We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balansat Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balansat Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balansat Resort
Ibiza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Balansat Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

This is a great place to stay for a family, with a new waterpark installed for the children and another 2 swimmingpools its a great summer holiday accommodation.

Only 2 mins away from the beautiful beach of San Miguel you cant go wrong here for a family holiday. Supermarkets, Bars and Restaurants all in this area including the Irish Bar Caseys... Good Place to getaway from it all and relax.

Good Holiday..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leeibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    224
    112
    39
    35
See reviews for
414
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

Having booked this 2 days before flying we were a bit wary, especially as it seemed very cheap for the 2 of us.... Rooms not massive but clean and with a fan were cool enough. Kitchen good enough for preparing the odd meal and double balconies nice. Pool and surrounding area was pretty good with a huge kids type pool. 2 supermarkets close enough to stock up on necessities plus a few small restaurants. Beach and sea within 3 mins walk clean and relatively quiet. Many more plus points than negative. Worst thing only one tour business here so difficult to rent a car or moped at short notice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank physiopepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroke City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

This was not the first time we had been to the Torremar apartments and so could be viewed as slightly biased. It seems that you either love or hate both the apartments and Puerto San Miguel
Its a few years since we had been and so were presently surprised at the work that had been carried out. The Apts now had A/C - vital in the July heat. The rooms had been repainted and the electrics up dated. ( No need for the hairdryer we had bought in Duty free as one was supplied.) It was a pity our kids were past the kiddy pool stage as there was an awesome new kids pool complete with slides etc. The new kids pool meant there was plenty of room around the main pool and no need to get up early to book sun beds.
The entertainers were good and soon became part of the family, as always the bar staff were great and the owner MIguel's cooking at the mid week BBQ something to be seen.

The kitchen of the apts was limited but as I don't go on holiday to cook that didn't really matter. There are only a few restuarnt in the area all of which serve good fresh food but a short bus or taxi ride will take you to the surrounding villages were you can experience the real Ibiza.

Would totally recomend the excursions offered by "Ibiza uncovered" the catamaran trip was something to be believed and great value for money. We paid about 22 Euro less per person than others on the trip who had booked through thier tour rep. - Thanks Jason

Even though we were travelling with teens they found enough to keep them occupied and we were far enough away from Ibiza town or San Antonia that I didn't have to worry about them wanting to go to night clubs.

Would totally recommend the Torremar and the surrounding area. Yet another good hol.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum4StrokeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Torremar apartments are fantastic if you are travelling as a family and are happy to spend most of your time by the pool and enjoying the entertainments on site. The reps were fantastic in keeping the children entertained with water polo etc.
San Miguel is a tiny resort and there isn't much to do outside of the appartments, it would defiately be worth hiring a car ( book before you go as it was impossible to hire one there) as buses were so infrequent. Only one car hire place on the resort and the chap isn't particularly helpful.
We travelled as a couple and found San Miguel beautiful and very relaxing but found the Torremar at times quite noisey,however it is geared towards families rather than couples.Avoid the rooms facing the pool.
The apartments themselves were clean enough ( don't expect them to be cleaned everyday). The kitchen area was very well equipped, fridge, microwave,full sized cooker, toaster, kettle and all cutlery. The staff were ok, but didn't go out of their way to help you if you wanted to do anything outside of the apartments so do your research before you go and definitely hire a car before you get there.
I would recommend a trip out to San Antonio, Santa Elulia and Ibiza town. Ibiza was fantastic, the Torremar was ok but a tad noisy for me.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buxton2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

The Balansat Apartments are set on the left hand side of the beach of Port San Miquel, with views over the picturesque bay to the front and the pine covered hills behind. There are two pools and a brand new children's splash park with slides and waterfalls. Other amenities include a poolside snack bar serving drinks, toasties, salads, chips and icecream, and a cocktail type bar serving the same which is near the splash pool and where the evening entertainment takes place. Overall, the amenities for a self catering complex are pretty good. One pool is quiet, the other lively. The splash park is a great addition and kept my 6 year old entertained for hours.
I found the rooms to be more than adequate. They were very clean (bins emptied every day, beds made etc) and had everything you could wish for. For a couple with a young child our apartment was very spacious, with kitchen area, table and chairs and lounge area, separate bedroom and decent sized bathroom. The apartments were fully equipped, the towels nice and fluffy(and plentiful!) and the balcony was large, overlooking the sea, which was a bonus. We took the third bed from under the sofa and set it up in the bedroom with ours as the bedroom was big enough and my daughter wanted to be in our room. However - be warned - the air con is fine, but you have to pay 25 euros per week to get it turned on!
Now to the resort; the beach is lovely and there are loads of fish in the sea that swim all round you and like to be fed. There is waterskiing, pedaloes, boat hire and banana rides available. Loads of people snorkel for the fish too. 2 beds and a brolly cost 12 euros per day. Other than that, there is not a lot to Port San Miquel. It is pretty, friendly, very relaxing and has a decent bus service to other places. However, the restaurants leave a lot to be desired. There are 3 restaurants all serving pretty much the same fare; salads, omelettes, chips, chips and chips. I didn't see a vegetable in the whole week! Let's face it, not everyone wants chips and burgers, and not every child wants chips and beans with every meal. I came home feeling pretty carbed out! Even a bus trip to Ibiza town where there are loads of restaruants was slightly disappointing from a gastronomic point of view. But I suppose you don't go to Ibiza for the quality of the food.
The evenings in the hotel were not bad, there is a mini disco for the kids, bingo and various singing acts. The Balansat has an Irish bar (Casey's) that has live music until late and shows Sky Sports for the guys that can't bear to miss the football!
Overall, I found Port San Miquel to be a lovely, quiet, family orientated resort. For not too much more you can stay at the Club San Miquel on an All Inclusive basis, which I would do in future. Ibiza is extremely expensive there days and we easily spent 100 euros a day on nothing very much. If you have a young family and want a quiet, safe getaway where the kids will be entertained, meet lots of friends and you will feel happy being able to keep an eye on them whilst relaxing, you can't go far wrong here. My final words of advice are; don't bother going in to the town of San Miquel - there's nothing there! And the tourist train to Portinatx is pricey but lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EssexSwimfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We've just returned from the Torremar apts Ibiza. The apts were nice and clean with a fantastic separate childrens pool and very very close to a lovely little beach but there were some bad points. The complex entertainment can be really annoying!! its overly loud & cheesy and carrys on for the whole day until late after 12am.. Trying to relax can be hard during the day and at night it can be really irritating. Its hard to imagine if you had a young family how they would get to sleep. Try to get a room at the back not facing the pool area!

The puerto san miguel resort is very quiet at night and can be a bit boring unless your ideal holiday is to be legless after sunset , catch the bus into ibiza town and san gertrude. Also, different complexes try to compete with each other which becomes a battle of the wills and dodgy extra loud karaoke that bounces off the surrounding cliffs!

However, i must mention that the staff were really accomodating and very pleasant & welcoming..

Overall a holiday hard to judge!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

FANTASTIC HOLIDAY!!!!!!!!!! Thanks to Jo and Luigi the entertainment team. It is the first time that I will be returning to the same resort, we have booked to go there again this year. My husband and I, our three children 9,4 and 3 and my mam stayed in the two bedroom apartment.
Reception was in the balanzat we had four cases and two buggies and got no help to carry them across to the torremar. We struggled to bring them up the 4 flights of stairs as there is no lift which is the only complaint we have.

THE APARTMENT
The apartment had all the basics and was a good size, The cleaning could have been better. There is no A/C but there are fans in the rooms.

THE COMPLEX
This complex had a real friendly feel to it. There are only 45 apartments in the complex so you get to know everyone and you feel very safe there with children. There are two pools one of which is a kiddies pool and a new kiddie pool to be built this may, and a small playground. The bar served snacks. There was a weekly BBQ and Sunday Dinner was really good. The staff in the torremar were very friendly and Gareth the barman was great. There is one washing machine in the complex and to do a wash with detergent cost €5 which was reasonable.

The ENTERTAINMENT
-for the children:
The kids clubs were fantastic Jo and Luigi were great, this was the first family holiday that i got the chance to sunbath, there was colouring, painting, postcard making and other arts and crafts with Jo in the morning between 10 and 1pm. She was brilliant a lovely bubbly person with amazing energy. Luigi entertained the older ones in the mornings with archery and pool games, he was great with the children too and my son really took to him. In the evening there was a mini disco between 8 and 9 and during the week there was a parrot show the children got to hold the parrots. My children would follow jo and luigi everywhere day and night and it never bothered them, they would let the kids sit with them and talk with them even when on their breaks. All my children were crying leaving the resort.

For the adults:
- Elivis, Drag queens and other singers all round what you expect for package holidays, MR&MRS comp. bingo and quizes they both really made our holiday, very entertaining and funny Jo and Luigi again GREAT!

THE RESORT
-Very quiet if your young and livily not the place for you, great for families and couples looking for a relaxing holiday with a bit of craic in the evenings. The beach is lovely great views. The shops are expensive €4 for bread and the same for a small kerrygold, my advice when travelling with children is pack up the cereal,noodles,soup and anything else you can fit into the case. The restaurants around are typical burger chips chicken the balazat was ok. I highly recommend the walk up to the galeon hotel, for €12 adult €6 children all you can eat buffet with a very large selection for all included is wine,beer,soft drinks ice-cream really good food its the same in the san miguel park but not as big a selection, both open at 7 to 9pm they do lunch for the same price

Transport
-It is well worth renting a car as buses in san miguel are scarce, three of a mon and wens, going to and from es canar (where the hippie market is) and Tues and Thurs two going to san antonio and a couple to ibiza town. There are taxis €35 to san antonio.
we hired a car and found it very easy to get around the island as its tiny.

THINGS TO DO IN IBIZA
-Caves in San Miguel
-The old church and folk dancers in san miguel village
-Sunset at cafe del mar
-hippie market
-ibiza town by night, a walk up the strip and see all the drag queens
-if your after clubbing stay in san antonio i recommend the Marina Playa apartments
-water park in playa den bossa
-there are a number of watersports at the beach in san miguel and the guy that runs them is really nice.

there is lots more to do, it is a tiny island rent a car and discover all the hidden beaches theres something for everyone in Ibiza we loved it and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#5 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.5 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
#12 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#3 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balansat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balansat Resort

Property: Balansat Resort
Address: Puerto de San Miguel | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balansat Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balansat Resort is a holiday resort located next to the Puerto de San Miguel beach, on the northern side of the island of Ibiza.The resort has everything you need for a lovely family holiday by the sea.Accommodation consists of 125 apartments. Also you may find two large common areas with gardens and swimming pools, sunbeds, a children's park, a snack-bar, a buffet show-cooking and more. Come stay with us and enjoy all these amenities with your family and friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balansat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balansat Apartamentos Hotel Puerto De San Miguel
Balansat Apartments Sant Miquel De
Balansat Resort Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing