We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant 3 star hotel”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“brilliant 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed from the 24 July to 7 August had a great time and soon realised why so many people go back year after year to this hotel.Staff are friendly and courteous, the animation team work hard to keep young and old amused.The hotel is clean,the food is of a good quality with plenty of choice for all even the most fussy of eaters.My only complaint was on visiting the chinese for the first and second sitting the food could have been hotter.Children and adults could even get lollies and ice cream from 1000 hrs to 2300 hrs,the resort is small but there is shops to cater for most needs but there is no chemist but a visit to the near by village of San Miguel can rectify this.The main restaurant has a amazing view over the bay and beach,at peak times it can be hard getting sunbeds around the 2 pools on site (1 sited on sister hotel) , sunbeds on beach cost 5 euros per bed and 5 euros for a parasol but the vendor does do a block booking discount.Buses available around the island also there is the aquabus from the beach to San Antonio and to Portinatx, enjoyed both trips and the amazing coastline.I would recommend paying the extra for a sea view room as the pool area can be noisy.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room away from the noisy pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rl018a5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    112
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
128
75
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Great selection of food and drinks, no problem being vegetarian at all, the restaurant very clean, it almost looks too small for the size of the hotel but we never had a problem finding a seat. Staff very friendly and pleasant. I loved the "swap boxes" one in the thompson office and one by the western saloon, you can put things you don't want anymore in there, magazines, sun cream, inflatables etc and then you can pick up something if you would like it and it's in the box! What a great idea. You can hire a fridge but it was a bit pricey, I think about €4 a day, we brought a travel one with us in our suitcase which worked out well. The beach is absolutely beautiful, you can hire sunbeds and parasols at €5 each per day but lots of people just used towels or the folding beach mats. The aqua boat service leaves from the beach and goes to various destinations, we went to san antonio for €15 which was well worth the price. We also did the sunday sunset cruise which was a bit strange, you are only on the boat for ten mins each way and are dropped at the next beach along for three hours, there was a small hippy market on the beach there and some bars but that was about it! On the other side of the beach there is a spar/gift shop where you can get pretty much anything you might need, great for big bottles of water, I never really grasped how to fill up water bottles in the hotel but others seemed to so I think that was just me! As some others have said, the lifts could be a problem at busy times, I'm sure that travelling within school holidays meant that the place was busier than usual. The rooms were basic but clean and the balcony looking over the bay was fantastic. All in all, I was very impressed and cannot wait to go back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Allie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My Wifey and i just got back from celebrating our wedding anniversary at the San Miguel Hotel 15 - 22 July 2013

You don't quite know what your'e letting your self in for at first as the entrance from the car park is just a canopy and a sign but then you walk in through the main doors to an amazing view.

At first glace the hotel is immaculate you can even smell the bleach in the air the View over the bay is amazing, at the reception desk the staff are more than happy to help with your every need regardless of how many times you keep going back asking questions.

the food is fantastic every morning there's a full continental and the capability of a full English or even an omelette even right down to having bottles of HP sauce, you could even have toastie if you wanted, there's plenty of fresh fruit and not forgetting the fresh Croissants and Pan Aux Chocolate baked every day.
and for all other meals throughout the day you are offered offered much of the same you were just constantly spoilt for choice and even the kids had there own little servery and don't forget some evening toasties and a cup of hot chocolate for supper

There is also the Chinese resteraunt which has a limited amount of food but its worth it but you must book this a day in advance, you also have the tapa tapa bar well worth it nibbles and a beer in a nice comfortable surrounding but be warned you have to get in here early as this is a small bar and gets busy quick.

oh a word to the wise if you are going to eat do it early as the restaurant gets full quickly because most of the people from the Club use it as well and the lifts become impossible to get

now if you just fancy quick simple food like burgers, hot dogs, chicken etc you can always go to the Western saloon there's quite a good choice of fast foods being cooked from their kitchen,

plus here's one for the kids at every bar has ice creams cornets and ice cream sandwhich at the western saloon there's a DIY ice cream machine and popcorn a plenty if you wanna see some thing funny stand in the sea about knee deep and throw some popcorn in the water the fish go mad for it

all the bars serve a good choice of spirits and some cocktails as well and again the staff are more than happy to help if you ask nicely they will make it,

on that note the pools the Hotel pool is small and get's busy quick the Club pool is a good size and has a bit more to do around it again gets busy early but there is the beach which has plenty to do what with Pedlos Kayaks the banana boat and so much more

there is a few shops a couple of other restaurants and a couple of other bars if you fancy a change of scenery. there are also loads of excursions available.

Now here's the one for the haters as i have noticed you have posted pics and made comments the rooms are small but then with a double and two singles you don't expect much room, and yes they could do with a serious bit of updating but hey they are air conditioned cleaned everyday with fresh towels and only really for sleeping in plus this is a 3 Star hotel i ask of you go to a 3 Star hotel in the UK and tell me if you get there what you get here

if you have children this place also had seven people dedicated to keeping them occupied whatever their age with various activities during the day and although we only went a couple of times in the evening the entertainment was great with Zorro and the team, a lot of audience participation involved though so be warned,

in short if you wanted an all inclusive Holiday that the whole family could enjoy and didn't want to spend a massive amount of money going out everyday this is the place for you it really has got something for everyone i personally cant wait to go back there with the whole family.

Room Tip: if you want a bit of quiet in the evenings then Email ahead of your trip and ask for a room on the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrDeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel was in a perfect setting. Very relaxed nice food hard working staff. No complaints just perfect!, beautiful beach nice prom lots of boat trips free canoes on sea. Lovely views good aircon loved it!

Room Tip: All are sea views I think. Best not directly below restaurant tho as noisy I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

got back home on the 10th july 2013 and booked to go back to the same place next year on the 11th. what a fabulous holiday. brilliant location, friendly staff, clean hotel and an exceptional entertainment team. we had an amazing time and were sad to be leaving. never had a problem getting a sunbed or a table in the restaurant. plenty of food options throughout the day.would suggest increasing the all inclusive hours till 12 midnight. enjoyed the kayaks which are free and loved the glass bottomed boat. caves a short walk away were good but very hot. childrens and adult activities very good, something for everyone. can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We visited the San Miguel hotel with my sister and her young family, and found it to be one of the friendliest hotels that we have stayed. The room was basic but very clean, with a good size balcony and an amazing view across the beach.
The food was of a good standard, and if you fancy something different there were a few bars/restaurants to choose from in the resort.
The entertainment was really good fun, and Zorro and his team were very entertaining, if you get a chance ask him about his trip on the glass bottom boat, free booze for the adults and snacks and drinks for the kids, and lots of laughs!
Don't book any excursions with your rep,try the local excursion shop just up the road from the hotel, we booked a catamaran trip, and it was a really fun day.
If I had to say anything negative about this holiday, is that the local transport could be more frequent, but saying this it dd not hinder our stay at all.
Have a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I have just returned home from my trip to this stunning hotel, and I am absolutely gutted to be home.

My family, they stopped in the beach club while I stopped in the gorgeous hotel with my boyfriend. On arrival, we were greeted by amazingly friendly receptionists who had our room instantly ready. The room was large, spotless, and had a breathtaking view of the sea from our balcony. The room was cleaned every single day without fail, the bedding was fresh and the beds were very comfortable.
We had a remote controlled electric aircon which was fantastic. We could set our temperature, speed and even put it on sleep timer. Perfect, cool room for when we arrived in for the day.

The day entertainment was FANTASTIC. They have both entertainment for children and adults. Adults - darts, killer pool, French bowls, shuttle board, volley ball, water polo etc etc And if that's not to your taste there is free canoeing and other watersports on the beach. The entertainers are hilarious, constantly smiling and always getting people involved. People who complain about the entertainers clearly need to look up the definition of Fun. Zorro does use adult humour, however not often is it before 21:30 when he is scheduled on stage. He uses innuendos which children clearly don't understand, and NEVER swears on stage.
The other entertainers are just as great, Eva is so welcoming and kind as are Robbie and Shannon.

The hotel restaurant is gorgeous and over looks the beautiful sea it has a panoramic glass roof however is fitted with air conditioners to keep the restaurant cool. The food is great, especially the soups! A different one every day. I stopped for 2 weeks and the food in the restaurant is different for 1. However, me and my boyfriend booked into the Chinese restaurant next door numerous times, along with the beach club restaurant for a change. There is the tapa tapa bar also, along with the Western Saloon. The western saloon is more take-out fast food, however not everything is greasy. This is NOT the only place to eat in the day. The restaurants are open more or less all day.
There is a beautiful seafood restaurant and pizzeria on the beach also.
The evening entertainment is great. It is childrens mini disco until 9pm. After, It is a mixture of all sorts - Beijing acrobats, African dancers, Karaoke, U Bet, Men vs Woman etc, all of which get you involved. Unless you're a boring sod and you'd prefer to sit watching grass grow.
The evening entertainment lasts until 11pm and the music stops playing at around 20 past. The bar over the road , Caseys, is fantastic. The drinks aren't expensive, there is live Irish music and karaoke. Caseys close all their doors and windows at 12:30 so the music cannot be heard. Stopping in the hotel, I could not hear anything past this time, even with the balcony door open.

This is a family orientated fantastic hotel, and I really could not fault it. Back again in 2014, to have another memorable year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank D_is4delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
875 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,179 reviews
4.9 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.6 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Property: San Miguel Hotel
Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing