We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balansat Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balansat Resort
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great week away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

We booked the holiday via Co-op Travel/Thompsons as we wanted a week away from the wonderful British weather. We’re both 50, so wanted something a little more relaxing and not too noisy.

On arrival, we were signed-in fairly quickly, but found that when we got to the room, it had not been cleaned. This was sorted fairly quickly while we had a few beers in the bar. There was a motorcycle trade event being held at the complex while we were there, so part of the Balansat ground floor was divided off for the exhibition.

The staff here are friendly and helpful, but as with all groups of holidaymakers from the UK, there are those that insist on speaking slowly and loud to the Spanish staff, putting an “O” on the end of every other word. These were the people that had the problems with the staff, we certainly did not!

As for the complex, the two swimming pools are adequate, but the larger pool in the Torremar is the warmer one. The pool in Balansat is shaded, especially later in the year, but I would imagine this is a bonus when it’s really hot mid-season? The rooms were cleaned three times in the week we were there.

The beach is fairly small, but as it’s facing North-West, the breeze can be a little cold later in the year. The nearby fish restaurant is a good place to eat, but a bit on the expensive side. Bearing in mind it is meant to be the No2 restaurant on the island, then I suppose it was worth the visit? Locals proved this when it was filled to capacity on the Sunday lunchtime!

The trips on offer are via the motor train that calls a few times a week as well as other organised tours. Entertainment on site was adequate. Bingo most evenings for those that like it.

As for food, there is a great bar about 100 metres up the road that has a good selection of reasonably priced meals. The Chinese restaurant nearby was said to be a bit “hit or miss”. Across the road is a British oriented bar, but who wants to go abroad and eat burgers and chips?

Positive:
Friendly staff, reasonable prices.

Negative:
Nearest cash machine is a couple of miles away.
Jellyfish in the sea.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    224
    112
    39
    35
See reviews for
414
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

The Torremar apartments are located in the Balansat complex of apartments situated right on the beach of the small and quiet area called Port of Sant Miguel about 4km from the village of San Miguel in Ibiza.
The Torremar are the lower grade of apartments in the complex and as budget apartments go they are basically furnished, a small bit on the small side and lack both a Lift and air conditioning.
That said there is not much wrong with them as they have a lovely pool, large gardens and some beautiful views of farmland and pine trees from the rear balcony apartments. The front apartments face out over the large pool and entertainment area.
There is a playground area for small children but its in need of a upgrade. The food served is not great especially at the snack bar under the Torremar. There are plans for a brand new water park area for 2009 as well as air con in all the rooms.
The complex has a great restaurant called the Balansat which offers lovely home cooked food and specialises in Fish dishes. Its very popular with locals on the Island and looks out over the sea.
The Torremar are Ideal for families that want a quiet and relaxing holiday with a fine, safe ,sandy beach right outside your door.
Staff are very friendly and the place is professionally run. There are a lot worse places that you could end up in.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dannykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

I visted these apartments with my boyfriend in sep 06. we booked at a travel agent and were told it was a quite resort with a small beach- well it defenatly was quite!! and the beach was tiny! On arrival we were left waiting at the bar for 45 mins before we were given the keys to our room. whilst waitng my boyfriend noticed the pool was green- not a good start! Once in our room the smell was discusting- I had asked for a non smoking room but clearly this wasnt. it was really dirty and shabby. After showering (with a tricle of cold water!) we set out to find something to eat- this wasnt very sucsessful as the only place was a sea food resturant, and being a vegi this wasnt an option! we asked at the hotel bar if there was anywhere else- but were told that was it. The hotel manager was also the chef/ cleaner/ receptionist and did offer to make us something to eat but with him using his apron to wipe the sweat off his head-this didnt really appeal to me! unfortunatly the week didnt get any better- the second night we were woken up when we fell through the bed!! The entertanment was awful- we ended up sneaking into the all inclusive hotel over the other side of the beach!. I hated everything about this holiday and the worst of it was on our last night when my boyfriend found a mouse in the bathroom!! Reception wouldnt do anything about it or let us move apartments- so as i refused to go anywhere near the apartment again. we ended up sitting in reception most of the night until our transfer back to the airport the next morning! i honestly think this is the worst place i have ever visited, and i would NEVER go back!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BristolAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Good clean but basic appartments. service is very good and the times we ate there the food was excellent. theres evening entertainment for all and some in the days. We had the bbq on the wednesday evening. it was excellent, i suggest you go for that. the bar staff were very friendly and enjoyed what they were doing. we were disappointed about a couple of things, if u want aircon then its extra and i think to expensive. also this is nothing to do with the appartments we had trouble finding the reps of our company when we wanted to. overall this is a very well run set of appartments with good friendly staff and good food. We did find a very nice little bit of england, its called the HAPPY FRIAR, a great little pub about 5 mins walk from the appartments. The People who run it Sarah and Toby are very nice people who showed us what i would call more and better hospitallity then we expected. the food is excellent and all freshly prepared. pay them a visit and tell them James the sausage and mash kid sent you.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price for aircon
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovejoy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin , ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

Torremar apartments,puerto san miguel, Ibiza.
Date - July 16 th 2008
Our second home it is, We have just returned home after 2 weeks in this wonderful peaceful apartment complex.
This was are fourth time here in 5 years and every year is getting better.
apartments are basic but you have everything you need including toaster , microwave, kettle and if it does not suit you you can go down to one of the 2 snack bars in the complex which do a variety of snacks and bigger meals....the pool is lovely and quiet and people are very friendly...We have found the apartments and area to be very secure in itself and never any trouble or people who are constanly loud and drunk..
entertainment has picked up and there is a variety of games during the day and night to keep the kids and adults busy whom ever wants to partake...I have found the staff and management very friendly and helpful in all matters including the boss himself who goes by the name of Miguel...Anything I have asked for from plug or shower to be fixed has been done asap/promptly .
There are some good shows on during a weeks stay ranging from elvis to other bands and it is very enjoyable.
there are two bars in the complex serving most drinks including my favourite Hieneken and I happened to notice cans of guinness and cider in the fridge....cocktails also available...there is a disco bar just down from apartments that opens late for anyone wanting to stay out that little bit later............................
Outside the apartments there are three + other good restaurants
and good supermarkets/souvenir shops..
the beach is small but nice with good water sports and sunbeds

All in all we would reccomend this place to famalies and couples alike who are looking for a quiet enough time but every thing you need.....food is good/service good/plenty of sun/but peaceful.....
Hope this has been helpful to anyone on there way maybe thinking of going.....
Dublin Ireland......S & H & Scott..

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank irecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

Nice hotel, great nightlife (very geared towards families but that's fine with us)

Location was fine, a little quiet but we knew it would be, the great thing with Ibiza is its nice and small so San Antonio is never far away.

Really recommend the English Bar up the hill a little, the bloke who ran it we we went gave us loads of insider information.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank t121anf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

Having read these reviews before our holiday I was prepared to be disappointed - and I was!
Just as others had commented the general overall running of these apts were certainly not 3+ star standard as quoted. I think the majority of people like myself can cope with basic accom, however there were so many little things wrong - that all in all you just had to admit that no matter how cheap you bagged a bargain holiday - it was still crap.
My main gripe was that our apt was in a shady corner and did not get any sun so our towels etc would not dry, when i asked for some new ones (because our baby had used a damp towel for 2 days I was flatly refused and told "new towels every 3 days!" when they arrived there were 1 set missing and they were slung on the bed.
Only the bin was emptied on the 1st day, 2nd day bin emptied but bin liner slung over bin handle for me to do, 3rd day bin emptied with nothing to replace it!!! Bed linen changed once, they dont make your beds and the mattress was very uncomfortable.
The resort itself is ok, but Portinax around the next cove is much nicer, if you are taking kids then go there, the sea is shallower, sand softer and generally cleaner! I wish I had booked Portinax in hindsight. We hired a car and got the hell out of San Miguel each day, we had a huge storm and the hotel was flooded, no power, no water, and lots of miserable faces.
Again staff were generally unhelpful and not willing to cope with requests during this time.
I have roughed it plenty of times but this was just not what was expected from a Thomson Winter Sun 3 star rated holiday and therefore I feel justified in saying it was not great.
My advice research, research, and go with what is recommended, I cant find anything positive to report in this case.
Dont pay over £200 for this resort - it aint worth it!

  • Liked — lots of wardrobe space
  • Disliked — toilet, uncomfortable mattress, no maid services i.e fresh towels, beds made etc
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallMellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#5 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.5 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#3 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balansat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balansat Resort

Property: Balansat Resort
Address: Puerto de San Miguel | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balansat Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balansat Resort is a holiday resort located next to the Puerto de San Miguel beach, on the northern side of the island of Ibiza.The resort has everything you need for a lovely family holiday by the sea.Accommodation consists of 125 apartments. Also you may find two large common areas with gardens and swimming pools, sunbeds, a children's park, a snack-bar, a buffet show-cooking and more. Come stay with us and enjoy all these amenities with your family and friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balansat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balansat Apartamentos Hotel Puerto De San Miguel
Balansat Apartments Sant Miquel De
Balansat Resort Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing