We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balansat Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Club Cartago(Port de Sant Miguel)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments(Port de Sant Miguel)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza(Port de Sant Miguel)(Great Value!)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza(Port de Sant Miguel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club San Miguel(Port de Sant Miguel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
246
267
121
42
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
267
121
42
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplash poolself cateringirish barcaseys barfishyoung childrennext yearfamily holidaygreat holidayibiza townpull out bedmini discofamily poolparrot showbig poolkids clubsalad
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

August 2013

Most of us save all year so we can have holidays. We look forward to them, a break, some sun and hopefully a relaxing time.
Unfortunately this year failed to meet modest expectations

.
 Travel cot came bottom didn’t fit clearly stained with faeces
 Plugs missing , lights not working
 Arrogant receptionist when requested new cot and other things fixed
 Contacted reception regarding concern over microwave - nothing done
 Microwave subsequently ignited totally burnt out inside
, (only when electrics were cut out did it stop ) – room filled with smoke
 Offered a new microwave! How about check the electrics in the whole room as the microwave was situated next to a gas cylinder.!
 Moved to a smaller room! Made to feel like I was slightly over reacting. No apology.
 Food same at breakfast, every day, Lunch small alterations, but very similar on a daily basis,
Dinner usually bland doesn’t think the chef had heard of seasoning.
 Did I ever see any of the pools being checked for quality of water? No
 Faeces needed to be removed from infant water park – did it close? No

The sad fact is I could go on and pick this place to pieces, it wasn’t clean, the staff were miserable, (sorry the ladies who cleaned in the restaurant and rooms made a considerable effort to be friendly especially towards young children) Litter was everywhere, sunbeds and canopies were broken, it just looked unloved.
The entertainment team never stopped working although the quality wasn’t the best, but I may put that down to the budget they are given.
The whole failing in my opinion of these apartments is not enough staff, one bar man for over 400 guests.
One or maybe two caretakers for maintenance of the whole complex.
A receptionist clearly lacked any people skills, probably due to the constant stream of complaints.

They incident with the electrics gave me great concern, especially as they were never checked and people were moved straight into this room after we asked to be relocated.


Not likely to return!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Helen G,

Firs of all let us thank you for your comment on us. Guest feedback is what help us improve year after year.

We're really sorry to hear you didn't have your best holidays with us.

What I could say is that:

All the cots are cleaned and disinfected, they can have some stain but you have to kwnow that they are cleaned. Anyway, if a guest ask for another one, the cot is replaced.

Regarding the microwave, the maintenance staff checked all that was needed, we would never leave our guests in danger. Then, the microwave was changed.

In our buffet we have at least 6 different hot meals and a huge variety of cold meals for the guest to choose. We always have vegetables, fruit, fish, meat, some french fries..etc.

And at breakfast the options are corissants, different kinds of cereals and biscuits and different kinds of bread, eggs, bacon, tomatoes beans, fruit, yougurt....etc.

We'll do our best to keep improving the buffet.

The swimming pools and the common areas are done everyday on a regular basis and we'll try to strenght the cleaning service.

Again, thank you veyr much for your comment and we hope you give us another chance to change your image on us. We'll keep on improving ;)


Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our 15 year old son for a week half board from the 23/8/13. Lovely helpful friendly staff and great family entertainment. The food was good and great variety at both breakfast and dinner. The only thing I would say is the interpretations of the food are sometimes not exact. Lovely beach and lots to do. I would say the hotel is ideal for families with small children. We had a hire car so went out everyday to San Antonio, Ibiza town, The water park and lots of other places that were easy accessible and the roads are excellent if you stick to the main roads, bit scary if you go off the beaten track. There was entertainment in the evening aimed at families, parrot show, reptile show, singers, disco etc. We found a lovely sports bar down the road with free wifi and spent most evenings there. Lovely caves up the road within walking distance. We went to the hippy market on the Wednesday, where I had my purse and phone stolen from my zipped bag, which was a nightmare but this has no connection to a great hotel. The rooms were clean and we had clean towels everyday if we wanted them. We had thunder and lightening and rain but didn't spoil our holiday in this great location. There are lots of little shops and a hire/trip company right next to the hotel so if you didn't want to leave the cove then you don't have too but we enjoyed exploring Ibiza. Lots of sun beds and parasols around the pool too.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the road/beach on the 2nd floor, which was noisy at times as there is an irish bar attached to the hotel but not a problem.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajlcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear ajlcuk,

We are really happy you enjoyed our stay with us, and thank you very much for your feedback.

Hearing from guests is what help us improve year after year.

It's a shame you had your purse stolen in the hippy market, please in any case like that one, go to the reception and we'll try to do our best to help you contact the police.

We're glad you like IBIZA that much and we would love to see you and all your family again in the near future so you can keep on exploring the island ;)

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband, 2 girls (4&5) and I stayed here all inclusive in Aug 13 for 1 week.
We booked direct with the hotel and had no admin problems.
There was no proper reception so we were unsure where to go at first, but found the bar fairly quickly and it was tagged on the end!
The hotel room: basic, spacious & clean, it had everything you needed and the fridge was super cold....great for storing drinks. The only thing that let it down was the bathroom. It was small and awkward getting in because of the door. Also the shower head leaked down the wall behind the shower curtain and flooded the bathroom on the first use....we showered holding the head from then on!
Our hotel was roadside facing, which is right by the Irish bar and bin collections. Other reviews have picked up on this so I thought I would leave my thoughts:
The Irish bar is noisy & good fun. It was mainly used by teens that have gone on holiday with their parents. They close the glass doors at around midnight which does keep the noise down. I am a really light sleeper, but I could just about hear the noise from the Irish bar and bin collections when tucked up in bed. Overall I didn't find either too noisy or sleep preventing.
The food: well cooked, basic, lots of choice, bland to taste and very repetitive. Typical all inclusive buffet. The burger bar was fine, but the man is sooooooooooooo grumpy!!!!
Drinks: they do baileys (which has now made me FAT!) but a good choice of alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks available. The BIG let down is that the water on tap (the drinks machine taps.....not actual kitchen sink taps!) was not drinking water....if you wanted fresh water you had to buy it. They also put the salt water in the hot drinks machine.
Pools: choice of 3......this was the best bit for us. As the sunbeds get reserved pretty quick, and we were late risers! we just alternated the pools by way of finding a sunbed. The girls enjoyed the variety from the splash/slide fun pool, to jumping in the bigger pools anyway. Out of the 2 bigger pools one was fairly shaded which was better for the sunburnt victims!
They had entertainment throughout the day for kids, although they had to pay for t-shirt painting (not quite so ALL inclusive!!) There was a park right next to the kids pool, buffet room and evening entertainment. Overall the layout was great, when the girls had finished their dinner we let them play in the park whilst we had our dessert and coffee watching them.
Evening entertainment could have been better! Good for small kids with mini disco but they did bingo 3 nights of our 7 night stay (which you also had to pay for). The other nights were singers and a parrot show which was good.
The beach in my own opinion was the worst part of the holiday. Kids could only go out 1m or so before it got too deep. Sand was pebbly, and it was so SMALL....if you like nice long walks on the beach....you might need to visit another! They did have banana boat rides and nice looking restaurants that were recommended but we didn't do either.
As for location......there is hardly anything to do/see for young families. Its a very quiet cove, 2 shops, no cash machine, cigi's need to be purchased at the bar vending machine next door. You can get a taxi into the village for 14 EUR which isn't any more exciting but at least it does have a cash machine.

Overall kids really enjoyed themselves, made lots of friends which gave me and the husband time to ourselves. We felt safe letting the kids run free in the park and other families (mostly British) where friendly. Staff worked hard (same staff morning to evening) and were all friendly........Excellent value for money, glad we went for a week and would recommend to other young families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on us! We are really glad you had a great time.


It's always nice to hear that your work is valued ;).

Regarding the shower and the bathroom problems, please, any time, feel free to go straight to the reception and our maintenance team will do their best to repair any bad smell or the head of the shower. We want you to feel like home and to enjoy your stay with us.

About the drinking water, you don't have to worry it's actually real drinking water. However, you can tell it's different from the bottle ones as it comes from a well and this water always taste different than the water we can buy in a supermarket.

Again, Thank you very much for you support and we hope to see you soon in the near future! ;)

Regards,

Balansat-Torremar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lovely hotel in a very quiet part of Ibiza. Located in a small cove with nice beach. Hotel is ideal if you have small children as the set up is great with safe water slides and paddling pools and two further larger pools. Outside terrace with plastic glasses and a good variety of food options at meal times. Grill serving snacks of toasties, hot dogs, burgers and chips. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Rooms were a good size with cooking facilities, fridge/freezer and air conditioning. Would only go with children as the hotel is not really suitable for couples as it is dominated with children.
Not much too do away from the hotel as there are only three shops in the small resort and getting anyway was a taxi or decent bus trip away.
Resort is peaceful and relaxed, hotel is great for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comment on us, thank you for your time!

We're really happy to hear you had a great holidays with us. We try to make everybody feel happy and safe around the resort.

That's why we have to different swimming pool areas: one next to the splash pool where families will kids usually are and another one next to reception where adults or families with teenagers usually set their camping.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Beautiful location
Lovely layout of hotel very spacious and pretty
Entertainment not bad
Food basic but that was to be expected
Rooms nice size..we did all have a good time!...BUT
Dusty under the beds
Never saw the patio areas cleaned, you couldn't walk around withou flip flops on, floors very dirty!
Tables weren't wiped down, which then attracted loads of flies, it was crawling
Snack man seemed lovely but my god was he slow bless him painfully slow! and he was covered with flies
Pools dirty, my son kept getting bits in his mouth so refused to swim in the main one
Check in was a nightmare keys wouldn't work waiting around for ages then when we got to the room it wasn't cleaned.
If it wasn't for the fact that the kids seemed happy and the location was great, i would of given less for this review...sorry Balansat but if the place was cleaner and more staffed you would be a wonderful holiday destination, please work on it! and we would then most certainly return!
ps I'm far from fussy i'm just being honest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickynoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Nickynoos,

First of all thank you very much for your comment on us.

We really appreciate you taking some time to help us improve.

Regarding the not cleaned room at your arrival, we have to apologize for that as it should have been checked before your arrival. We'll do our best so this problem doesn't occur any more.

The common areas are cleaned at early morning and evening, and the swimming pools are cleaned when they're closed at late evening. However, we'll take your recommendation into account and we'll try to strenght the cleaning services.

Our aim is to make guest feel like at home. We're a family business and we want all of you to feel part of our big community.

We'll love to see you in the near future!

Regards,

Balansat-Torremar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews