We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very safe family resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balansat Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Balansat Resort
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very safe family resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just arrived back after 11 nights at the Balansat apartments, i emailed in advance to request a quiet room after reading other reviews and was very pleased that this was listened to. I do not feel that i have ever been somewhere where i felt that my children were so safe, the restaurant, pools, bar, stage were all in the center of the resort meaning that we could relax knowing they were never far away! also i think it was the first holiday where you could still get a sunbed at lunch meaning that we all got to lie in.
The resort itself is very quiet but had everything you could possibly need, a couple of shops that just about sold everything, a beautiful beach and good transport to get around should you wish.
It was the first time that we have had to print off boarding passes on holiday but i have to say the staff were extremely helpful and didn't charge us to do this!
The only downfall i would say that we had was that it appeared that there were a lot of large family groups many of them returning guests which meant that it wasn't easy to meet others, but then just speaks volumes for the place.

Room Tip: email in advance to ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally652382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    224
    112
    39
    35
See reviews for
414
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

As our first family holiday the Balansat Torremar Apartamentos were absolutely fantastic. Our children are 3 and 5 and had a great time between the pools and the kids club and the evening discos and shows. Its right on the beautiful beach with plenty little bars and restaurants in the area. Our room was large and bright with double doors from the bedroom and living area leading out on to a large balcony that overlooked the beach. Our room was cleaned daily and had fresh towels daily too. It was ideal for us with younger children and will hopefully be returning again in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Prestige Apartments and the views were fantastic, right on the seashore with access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our two young children in July (before the school hols mind) and loved it. We didn't pay a lot-just under £1400 for a week all inclusive and well worth the money. Great kids splash pool area with plenty of loungers but they do get reserved with towels pretty early! Food was fine, yes a bit samey but enough to keep us all happy. Lovely beach a stones throw from our room and was great to be able to nip back for the all inc drinks/ice cream etc. staff very friendly and children's entertainment quite good. Not much to see or do in the evenings on the resort except the hotel entertainment but overall a great holiday given the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Family of four (children 4 & 5). We stayed 9 nights end of July. We booked flights and hotel separately as it worked out cheaper. The hotel were very easy to communicate with via e-mail. We asked for T block and that's exactly what we got.

Please also see surreysmithy78 review below, we met this family when we were there and we share many of their views so won't repeat them here.

If you have young kids, you'll be drawn by the splash pool and it really is as good as it looks on the photos. Ours had hours of fun in there in a safe environment.

Our tips while you're there: venture out one or two nights. There's some nice bars/restaurants within a short walk (try the place with the crazy golf and ask for T bone steak - you get half a cow!). The bus to Ibiza Town was on time and a modern coach rather than a bus. Only EUR2,80 per person which is a bargain compared to the taxis. DO NOT leave without seeing the sunset at Benirras beach, which is the next cove along the coast. EUR10 taxi ride each way. This is an experience you'll never forget. Bongos being played while the sun sets behind a huge rock in the bay.

The hotel is everything we expected and our kids loved it, both the facilities and meeting new friends. However, having done three AI family holidays now, the repetitiveness of eating in the same place morning, noon and night and listening to the same dross at the mini disco every evening, we've come to the conclusion that we want something different next time. But if you want a small, 3* hotel in a quiet, pretty resort, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: T Block. Room T111 overlooks the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duffnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Gerente at Balansat Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Duffnutt,

Thanks for your comment we really appreciate it.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holidays and hopefully after your try out on different kind of holidays you'll come back to us to enjoyed your holidays in San Miguel.

Thanks again!

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from our holiday at the balansat torremar apartments, 29th July - 6th August We are a family of four with two girls aged13 and 6. Before going I asked the hotel for a room away from the Irish bar, as we are light sleepers. We were put opposite the pool in the t block away from the bar, so I was pleased! The room was a good size and the air con was fantastic. Basic, but perfectly adequate and the balcony was lovely, a really great size. Lots of wardrobe space for all of us and our cases. The towels were changed every day and beds made.
The pools are lovely, two large pools with kids areas and the fantastic splash pool, my kids loved them all and so did we! Did have to get a sunbed by 9, if you wanted one, but plenty of tables and chairs, but the people getting up at crack of dawn to get as many beds as poss, which they rarely used, were all British. It does make you embaressed to be British. If you don't fancy the pool the beautiful beach is on your doorstep.
The location of hotel is just fantastic, directly on beach and a few little shops and restaurants nearby. The caves are worth a visit although it is a steep walk! The little train ride is great and def worth doing. We also enjoyed boat ride to watch sunset and hippies playing drums, but not to everyone's taste.
The food in balansat was slightly hit and miss. Some days it was great and others a bit of a strange combo of foods. Having said that always lovely fresh salad, bread and fruit and we never had a prob finding something to eat. The fish, paella and chicken breast and tuna pasta all delicious! My kids also never had a problem, and they can be fussy. Always a diff kind of pasta available. The snack bar has very nice food and the guy serving is lovely.
All in all a great, relaxing holiday. The kids club is brill and the entertainment girls work so hard. The evening entertainment is small scale but enjoyable! Felt very safe as did girls, who made great friends. Feels like you are holidaying with one big family, all nationalities are really friendly. The staff are all friendly, as is everyone we came across on ibiza! Staff all very hardworking and can't fault this hotel. Great value for money and would def return. Thank you hotel balansat torremar for a fab holiday! We loved your hotel and loved ibiza.

Room Tip: We were in t block which is quiet and has a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francesca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Gerente at Balansat Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comment on us! We really appreciate the time you took for write it down.

It's great to hear you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us. We work really hard to give you the best holidays ;)

Hopefully we'll see you again next year

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely location on the beach - great fishing, snorkelling and banana boat!!!!
Hotel very basic but very clean - food ok.
The only problem with this hotel is the entertainment - there was none!!!
We travelled with a 14 year old and 12 year old, after 9pm after the mini club that was it. No other entertainment. We paid 1 euro a night so my son could get onto the internet as he was so bored. What a shame. !!!
The hotel is ok if you have children under 5!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emclellan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Gerente at Balansat Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Mclella01,

We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us. Moreover we take notice of your feedback and we'll do our best to keep improving.

Hopefully we'll see you again next year!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I never normally write reviews, always read them but rarely write them. Having read a few reviews both before we went and when we returned I wanted to give an honest view in response to some of the other criticisim. We are all welcome to an opinion, but think some are a little harsh.

We were fortunate enough to stay in an amazing 4* hotel in Majorca last June, but with a child now at school, this was our first venture into school holidays away. The hike in cost meant we had to go down a notch, but overall we were not disappointed.

Our arrival wasn't the best and I did wonder what we had let ourselves into....we arrived at 01:30 with 3 tired young children (our choice - the time, not the children!) and several items of luggage. Having read about Casey's and being dropped off right outside, it didn't disappoint! It was loud and a fair few folk were stumbling about. A family with a 7/8 yr old plus one in a buggy having a drunken argument near reception with the eldest child screaming was wrong on all counts. Also a broken glass to contend with.

We stayed in room T205, the furthest away from Casey's and really quiet, but the night porter/receptionist didn't offer us any assistance, which would have been nice. Several bags, a fair few trips with children and bags, and the bizarre steps/ramp combo was interesting. On putting the elder children to bed, we found no cot to be present...a return to reception. I was then told 'no cot until the morning' - where was my 11 month going to sleep? After a standoff he disappeared only to reappear with a cot!

On waking after a decent nights sleep, I found the fridge to be turned off and stuffed full with towels. The wall socket in the kitchen removed with bare wires at perfect child height. Again, what had we let ourself into.

I must say, after all these initial concerns I can simply say, brilliant.

The day time reception team are excellent. Approachable, helpful and smiley. They remedied the fridge and wall socket within minutes and even noticed we had been overcharged on arrival, refunding the difference.

So, in summary:

Room - they are basic, but this is a 2/3* and we used it for storage, sleeping and showering. We were AI and the rooms do need a bit of TLC, but our two bedroom was large and had all you needed. Large wardrobes, clean, a new bath required, but plenty of space for 2 adults and 3 children. The aircon is superb if you leave it on all day for your return after a day at the pool/beach. Block T is where I recommend and they are very accommodating if you request ahead of your arrival. We had room 205 on the second floor, which was a chore carrying stuff and a buggy up and down, but was fine. The view looked over the kids splash pool with glimpses of the nearby beach and the entertainment stage.

Pools and facilities - this is what makes the holiday. Kids splash pool is amazing and made the holiday. There are two other pools also, a small park, kids club (twice daily), pool tables and a table tennis table. We always managed to get sun beds, a few were taken by the 7am risers, but we wandered down at 8.30/9am and always managed to get some before breakfast - the annoying part being those taken early rarely returned until after lunch! The key card access to the kids pool is not a pain in my view, only for lazy folk. It stops non-residents wandering in and the door handle is also high enough to stop small children wandering off.

Food & drink - all decent and well cooked. Never an issue getting a larger table or a highchair. Breakfasts v good and loads of choice. Lunches generally better than dinners, but always something we all liked. The cooked meats (roasts some days), paellas and salads were good. The desserts less so, but always ice cream, jelly and fantastic tasting fresh fruit. The drinks machine and Estrella on self service superb. Pepsi and branded soft drinks on tap and the children loved getting their own 'slushies' from the pool bar.

Entertainment - this wasn't great, but depends on your children's ages. If 8 or under, then the repetitive kids mini disco is brilliant. Children loved it and the repetitiveness is what it's all about, learning the routines and words. Afterwards was a mix of bingo, quizzes, reptile show and tell and a parrot show. Again fairly basic, but wasn't expecting too much. Elmie, the kids rep. and her team are excellent. Bundles of energy and patience and our children loved heading over the kids club to do some games, painting and drawing during the day.

Beach & location - this along with the kids splash pool is what makes it. The location is lovely. Right on the beach, which is a small pretty cove with a handful of restaurants nearby. The sea is clear and loads of fish to feed bread too and calm enough to snorkel and swim/paddle. Few boat trips, pedalos and recommend the short albeit hilly walk up the left hand side hill. Take your camera! The beach bar on the left is a nice spot to grab an after dinner drink - lovely evening setting. There are a few souvenir shops which also sell anything you need or have forgotten and not to pricey. Recommend the ones further to the right of the hotel instead of the one to the left as a little bit cheaper.

Staff - mixed, but think it also helps to make the effort too. A smile and greeting is all it needs and we found by doing this they all reciprocated. They are all very hard working and pleasant. Day time reception staff and Elmie the pick of a good bunch.

In summary, bar the initial arrival issues, we had a fantastic holiday at a great place which suited us (2 adults and 3 children aged 5, 2 & 11 months) which we will definitely consider returning too. Don't expect too much if you have experienced luxury before and remember what you are actually booking, that way you will have a positive experience instead of picking holes in a few menial issues.

Room Tip: Email ahead requesting block T. One bedroom numbers 202 to 204 and two bedroom 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Surreysmithy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AptBalansat-Torremar, Gerente at Balansat Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Surreysmi...,

Thank you for your comment and the time you took to write your feedback.

We take notice of all your comments and we'll try to improve on that topics.

Hopefully we'll see you again next year so you can see all the improvements we're already preparing.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#5 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.5 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
#15 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
8.5 mi away
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
#17 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
10.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balansat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balansat Resort

Property: Balansat Resort
Address: Puerto de San Miguel | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balansat Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balansat Resort is a holiday resort located next to the Puerto de San Miguel beach, on the northern side of the island of Ibiza.The resort has everything you need for a lovely family holiday by the sea.Accommodation consists of 125 apartments. Also you may find two large common areas with gardens and swimming pools, sunbeds, a children's park, a snack-bar, a buffet show-cooking and more. Come stay with us and enjoy all these amenities with your family and friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Balansat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balansat Apartamentos Hotel Puerto De San Miguel
Balansat Apartments Sant Miquel De
Balansat Resort Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing