We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant entertainment, let down by hotel”
Review of San Miguel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port de Sant Miguel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Miguel Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

returned from Ibiza on the 23 rd July. Second year of going to this resort. Entertainment brilliantly led by Zorro, great bunch and good varied acts.
I contacted hotel to try to secure last years room, didn't get that one but the room directly above. Fast response and we were very happy.
I move onto the lifts. We had 3 problems in the lift, 2 of which resulted in members of our family getting stuck. The hotel management didn't check on their welfare , neither did thomsons reply to my complaint. The top pool lifeguard witnessed my daughters 2 panic attacks and just sat and watched me assist her.He spent most of our 2 weeks on his mobile, getting the ladies phone numbers and wandering around. From this experience we won't be returning.
Great location,stunning views, not far from airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We returned to this hotel, going all inclusive for second year running in July 2014. We booked last year with First Choice and stayed in 2 adjoining rooms on 7th floor, this year we were put in a 'superior room' on 5th floor. I must say it does seem the higher up the hotel you go the better the rooms appear to be. We were disappointed with room this year as there are 6 of us (2 adults and 3 teenagers and a 2 year old) and only had one bathroom between us this year as opposed to last year when there were 2, also the adjoining room did not have a balcony or even a window so was very very dark. I did go and see reception but they said it would be an extra 580 euros to upgrade which we could just not afford so just got on with it really. cleaners come in every day without fail even if you put up your 'no molestar' sign, they will come in later when you take down and are very helpful.
Internal door did keep locking itself and had to get help to open a few times which was inconvenient and awkward.
Apart from that must say we still had a lovely time, the kids all love it there and we feel safe enough to let them go off and do their own thing, love the fact that the beach is just a hop skip and jump away. The food is hit and miss but the great thing about all inclusive is if you don't like it grab something else. Would say the chinese was better in 2013 than this year though. ALL The staff are extremely friendly and are great with our small daughter.
We do still love it here but will try somewhere else next year now. Only advice I can give is stay high up in the hotel floors 7 or 8 are the nicest!!
All round in 2013 I would have given 5 stars, this year is a 4, but that was only because did not like room so much. Still adore the place and the staff and how at home you are made to feel.

Room Tip: Floors 7 and 8 very nice, ask for beach view if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have travelled here 11 times now and still think it is a great place to stay in Ibiza if you just want to relax by the pool or on the beach. Lots of activities to join in if you want to, arranged by the fantastic animation team. Food very good for a 3 star all inclusive - lots of choice at all meals and can book the chinese restaurant if you wish.

Hotel is always spotlessly clean and staff are friendly.

Much quieter this year than previously at both pools but the advantage being that you can get a sunbed at any time of day rather than having to get up at the crack of dawn!

Have very fond memories of all our times at San Miguel - you will either love it - as most viistors do - or hate it. We love it and although we have booked Mexico for next year, I would never rule out a return to my favourite holiday location - fantastic views and the fact that it is such a small resort are a bonus for me. But it doesn't take long to travel to other parts of the island if you want to do so.

Improvements being made every year - aircon units being replaced o that they are more modern and not as noiy and large flat screenTV in rooms now free with good choice of channels (especially appreciated this year for world cup/wimbledon and tour de france!!)

Would recommend a trip to Benniras on the Aquabus on a Sunday evening.

Room Tip: Rooms are either sea view or pool/inland view. Both are amazing but better on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We emailed in advance to ask for a quiet room and were delighted to be allocated a room on the 5th floor (near the end of the corridor ) with beautiful sea/beach views. Room clean and tidy, although not enough storage for a family of four but we managed. Food in the restaurant was of high quality and always piping hot, although not as much choice as previous all inclusive hotels. Children's section was not so good but mine always found something to eat from the main buffet. Three theme nights each week, fish, cheese and carvery. All very nice. The Chinese restaurant was lovely, plenty of choice and made a change from eating in the main restaurant. During the day snacks were available from the Western Saloon Bar and were ok. We ate there a few times when we couldn't be bothered to change out of swimwear to go up to the eighth floor!! Drinks were plentiful and big selection as were icecreams. My children particularly enjoyed the Mr Whippy and popcorn machines! What makes this place so popular with so many guests returning year after year is their fabulous entertainment team, Zorro and his team are so friendly and give their all to make sure everyone enjoys themselves. A massive thank you goes to the lovely Susana and Emma who my two children loved. They were so kind and polite and kept all the children active everyday with activities such as football, table tennis, quoits, french boules, skittles, giant jenga etc. My children are shy but couldn't wait to join each game and that was purely down to Susana and Emma. The kids club team were absolutely fantastic especially Caitlin and Khloe who were so friendly. Our children really enjoyed the activities on offer. I must mention Leigh the First choice report who was so helpful. Always around the complex. On my daughters 6th birthday she put a card and balloons on our hotel door for her, a really nice thought. They have kids mini disco every evening followed by a show by Zorros team or a professional outside act. Something for everyone. The swimming pools were very clean although cold but soon got used to it. Sun beds were a problem during our second week as it was May half term so I Would imagine Summer school holidays is a nightmare!! This complex is right on the beach which was lovely, free canoeing which was brilliant. We took the local bus into Ibiza Town which is well worth a visit. Overall a lovely hotel for families with decent food and great activities and entertainment. Wouldn't recommend if you like somewhere to walk to and plenty of shops as San Miguel is a very small, quiet resort. Keep up the good work, we may return one day.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter and really hot balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsWrighty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks hotel very clean, room spotless cleaners were brilliant, view over beach and sea excellent, food very good , entertainment for children was good but for adults a bit low key as we didnt have children it was a bit of a turn off but the drinks were good.but we still enjoyed our hols the only complaint I had was the hand sanitizers were empty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week all inclusive. Place is very quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of the larger resorts. Hotel very clean and room had nice view of the beach and woods. Staff were helpful and spoke good English. Pool area nice and kept clean. Beach also good. Restaurant had large selection of food, breakfast and lunch had the best selection. Chinese restaurant also available, but must be booked in advance as only small. Rooms clean but beds were very hard, making them a little uncomfortable to sleep in. Had good air con which was essential at night. Drinks, snacks and ice creams also available. All perfect if you don't want to do that much or if you have a family and want everything in the one place. Not good if you want to party the night away. Rooms also have TVs with lots of different stations including BBC and UTV. This is an international hotel welcoming French, Russian and Italians, so lots of different personalities and cultures to accommodate, which I think they did well. All in all a good week.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AJP3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned after spending a week at San Miguel resort and we have only good things to say about the resort.
The hotel room was simple but functional and more importantly cleaned every day and we had a lovely view from hour balcony.
We were all happy with the food in the hotel restaurant, plenty of choice and even managed to please fussy children. I would recommend the Chinese restaurant, you have to book in advance and it was well worth it as we all enjoyed our meal there.
I did hear that the food in the beach club restaurant was not very good and it was always hard to get a table.
The Western Saloon snack bar provides the basics to keep you going (more so the kids really) with chips, nuggets, etc. All the children enjoyed the all inclusive ice creams (magnums, cornettos, lollies)
Both pool areas are really clean and there is a children's pool in both. The younger children enjoyed the kids club and there were activities to keep the older ones amused too so the adults had opportunity for some peace!
The beach is lovely white sands, clear blue seas coupled with free pedalos/canoes with all inclusive. We did the glass bottom boat trip too which was lovely.
The evening entertainment was good Zorro and his team were very funny. We found all the hotel staff very friendly. Fantastic sunsets on the beach in the evening great for photo opportunities.
I've seen some negative reviews for this hotel which I think are pretty unfair, not sure how things would be in peak season but we were more than happy and had a great holiday and we may go back in the future. I spoke to several people who returned every year. If you're expective 4* luxury like Sandals resorts etc then no this would not be for you but this is a 3* hotel and it did exceed our expectations and we all had a great time.
The only negative experience we had was with the rude and grumpy shop owner in the hotel, she followed anyone with kids around the shop chastising those children that dared to pick up any of the little trinkets. Needless to say we didn't spend our money there and bought inflatables etc from the spar around the corner instead - her loss!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachy0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,004 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,257 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
#2 of 4 in Cala Tarida
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Hotel

Address: Carretera General del Sur, 07815, Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing