We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location but very enjoyable holiday and nice hotel”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here from 7th-14th May 2014 with 4 adults & 7 children aged 16, 15, 12, 10, 7, 6, and 4 months. Had 3 rooms on the 1st floor. On first impression the hotel looks nice on the cliff side- the location of the hotel next to the beach is brilliant. The rooms were very clean and the furniture was nice- however they are quite small for families. The food was good, quite a good choice. The western salloon snack bar is good for the day time and the chinese resturant serves lovely food- well worth a visit or 2. The swimming pool areas are very good, again clean, lots of sun loungers and the pool is a good size. There are pool tables (you have to pay for), daytime activities such as archery and darts and evening entertainment (standard holiday entertainment although the kids loved their part of it). There are kids activites run by the hotel throughout the day and also a Thomson Kids Club (this was good and the reps were good but you have to pay 7 euros per child for some of the evening activities)
The resort is very quiet, 3 shops and a couple of resturants but is set in the countryside and is a nice setting. Get the bus to Ibiza town or Es Cana for a nice day out in busier areas.
Was not impressed with Thomson with regards to the excursions- we booked for 8 of us to go to the water park and it was cancelled twice so we ended up not being able to go.
negatives about the hotel- not enough lifts- you can end up waiting for ages for one and with the resturant being on level 8 we didnt fancy lifting the pushchair up 8 flights of stairs multiple times a day. We were put directly above the entertainment- annoying with young children and the size of the rooms were the only things that we werent happy with.
Overall I think that this is a nice resort and hotel and I would return although a week is long enough.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in rooms 106, 105 and 104- right above the entertainment- very noisy with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the San miguel resort the 2nd week of may 2014 with family including my 5 year old daughter. Firstly its only 25 minutes from the airport - quick transfer. Hotel rooms may seem basic but contain everything you require for a comfortable stay, very clean. I would recommend paying extra for a seaview, the view of the bay is very pretty and the balconies are a suntrap all afternoon. The hotel is spacious with 8 floors, the only downside being the lack of lifts. I could see this being an issue for wheelchair use. The outside space is very large - the top pool is smaller therefor more quite as the families with children prefer the use of the ground floor pool. The ground floor pool has a slide into the water and various other features for the children to enjoy and is also very spacious. The outside of the hotel is kept very clean. One of the best points of the hotel was the kids club - run by 'crazy caitlin, chlobo and seanus' which my 5 year old daughter REALLY loved. The kids club is run through thomson and the staff are very friendly with all qualifications and checks complete. I recommend paying the 7 euros for the "kids club parties" in the evenings as the children come away with sweets - drinks - tops and even puzzles. However free sessions are also available too and just as much fun. I found there was always something you could enjoy foodwise and there was a variety at every meal. Would definitely book in for the chinese. Yes the drinks come in the small plastic cups as you would find in any all inclusive hotel - however I paid 2 euros for my own cup to keep which was double the size. The measures given once this is purchased is double the amount very worth doing for keeping your water intake up in the day - or if you prefer a strong drink in the evening. The cocktails are lovely - very strong and the san miguel hotel couldnt be seen as stingy with their alcohol measurements. Perhaps the downside of this hotel would be seen as the location as the taxi prices are fairly high - and the buses are not regular. Anybody wishing to explore ibiza as an island who is not wishing to hire a car would suit staying towards the south of the island as the connections are alot easier. That aside the bay the hotel is located in is very beautiful - very clean and has a few shops to browse in. There are a few cafes and bars on the bay too. All in all we enjoyed this hotel as a family and my daughter was sad to leave - I would highly recommend this to any family with young children wanting a relaxing holiday with plenty of fun for the kids. I hope you found my review helpful, happy travelling :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank natasha-chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for 1st week of May. After reading many reviews and how much people return to this hotel we were very optimistic. I think if you are travelling with children you may enjoy it more as the hotel was full of kids running around. The food would be quite good if it was ever hot when you came to eat it ! The rooms were very basic and although the cleaners come in every day I would not say they were cleaned to a particularly high standard. We had some issues and were moved to what the receptionist called a superior room ! There was nothing superior about it the only difference was that it had more beds in it ! I would however like to say that our reps Sally and Leigh were absolutely amazing and could not do enough for us ! Probably 2 of the best reps we have ever had in a resort. I have never stayed in any other all inclusive hotel where you have to pay for and leave a deposit for pool towels or a safe in the room. Wi fi is also chargeable ! The drinks are served in small plastic cups and guess what if you want a bigger plastic beaker you have to pay for it ! The staff are in the hotel are not particularly friendly apart from the entertainment team and a coupe of guys in the bar. The location is beautiful with lovely views across the bay but apart from a couple of shops and bars there is nothing else here. Having travelled to many different places over the last couple of years I would say that this hotel is extremely over priced and there are much better value for money options out there!
I will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must as you get a lovely view across the bay and the sun on your terrace all af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Brilliant place excellent hotel and staff always friendly and entertainment is class good food lots of choice been twice and definitely be going back in the near future beautiful place to stay to chill out or have fun

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mazsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here the 2nd week of June 2013. Weather was not too hot but a little chilly in the evenings. Rooms are the only downside of this hotel, being very basic. Room have 1 double bed and 2 single beds just for the 2 of us, which left no space. Water pressure on sink low. Bad smell in room and corridor on day 1 and maid could not smell anything. It lingered around all week. Good points view from room over the beach, location, nice walks, food great, drinks ok cocktails a little to be desired. Went on a trip to San Antonio in the evening booked within one of the shops nearby. Don't eat in the other hotels, looked to be a bit unorganised. Chinese restaurant good but some guests greedy. Tourist train ok, went to portinax and local church which they had no key to open, which was disappointed. Ticket system needs sorting. No rep in and out on the transfers. Rep meeting unorganised and a large group of other guests being noisy so could not here her. Rooms can be noisy at night with others having no consideration when going to bed. Lovely beach only 10 euros for beds and parasol. Give the caves a miss.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loubylou74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here in Oct 2013 .Myself & Hubby and My Dad & his Friend. We had adjoining rooms which was a nice change, with huge balconies overlooking the resort and sea. Rooms were large and had all we needed for a comfortable stay. Restaurant food was very nice with a decent choice and the Chinese Restaurant (pre bookable) was a nice change and can be recommended,Entertainment outdoors was varied and good,and getting around the hotel and resort is easy enough as my 85 yr old Dad can testify,Very clean Hotel and staff helpful and friendly. The only downside was .you have to pay for wifi password...Free in the pub down the road. we are hoping to go back there later this year with grandaughter as great hotel for kids

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We are just back from san miguel htl stayed 9/10/13 to 16/10/13.great htl always something to do.rms clean beds changed every day.food nice but could be a bit hotter.great htl for kid enterainment staff great.good value for money but you still get people moaning they are looking for 5* htl for 3* money.would reccomend htl to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank doreenmckillop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,012 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Can Curreu
Can Curreu
#1 of 3 in Sant Carles de Peralta
182 reviews
4.7 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing