We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and beautiful location!”
Review of Balansat Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balansat Resort
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I booked this holiday after reading good reviews despite it reading as a 2 star. Thanks to previous reviews I took a taxi transfer which cost 34euros which was far cheaper than the travel companies offered. I had requested a ground floor apartment due to health needs and was given the nearest room possible!
Our room was next to Caseys the Irish Bar, apart from one night we were not bothered by noise. The apartment was spotless, cleaned every day, fresh towels every day and frequent change of bedding.
Great care was taken early every morning to clean and jet wash the water park pool and the other pools were cleaned and maintained to a high standard.It was a shame at the end of each day these areas were strewn with litter that guests couldn't be bothered to walk a couple of metres to the bin.
The bar staff were very friendly there were hardly ever any queues despite the first week being in the school holidays.All staff worked incredibly hard in every area of the hotel.
The hotel had several nationalities staying and everyone was very friendly, and the kids got on great.
The all inclusive package was great value for money, the food was good, i am a very fussy eater but never went hungry and my family all ate really well, the range of freshly grilled meats was great, as was every mealtime.
My only slight negative might be better entertainment, some nights were amazing with parrot and reptile shows and others were bingo!!
Overall this hotel is fantastic offering great value for money, a great place for families, in a lovely location.
I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Kym L,

Thank you very much for taking some of your time to write a comment on us.

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hopefully will see you again in the near future.

Every year we try to improve, and we work really hard to make the stay of our cients their best holidays.

Again, thanks for the support.

Regards,

The Balansat - Torremar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

we booked flights transfers and this hotel via travel republic and travelled during half term week.
After reading the reviews I was a little unsure what to expect, but I need not have worried.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful even when we arrived early hours of the morning.
The rooms were basic but clean, the beds were made and towels changed a couple of times during the week.
The splash pool and the park were brilliant for my five year old, there were also two other pools which were well kept.
The entertainment team put on plenty of activities and shows during the week( bouncy castle, face painting, bird shows, karaoke to name but a few).
We stayed all inclusive, there was a variety of foods at meal times also snacks and ice cream available outside of the meal times. Drinks available all day from the two bars also self service with meals.
The apartments are right next to the beach and although it is only a small resort there are enough shops etc nearby.
If you want to venture out of the resort the buses are really good and cheap.
A lot of reviews moaned about the noise of the Irish bar, our room was close and we could hear it but it wasn't loud enough that we couldn't sleep.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday for a very good price!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear guest,

We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

And thank you for the time you took to write a comment on us, we really appreciate it ;)

We're a family business and we want all the guest to feel part of our big family, so we'll hope to see you again and to help you enjoyed your holidays!

Regards,

Balansat-Torremar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The reviews on this hotel seem to be either very good or very poor. The truth is it is somewhere in the middle and just about good value. It looked like 85/90% were British on holiday there, which has it's negative's and positives. Ie people were quite friendly and queued for the bars/restaurant but us Brits are a dirty bunch and don't know how to use a bin and most don't seem to care what their kids are doing. The room ( 203 ) we had was very basic and had an awful smell in the bathroom on the first day and had a view over the second pool and splash pool. We used another room ( 101 ) on the last day in a different block to have a shower and it was far better than ours, so it may be worth checking this before you go. We emailed before we went to make sure we were not over the Irish bar which the hotel obliged with, but to be honest it seems it is a lot of fuss about nothing as the noise is not that bad anyway. Our bed was changed every day but towels were not until we started chucking the used towels in a corner on the floor of the bathroom, they changed them every day after that. The AC was one of the best we have used, in fact we had to turn it down at one stage as we were too cold. The restaurant has quite a good selection, the meats are the best thing they do as they cook them in front of you so they are nice and fresh and HOT. The staff are excellent in here and keep on top of tidying the tables. There are few problems though - The so called clean plates are disgusting, I had to pick up to 5 plates before I could find anything that looked like it was sort of clean every day. Certain types of veg ie brussel sprouts , green beans, cauliflower ect were boiled to a mush and their seems to be a big problem keeping the heat in some of the foods, they seem to put some food out at least an hour before opening, so this maybe part of the problem. I am not usually fussy about the heat of food, I don't mind if it is luke warm, but not freezing!! Yes I know their is a microwave, but it's not same and some foods are not safe to reheat. It would be nice if they had a sign to tell you what soup was in the pot instead of guessing. I have to say this is the first time on holiday that I have had tummy ache for most of my holiday!! so read into that what you will. The restaurant has a lot of potential and is nearly their but has some basic problems. There are 2 pools and a splash pool and yes I did see the maintenance guy check the water a few times while we were there and sunbeds are not a problem as we were there in August this year in the high season and no problems with it, you would have get up pretty late to miss out. The entertainment is the usual same old $hite you get at these types oh holidays, how many times can you see a reptile or parrot show in your life, to many if you ask me :-( You get the impression that entertainment team have no budget at all, but they try very hard, at the evenings anyway. During the day their is no kids club and very little for them to do except for maybe one game a day they do. Maybe they could put a large tent or marquee up near the volley ball area on the grass to have as a kids club or to do more with the children. The staff are great and are very friendly, better than most hotels we have been to and they work their socks off. I was very impressed with the cleaning in general and they seemed to have extra staff come early in the morning to clean up all the mess that the lazy people could not be bothered to put in a bin. The hotel area is the plus point for me the location is beautiful and the beach outside stunning and apart from one day when it was a bit rough, great to swim in, they have pedal boats and a banana ride, stay clear of the aqua bus though as I have heard lots of horror stories about it. There is another hotel across the beach that has more lively entertainment that you can go to for a change one night. You can also go through it's lifts to get to the caves, which were a bit of a let down, it's hard to tell were it is natural and were they have created man made parts of it. The ones in Yorkshire, England are far better, but they are cheap enough to burn half a day up. Other than then that there are just a few shops and bars. To sum up it is a pretty good hotel with potential and if it was slightly better and had more things to do in the area we would go back. It's a case of you get what you pay for with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the middle block, the rooms look far better in there and non of the rooms are over casey'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-Holgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear David-Holgate,

First of all let me thank you for the time you take to write a comment on us. We really appreciate it ;)

And we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the smell on the bathroom, please, go straight to the reception if something is bothering you on your appartment, the maintenance staff and all of us will do our best to fix it.

In the rooms there is a sticker saying that as a environmentally friendly business we don't want to waste water so the guests that want the towels to be changed might leave them on the floor. Probably that's why the maids didn't change it. But again go to the reception and we'll try to solve any problem.

We'll put the description on the soup straight-forward so noone else has to guess what's inside ;).


Year after year we do our best to improve and we'll take into consideration all your comments so we can improve ;)

Hopefully we'll see you again in the near future.

Regards.

Balansat Torremar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We missed out on our annual holiday last year, so was really looking forward to this. There were a few teething problems prior to our arrival (due to low cost holidays.com!). We arrived early and seemed to have pick of the accommodation! We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor overlooking the pools. (room 209) The room was quite dated in need of some TLC but overall OK, and clean, although the cleaner forgot about cleaning occasionally! We were staying self catering, so luckily we had an oven. There was a safety issue with the oven but that was sorted very promptly.
The location is great, right on the beach. A beautiful beach, especially at 7.30 in the morning! Had to be up at this time of day due to if you wanted a sunbed by the pool. Same old situation, very annoying when people 'reserve' 5 sunbeds and 3 umbrellas and don't show up till the afternoon, when other people would like to use them. Be good if staff would remove the towels if people not using them by 11 ish. (please take notes Enrique!) Beach also lovely at 8 pm, as it is just you and the locals!
There are 3 pools here. Water was a bit cloudy most of the time. The kids love the splashpool! As most of the kids were in that, the other pools were fairly empty.
We stayed self catering and hired a car for the two weeks so were able to enjoy more of this beautiful island. We cooked for ourselves and ate out regularly. Don't bother going to the Balansat restaurant, (just outside the resort on the beach) see my other review. (overpriced with rushed service). Will definitely come back to Ibiza though for further exploration! For the last two days we upgraded to all inclusive. The food is plentiful but what you would expect. All the beer is served in TINY plastic cups, what you would expect at a kids birthday party. I work hard all year for my holiday, and to turn up and ask for that first large beer and be served this was rubbish. I know this sounds picky, but this should be the best beer of the year, your first holiday 'pint'. Please sort this out!!
The staff are great and very helpful. Thanks to Marcelo, on the reception desk and bar during the day. Thanks to Berta, bar and reception, you do a great job. Enrique, the boss, very pleasant also. (had to call him when we returned home as we had left some hair straighteners behind!) Des on the outside bar needs to Cheer up and stop interrogating children on why they are asking for 3 drinks instead of the 2 you are limited to!

Overall, a lovely 2 weeks, would definitely return here for another 2 weeks next year.........which is far too long to wait!

Room Tip: near the Irish bar, Casey's, it is very noisy into the very early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

we were really looking forward to going here and overall we enjoyed our time.

happy with the one bedroom apartment we were given for 2 adults and 2 kids. cleaner came every day to change towels, make beds and empty the bin.

the food was good, breakfast was our favorite meal of the day, we had a fry up every day of our holiday so have put weight on but really enjoyed it. the lunch and dinner as ok. the show cooking isnt that great. on a few occasions we had chicken and pork that wasnt cooked properly from the show cooking. i assume its rushing to get it cooked fast enough for the people coming in so we stopped eating any meat from that part and only ate the other meat and food.

the drinks were great with lots of choice. the bar staff were very nice and friendly and served people quickly. our kids loved all the fruit juices, slush puppies and ice cream the did there.

the snack bar sometimes had ques but i didnt really use it, it was more my two kids but they didnt mind waiting for food.

the beach was the best part of the holiday. we did loads of watersports with my 8 and 6 year old boys.
banana boats were 9 euros a person
speed boats 30 euros for an hours hire
pedlo boats with massive slides on them were 15 euros an hour
the kayaks hold 2 or 3 people and cost 10 euros for an hour. we had to get two as we couldnt fit in one so cost us 20 euros, we loved it and it was one of my favorite watersports. the sea was so clear there was so much to see.

we also went up the caves. were were in and out in 30 minutes and it cost 10 euros per adult and 6 euros a person. it looks better on the website and on the leaflets that it does when you are in there. we are pleased we went but wouldnt visit again.

there was also a glass bottom boat that did 1 hour long trips off the beach, 10 euros per adult and 5 euros per child but we dint go on it.

the beach was lovely, the water so clear. every morning we went to feed bread to the fish, they come between our legs to get the food, it was amazing.

i dont understand people complaining about there not being a cash machine, if you walk about 3 minutes up the road there is a bar across the road from the bus stop that has a cash machine so no need to pay for taxis into the local village.

we felt the entertainment was very much lacking at this hotel. if the entertainment had been better we would have left it 5 stars and gone back next year.

during the day there was colouring in or painting for my 6 and 8 year old son to do and that was it. if you had teenagers they did table tennis, pool and volleyball etc. sometimes they let adults join in but sometimes they wouldnt and said it was just for teenagers.

so during the day there was virtually no entertainment for my kids or me and my husband. other hotels we have stayed at have daily games for kids and another for teenagers/adults.

the evening entertainment wasnt fabulous but it was ok. we liked the parrot show and reptile show. they had a couple of singers in that we thought were ok. My kids loved the crazy show best which had two of the entertainment staff in byron and martin.

overall we had a great holiday.

one member of staff did put a downer on the holiday for me though. i had to get someone to check who was on reception before i would go in there or the bar next door as i wanted to avoid him and it did ruin the holiday a little bit.

Room Tip: we emailed the hotel and asked for a room away from caseys bar as we wanted quiet evenings/nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment on us, we really appreciate it! ;)

We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to hear that your work is worth it!

Regarding the buffet, next time, please do not hesitated and go back to the show-cooking chef, he will cook another piece of meat or fish for you if it's not well-cooked enough

We'll take into consideration your feedback and we'll try to improve the entretaintment part and all the rest!

Regards,

Balansat Torremar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

August 2013

Most of us save all year so we can have holidays. We look forward to them, a break, some sun and hopefully a relaxing time.
Unfortunately this year failed to meet modest expectations

.
 Travel cot came bottom didn’t fit clearly stained with faeces
 Plugs missing , lights not working
 Arrogant receptionist when requested new cot and other things fixed
 Contacted reception regarding concern over microwave - nothing done
 Microwave subsequently ignited totally burnt out inside
, (only when electrics were cut out did it stop ) – room filled with smoke
 Offered a new microwave! How about check the electrics in the whole room as the microwave was situated next to a gas cylinder.!
 Moved to a smaller room! Made to feel like I was slightly over reacting. No apology.
 Food same at breakfast, every day, Lunch small alterations, but very similar on a daily basis,
Dinner usually bland doesn’t think the chef had heard of seasoning.
 Did I ever see any of the pools being checked for quality of water? No
 Faeces needed to be removed from infant water park – did it close? No

The sad fact is I could go on and pick this place to pieces, it wasn’t clean, the staff were miserable, (sorry the ladies who cleaned in the restaurant and rooms made a considerable effort to be friendly especially towards young children) Litter was everywhere, sunbeds and canopies were broken, it just looked unloved.
The entertainment team never stopped working although the quality wasn’t the best, but I may put that down to the budget they are given.
The whole failing in my opinion of these apartments is not enough staff, one bar man for over 400 guests.
One or maybe two caretakers for maintenance of the whole complex.
A receptionist clearly lacked any people skills, probably due to the constant stream of complaints.

They incident with the electrics gave me great concern, especially as they were never checked and people were moved straight into this room after we asked to be relocated.


Not likely to return!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Helen G,

Firs of all let us thank you for your comment on us. Guest feedback is what help us improve year after year.

We're really sorry to hear you didn't have your best holidays with us.

What I could say is that:

All the cots are cleaned and disinfected, they can have some stain but you have to kwnow that they are cleaned. Anyway, if a guest ask for another one, the cot is replaced.

Regarding the microwave, the maintenance staff checked all that was needed, we would never leave our guests in danger. Then, the microwave was changed.

In our buffet we have at least 6 different hot meals and a huge variety of cold meals for the guest to choose. We always have vegetables, fruit, fish, meat, some french fries..etc.

And at breakfast the options are corissants, different kinds of cereals and biscuits and different kinds of bread, eggs, bacon, tomatoes beans, fruit, yougurt....etc.

We'll do our best to keep improving the buffet.

The swimming pools and the common areas are done everyday on a regular basis and we'll try to strenght the cleaning service.

Again, thank you veyr much for your comment and we hope you give us another chance to change your image on us. We'll keep on improving ;)


Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our 15 year old son for a week half board from the 23/8/13. Lovely helpful friendly staff and great family entertainment. The food was good and great variety at both breakfast and dinner. The only thing I would say is the interpretations of the food are sometimes not exact. Lovely beach and lots to do. I would say the hotel is ideal for families with small children. We had a hire car so went out everyday to San Antonio, Ibiza town, The water park and lots of other places that were easy accessible and the roads are excellent if you stick to the main roads, bit scary if you go off the beaten track. There was entertainment in the evening aimed at families, parrot show, reptile show, singers, disco etc. We found a lovely sports bar down the road with free wifi and spent most evenings there. Lovely caves up the road within walking distance. We went to the hippy market on the Wednesday, where I had my purse and phone stolen from my zipped bag, which was a nightmare but this has no connection to a great hotel. The rooms were clean and we had clean towels everyday if we wanted them. We had thunder and lightening and rain but didn't spoil our holiday in this great location. There are lots of little shops and a hire/trip company right next to the hotel so if you didn't want to leave the cove then you don't have too but we enjoyed exploring Ibiza. Lots of sun beds and parasols around the pool too.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the road/beach on the 2nd floor, which was noisy at times as there is an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajlcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Manager at Balansat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear ajlcuk,

We are really happy you enjoyed our stay with us, and thank you very much for your feedback.

Hearing from guests is what help us improve year after year.

It's a shame you had your purse stolen in the hippy market, please in any case like that one, go to the reception and we'll try to do our best to help you contact the police.

We're glad you like IBIZA that much and we would love to see you and all your family again in the near future so you can keep on exploring the island ;)

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#4 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#2 of 15 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
2,109 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
956 reviews
8.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
#11 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balansat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balansat Resort

Address: 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range: £45 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balansat Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balansat Resort is a holiday resort located next to the Puerto de San Miguel beach, on the northern side of the island of Ibiza.The resort has everything you need for a lovely family holiday by the sea.Accommodation consists of 125 apartments. Also you may find two large common areas with gardens and swimming pools, sunbeds, a children's park, a snack-bar, a buffet show-cooking and more. Come stay with us and enjoy all these amenities with your family and friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balansat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balansat Apartamentos Hotel Puerto De San Miguel
Balansat Apartments Sant Miquel De
Balansat Resort Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing