes the food could have been hotter but this was easily rectified by 30 seconds in one of the two microwaves available.
The local drinks which were inclusive were also excellent ( beer, Brandy, Rum, Tequila etc) The Hotel staff were very friendly and cheerful even though it was at the end of a long season the standards didn't appear to wain.
The entertainment Staff ( Zorro and his team) were excellent once again showing no signs of flagging after 6 months of trying to entertain us brits.
They worked from 10.00 am through to 11.00 pm with a full programme of entertainment for both children and adults.

I would really have to knit pick to find anything to complain about all in all a great value for money and wouldn't hestitate to go their again.

p.s there are only two lifts so if you can't manage the stairs ( 7 floors from restuarnt too main bar) you may have to be patient

Room Tip: Depends when you go if its Sept or Oct then low numbered rooms on any floor ( 201 to 214 or 301 to 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TriumphSprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

we came back on 20/10/12 the hotel was very clean rooms cleaned daily clean towels daily .the food was good but they do repeat the menu weekly the chinese is also very good. large balcony could do with sunbeds and a light. good selection of drinks on the all inclusive the staff work hard . the only bad points we found were the noise from the entertainment traveld to the room so sleep is impossible before midnight no tea or coffee making facilities in the room so take a travel kettle

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulbNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night holday at this hotel and for the first time ever we couldnt wait to get home,reasons detailed below

Pros
Good flight and transfer,beautiful location with sea views
Good breakfast

Cons
Food not good, cold food served up tepid,hot food served tepid.
Three food buffet tables during week,joints of meat,cheeses and seafood all displayed and served without refrigeration or on ice.
Poor choice ,expected loads of different fresh fish but not case.

Small rooms with a double and two single beds with just enough room to walk to balcony
Beds lumpy and very uncomfortable,dont expect slumberland but these were awful!!!
Bathroom needed updating very scruffy
Balcony floor not cleaned whilst we were there,whole room needed a spring clean,filthy windows ,cobwebs and dust.
No outside light for balcony

Bar across the road very loud music until 2am,guests arriving back all hours slamming doors and shouting.

Staff - except for two at the bar ,miserable and treated you as if they were doing you a favour being there,especially the Western Saloon

Sunbeds - reserved early by people because pool area small and limited sun beds,you can use pools at Beach Resort but more of a childrens area,we ended up paying 10 euros a day for beach sunbeds

My partner had a serious stomach upset for three days ,we were talking to people on our coach home and it appears that there were several cases of this at the hotel,one of which was our next door neighbour.I reported this to our rep but she did not follow up to see if we were ok.

I have posted many good reviews for other holidays and do not enjoy writing bad reviews but i feel that I need to share our experience so that other people do not waste hard earned money on this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade14096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

i cant recommend this hotel enough to people ,great location ,in a nice safe bay ,good selection of food at mealtimes ,a beach location bar and food outlet ,the rooms were basic hotel style but clean and tidy ,the staff here were first class and nothing was to much trouble ,there are not many shops in the area but a local bus stop is near by and its cheap to go to Ibiza town ,will be going back to this hotel for future holidays as it ticked every box for us ,its part of a group of hotels ,this one also known as the cartago ,next door is the galleon and at beach level is the beach club ,and all well worth a stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kev g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have just returned from a week in the San Miguel Hotel, all inclusive. We are a family of 5, kids ages 2, 14 and 17.

The hotel is very clean, maid service every day and public areas kept immaculate. Rooms are OK, imagine a Travel Lodge - thats pretty much it. Extra charge for the Safe and the fridge. If you like a coffee first thing in the morning then pack a travel kettle (charge for this at the hotel too).

Food is better than I expected for a 3* all inclusive. Always a good choice at breakfast, cooked breakfast and fresh omelette, fruit, yoghurt and cereal (cereal not very good - if your kids are fussy and like Kellogs cornflakes take you own!) Chips for breakfast though?!!

Lunch and Dinner offer pasta everyday, chips, a couple of vegy options, a couple of meat dishes (curry etc) always a few different potatoe choices, salad, soup and the fresh grill offers fish and meat every day. Kids food buffet at a good temperature for them, the other buffet could have been hotter. Overall we thought excellent food for the cost of the holiday, if you get bored of dining in the hotel restaurant you have the option to go to the Beach Club (we didn't) or the Chinese. The chinese is OK, not much choice but OK for a change. We also tried the Tapa Tapa bar, but didn't think this was very good. Not at all like you expect after visting tapas bars in the UK. You just get bread with stuff on (chorizo, ham, fish etc) but no hot food. We did venture out on a couple of occasions to the Port Balysat restaurant on the beach, this was very good and offers a wide range of food and nice wine. It was good to be waited on for a change!

The drinks at the hotel were great consideing they were all inc, the only bad comment would be that the red wine was not the best! Plastic glasses though in the bars (except the hotel bar near reception). From a safety aspect the plastic glasses do make sense as the bar were all the entertainment happens is near the pool.

Entertainment was excellent, always something going on during the day from shooting to football to darts. Evening entertainment was also very good. Thet also ran a toddler club but I was the only one there! Nice girls running the kids club.

Lifts took an age to come though, I would expect that in high season this could cause issues, but it was OK as the hotel was not that busy as it is the end of the season. If you can manage stairs then walk - it is quicker!!

Overall I would recommend this hotel to families, the price was excellent and I would say you get better than expected for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Got back from a week at the San Miguel Hotel on Wednesday 26/9/2012 and I was not as impressed as some of the reviewers here have stated.First I will start the the overall picture and then move on.

The flights were with Thompson, both on time and no hassle. Transfers went smoothly and the check in was the quickest that I have ever had.

Now the details( bad points)

The room we were assigned to was to say the least crowded, it had a double bed plus two singles and a unit on which the T.V.sat. The unit enroached on the sliding door giving about a foot width to enter/exit the balcony. The balcony was at a higher level than the room so you had to turn sideways to slide in or out. The matress of the double bed was really uncomfortable with spring sticking into your body at every turn. The bathroom was small and functional but deserved a really good deep clean. The balcony was cleaned twice on the week we stayed. Unfortunately the view we had was of the sister complex and the stage were the evening entertainment was held. The entertainment did not go on too long but the Irish bar about 200yds away stayed open until 2am and was very noisy.

The food in the chineese restaurant was terrible, in fact it was the worst chineese meal that I have ever had.

The guests were a mixture of most europian nationalities with mainly Brits and French. Despite signs saying no reserving of sunbeds, no lilows in the pool and no diving all these were ignored, mainly by the Brits. Children were being allowed to run around without supervision both in the lifts and the dining room. There was not a dress code for the evening meal in place and some guests were turning up still dressed in the gear that they had been wearing at the pool 2hrs before.

Now the good bits.

The food was some of the best that I have had in a holiday hotel. Breakfast was a mixture of continental and full english, fresh rolls,warm croissants and cookrd to order omlettes. Lunch was a choice of salads or of four main courses with side of pasta for microwaving. The evening meal was simular to lunch with additions of roast meats,poached whole salmon and cheese boards featuring during the week. Tea,coffee,beer,wine and soft drinks were available throughout all meal services.

The tapas tapas bar was a little haven of peace, a place to stop after sitting by the pool and while you wer on your to get changed.

The bar was large and airey and the wait for drinks was minimal. I do not know where the put all the miserable Spanish bar staff that a lot of people seem to complain about because I have not yet come across them. The staff at this hotel were friendly, attentive and polite doing a difficult job in trying to translate some of the requests that they were asked (does anyone know what a pina colada with a hot milky coffee is called).

The reception was very efficient.

The public spaces were spotless.

Would I go back? doubtful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North side, better views and quirter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonsey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#5 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#3 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
9.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
8.9 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Property: San Miguel Hotel
Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing