We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUCH A MEMORABLE, FANTASTIC PLACE”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I have just returned home from my trip to this stunning hotel, and I am absolutely gutted to be home.

My family, they stopped in the beach club while I stopped in the gorgeous hotel with my boyfriend. On arrival, we were greeted by amazingly friendly receptionists who had our room instantly ready. The room was large, spotless, and had a breathtaking view of the sea from our balcony. The room was cleaned every single day without fail, the bedding was fresh and the beds were very comfortable.
We had a remote controlled electric aircon which was fantastic. We could set our temperature, speed and even put it on sleep timer. Perfect, cool room for when we arrived in for the day.

The day entertainment was FANTASTIC. They have both entertainment for children and adults. Adults - darts, killer pool, French bowls, shuttle board, volley ball, water polo etc etc And if that's not to your taste there is free canoeing and other watersports on the beach. The entertainers are hilarious, constantly smiling and always getting people involved. People who complain about the entertainers clearly need to look up the definition of Fun. Zorro does use adult humour, however not often is it before 21:30 when he is scheduled on stage. He uses innuendos which children clearly don't understand, and NEVER swears on stage.
The other entertainers are just as great, Eva is so welcoming and kind as are Robbie and Shannon.

The hotel restaurant is gorgeous and over looks the beautiful sea it has a panoramic glass roof however is fitted with air conditioners to keep the restaurant cool. The food is great, especially the soups! A different one every day. I stopped for 2 weeks and the food in the restaurant is different for 1. However, me and my boyfriend booked into the Chinese restaurant next door numerous times, along with the beach club restaurant for a change. There is the tapa tapa bar also, along with the Western Saloon. The western saloon is more take-out fast food, however not everything is greasy. This is NOT the only place to eat in the day. The restaurants are open more or less all day.
There is a beautiful seafood restaurant and pizzeria on the beach also.
The evening entertainment is great. It is childrens mini disco until 9pm. After, It is a mixture of all sorts - Beijing acrobats, African dancers, Karaoke, U Bet, Men vs Woman etc, all of which get you involved. Unless you're a boring sod and you'd prefer to sit watching grass grow.
The evening entertainment lasts until 11pm and the music stops playing at around 20 past. The bar over the road , Caseys, is fantastic. The drinks aren't expensive, there is live Irish music and karaoke. Caseys close all their doors and windows at 12:30 so the music cannot be heard. Stopping in the hotel, I could not hear anything past this time, even with the balcony door open.

This is a family orientated fantastic hotel, and I really could not fault it. Back again in 2014, to have another memorable year!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank D_is4delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

came back from this holiday on the 11th june absolutely loved it, and my 5 year old daughter she is still doing all the dances and singing all the songs! (and me :D) miss this place and I would never usually return to the same place but I would defiantly go back here!

whats not to like, great entertainment (especially Zorro), brilliant food and choice, clean and CHEAP!

if your having doubts about booking this place then don't, book it you will love it!!!

see you again next year (or this August! haha)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Usernametaken90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

my husband and i went here this week to celebrate our 25th anniversary, we knew the resort would be quiet as we just wanted peace and quiet. this hotel is fantastic if you have a family but if not its not the hotel for you.it is totally catered for kids as it is kids entertainment from dawn til 11pm, then everything shuts down including the all inclusive bar,there are another 2 bars on the resort that are open til 1am and the other til around 4am,but when you pay for all inclusive, you dont expect to be going out drinking afterwards.The hotel its self is very topsy-turvy, the restaurant and 1 bar is on the top floor, the pool another bar and tapas bar in the middle, and the club enertainment on the ground. The food in the main restaurant is good, theres a good variety although not that hot,theres a chinese that has to be booked, that pretty good for a chinese,theres another bar where the entertainment is,also a snack bar there for if you are on the beach, but i think it is dissapointing , the food is like a greasy lils cafe.The rooms were very clean and big and all had a good size balcony ,and considering how many kids were there at one time the cleaners keep this hotel spotless A big problem was the lifts, there was 2 lifts that were useless and no matter which floor you were on you suffered,if you were near the top it was good for the restaurant but cant get up to your floor from the bottom because the lifts didnt come up or down if you pressed them only if there was no-one in them so you could be there waiting for ages..My overall opinion is, families great,couples and older couples go to es canar ,portinatx, or santa eulilia theres more to do without being too noisy,this hotel needs longer all inclusive at least til midnight as the staff wait til 11pm on the dot and then its off to bed and lights out

Room Tip: no need to upgrade and pay anymore for seaview as all the hotel has a partial view of the sea,lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazsafc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband booked this holiday as a surprise for us and our 16 month old son. Reading the reviews on here as well as having a very young child, I was very apprehensive about this holiday. BUT It was the best holiday ive had. We stayed 3rd June till 10th....We arrived at the hotel about 11.30pm. Bus driver helped us to reception with our bags and then we were in our room within minutes and straight to bed. Rooms are very large, ours had a big double bed, 2 singles pushed together and a cot so it was a little cramped but that didnt bother us at all. The bathrooms are lovely, plenty hot water and overall very clean. Great aircon which is needed and great view of pool, club and the beach from our balcony in room 206... The food in this hotel was 2nd to none. Ive seen reviews about the temperature but this was not the case. There was something different everyday and there was always at least 2 choices that would be cooked especially for you on request. We also tried the chinese restaraunt on one occasion and this was good too.... The pool area was good, close to the bar for drinks and ice creams, great for having a little boy. Plenty of sunbeds although these tended to be full in the morning so we went to the beach until mid afternoon and then back up to the pool for a bit. The pool has a small end for kids, although its a little nippy, too cold for me and for my son... Western saloon, not much choice but great for a snack through the day....Beach literally on your doorstep, FABULOUS!! Nice and clean, although you did have to pay for the sunbeds 5euro a day each.... There is the san miguel club apartments which is attached so you can also use their pool too....Now to the entertainment. OMG this was second to none. Zoro and the team put their all into it every single night, doing the kids hour 1st and then adults after untill 11pm and even do thing with kids through the day as well. We particularly enjoyed the comedy sketch night, never laughed so much. You wont be disappointed.... Not much in the area, 3 shops which anything you need from nappies to sweets to gifts to take home, but with the hotel being so good, nothing else in needed...Very family orientated hotel with great staff and very friendly atmosphere. We had no complains at all. We would love to return in the near future and we'll be taking more family with us next time

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best. Low numbers on each floor so 201-210...301-310 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MainyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

good value hotel we stayed in club san miguel bit of a mix up with booking as i did think we was in hotel was told to put our cases in the room till the rep sorted it out . the view we had was the best we have ever had so was happy to stay there room 139 . food ok abit hit and miss but allways hot plenty of choice . Entertainment good for the children think it should start at 730 not 830 adults starts at 930 till 11 zorro is a legend won a free holiday in southport nov . staff worked hard allday long you could allways see cleaners cleaning waiters singing and serving drinks .only thing that was soooooo bad was the sunbeds omg you had to be up at the crack of dawn to get one if you didnt people was blocking the sunbeds so you could not get at them so you have to join in with towel game we all had a great time tho meeting lots of nice people who had been there lots of times i can see why they return year after year we may do so next year

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debby123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just returned from The Sane Miguel Hotel Ibiza and had a fantastic holiday. I had read a few reviews on Tripadvisor and was very apprehensive but we were very impressed with the hotel. We arrived at 2.30 am within 10 minutes we had checked in and on our way to our room. We were in a small annex adjacent to floor 6 - basic room but spotlessly clean balcony table and 2 chairs reasonable view - Clean towels everyday clean sheets every 2 days. First morning went to breakfast plenty of choice - nice and hot which was another gripe on some reviews food being lukewarm - we didn't experience this once - plenty of hot freshly baked bread and croissants. Swimming pool in San Miguel Hotel was lovely but the sunbeds to close together, we personally didn't like the San Miguel Beach club so we went to the beach which was absolutely fab. Lunch and dinner in the dining room was always a good experience, always two dishes cooked to order, lots of fresh salad and vegetables and 2 or 3 dishes in the hot plates. Most evenings we went to the Tapa Tapa bar for a cocktail and some canapés - now these were not tapas in the true sense but nevertheless very tasty and always fresh. Also tried the Chinese which wasn't too bad. The entertainment wasn't for us but that was a personal choice. Lovely terrace and bar at pool level and at restaurant level a very nice cocktail bar. We didn't like The Western
Saloon very grubby but apart from that we had no complaints and we are definitely thinking of returning next year with the family.

Room Tip: Room service and spa not applicable try and get booked into the annex lovely and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This Hotel has 2 review pages, it is also known as The Cartago Hotel, so I have posted this review on both of them to maximize the number of people who can read it!!....

Just spent 2 weeks at the Hotel Cartago(San Miguel Hotel on the FirstChoice holidays website) from 20th May - 3rd June.
Plenty of plusses and 2 small negatives that did not spoil the holiday. We arrived late morning, the setting is quite stunning as you arrive on the coach. Check-in was very quick and reception staff always willing to help throughout our stay. The reception area is very large(incorporates a bar that opens in the evenings). You soon notice that the hotel is a little topsy turvy, a quirk I didn't mind at all. Reception, Main restaurant and Chinese restaurant are on the top floor of the building. and everything else is below, 8 floors to the hotel pool and bar, then slope or lift to the terrace, outside bar/fast food joint, where the Hotel meets/joins with The San Miguel Beach Club. This Hotel is pretty easy to navigate around but (1st negative) theirs only 2 lifts and at busy times getting into 1 is a nightmare.
There are 3 hotels in the Stella Polaris San Miguel Group and you can eat at whichever you desire as long as you get a voucher permitting you entry. However this is where my 2nd and biggest negative comes in. The restaurant in the hotel is large but with the voucher system open to everyone everyday some evening meals were chaos with queues up to 40 people long just to get to the food. Although most of the time it was only a few people queuing. I think it would be a good idea to limit the amount of times guests in the Beach Club and Hotel Galeon can use the restaurant per week to reduce the lengthy queues. 1 night people staying in the hotel had to leave the restaurant and come back later as all tables were full, it was only 8pm.
OK so negatives over(told you they weren't that bad, just a little annoying). Now to the good stuff....
Firstly the hotel and surrounding areas including the beach are kept extremely clean by a hard working team.
Our room was pretty big compared to some hotels we have stayed at, Bathroom was clean and more than adequate, wardrobe is very big(but the room would sleep 4),the air con units were very modern and unlike a lot of hotels you didn't need your room key or such systems to make it work so you can have it on as much or little as you want. Hotel has a policy for not accepting responsibility for valuables unless they are in the safety deposit box which you have to hire, works out at €16 per week and €6 deposit per stay, we also hired a mini fridge for €3 per day to make sure we always had cold bottled water. The beds weren't the comfiest but never are abroad. Rooms were cleaned daily including towels and bed linen changed regularly during our stay. Our room(along with most others) had a quite large sun terrace/balcony.
The food was always plentiful. The main restaurant was buffet style. Breakfast had salad, cheese, cold meat. yogurts cereals, bread, croissants, jams/marmalade even chocolate spread. hot breakfast includes mushrooms(heavy on the garlic) boiled eggs, scrambled egg, beans, cocktail sausages, larger sausages, bacon, chips(for breakfast!!) and if you went to the end freshly made omelettes (sure i've missed something).
Lunch and evening meals were kind of similar to each other, their was a good salad bar and hot was 2 meat dishes and 1 fish with (Plus daily specials cooked on request, same place as breakfast omelettes) various veg, potatoes, croquettes and yes of course CHIPS.(Brits abroad eh). The restaurant staff were always polite to us and work hard, its a very busy restaurant. Alfredo is the captain of the Restaurant and is very approachable and is always appreciative of feedback.
The hotel is bang on the beach so if the hotels terrace is full then the beach is only a few yards away and wasn't crowded at all, this is a small resort. You will have to pay for beach sun loungers but if you have a towel theirs plenty of open space. a short walk to the Spar which sells everything you will need.
The hotel has a small laundrette, which we used once and its cheap €3 for a 1 hour wash and 1 hour use of the dryer(not €3 each).
Their are several bars on the site, main hotel bar on floor 0, open from 10am until midnight, a bar in the Beach Club open 10am until midnight and the Western Saloon, which is open from 12-12, this includes in it the fast food snack bar open from 12-6 daily. Drinks are served in small plastic cups but they have an offer of plastic beakers that you can buy for €2 and your served your drinks in them all holiday(No brainer really). Drinks include all kinds of local spirits, non brand versions of Malibu etc, beer and an almost endless list of cocktails. (All Inclusive drinks stop at 11pm).
*ATTENTION FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN*(And all ice cream loving adults) ALL ice cream and ice lollies are included if your all inclusive.
And now the best bit of the holiday for me, the Daytime and Evening activities and entertainment. You will read about Zorro in endless reviews and he does take centre stage but he is very well supported by the rest of the team, which consisted of :- Ewa, Robbie, Shannon, Emma,Susanna and Megan. If you have kids they are going to have a ball, for the toddlers theirs a daily mini club run by Thomsons for them to go to from mid morning. For 7-12yr olds theirs a full program of daytime activities led by Emma,Susanna and Megan. For the teenagers and adults theirs a full list of activities led by Zorro,Ewa,Robbie and Shannon. At 1pm theirs a daily quiz. Kids win certificates, medals and T-shirts, Adults win T-shirts, beach bags, keyrings and bottles of booze.
We saw the full program of evening entertainment as they have week 1 and week 2. The highlight was Boogie Nights or should that be Boozy Night(Sangria like nowhere else on the planet), a whacky mad evening on the terrace culminating with a cracking finale. Their are several evenings where the entertainment is produced by the entertainment team, supported by often drunk holidaymakers, I laughed so much some nights. Their are entertainers from Kenya and Beijing, live music on Sundays with either a soul soloist or a soul trio.Not sure if that's a good idea with so many kids, they didn't know any of the songs......That wasn't a problem with the Rock/Pop singer called Danny Murphy (Week 2). He had something for everyone, best night out of the 3 containing live music. OK theirs 4 if you include Karaoke night. Lass called Mel was up first on Karaoke night and she nailed it, If you read this Mel get yourself on The X Factor or The Voice.
Kids are spoilt at The San Miguel, 8pm every night for Family Zone, Then Disco with Kika or Kiko the clown.

I have posted 10 pictures from this hotel on my duplicate review, please search for The Cartago Hotel to see them.

To sum up we had a great holiday, I can see why families with kids return year after year. Not sure we will go back every year but will at some point. Having looked on you tube it seems that not much changes year to year so a few years gap for us.

If you've never been here then its a must.

As I always say, my reviews are just my opinion but if you have any questions please feel free to message me and I will get back to you ASAP.

Room Tip: When you book request a sea view room on floor 3 or higher, the bay is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Big_ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,010 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
8.3 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#12 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
365 reviews
8.9 mi away
Invisa Hotel Ereso
Invisa Hotel Ereso
#2 of 13 in Es Canar
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing