We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Holiday Ever, DON'T LISTEN TO BAD REVIEWS! Will Deffinetly go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club San Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club San Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Ever, DON'T LISTEN TO BAD REVIEWS! Will Deffinetly go back”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I went to this hotel last summer. When we arrived, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We never usually like the entertainment at hotels, but here it was amazing. The hotel is right on the beach, which is very handy. The whole place is beautiful! One of the highlights of the holiday was the themed restraunt. It was a sailor theme the first night! I'm a vegetarian, so I was fearing what would be on offer, but they make sure there is a selection for EVERYONE! There is also a chinese restraunt which is really good. Overall, the food was great. The rooms were the usual size of hotel rooms. The balconies were quite big, and they had a fantastic view. I noticed that there was NO PROBLEM with insects at all. The pools at the hotel are very good. There is one quiter pool, and one where all of the activities take place. As there is 3 parts to the hotel, there was another pool up at the 3rd part, but I never went there. There is PLENTY of sunloungers. On the beach, you have to pay about 2 euros for one, but that was fine. WE were on the beach most days. If you go All Inclusive, like we did, you can do canoeing and other activities for free. There is also a boat that will take you around the area. We went for a week, but wished we'd booked for longer. It was a truly AMAZING holiday, and we will deffinetly go back. Do not listen to bad reviews! The only thing I would pick out is that there are only about 4 shops nearby, which isn't much good for a family with a mother and daughter! Overall, I would highly reccommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZoeLovesJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    88
    42
    20
    24
See reviews for
176
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2009

travelled with my wife and 2year old son were meant to be travelling with our baby niece also and so a clean well constructed cot was shoe-horned into our room[consisting of 2 singles and one double bed] room was clean did not smell and had the most incredible view of the bay. we arrived at our room at approx midnight and called up to reception to ask if the cot could be removed the following day to allow us more space. one waiter and one security guard were at our door within five minutes and removed the cot with minimal fuss. the following morning we discovered the shower head to be faulty and again this was fixed while we were at breakfast. we were very impressed with their speed and effectiveness with which our issues were resolved.

overall the hotel is nothing to write home about but equally has no major downfalls.
the 2 lifts [serving 9 floors and approx 400 rooms ] were only out of service for 30 mins during our week long stay [cleaning] however more lifts are needed especially at breakfast and dinner time if your staying on floor 5/6/7 it is usually a lot quicker to take the stairs. been a bit of a health freak i rarely used them and can confirm all 16 flights can be taken on in a little under 3 mins. lift waiting time can be double that.

food was ok. breakfast is cereal or a fry-up. dont let go of your plate or it will be whisked away for washing up. dinner changes night by night tues night is fish night where they serve prawns muscles all types of shell fish [ if u dont like fish u wont be eating on tues night] the chinese is what you make it. we went one night and i could only eat prawn crackers, as there was no food i liked, only bout 5 dishes.

western saloon. what can i say. bit of a joke. ideal for snacks during the day. so long as the snacks you like are chips chips and chips. burgers/chicken/hotdogs are cooked every couple of hours so your food is kept warm for 2 hours at a time. all three of us felt ill at one point during the week. this may or may not be due to the food at western saloon.

evening entertainment was average. kids entertainment is good for 5years plus but if you cant dance play serious games [1-3 years] then you're fairly restricted as to what you can do.

a lot of parents chose to dump their kids in kids club during the day, most of the reps knew the kids better than the parents. messy jessie and loopy lee kept parents entertained for most of the evenings. a couple of really great acts, including kiko the clown singing and dancing with the kids, and a spanish dance/gymnastic crew were incredible. throwing each other around and balancing on one hand etc. would have like to have seen a comedian or band or singer. although majority brits there, some germans/russians/french familys there. zorro [chief entertainer bloke] was ill most of our holiday but was on hand for a few days to explain everything in german and spanish at lightning speed.

nearest cash machine is a taxi ride away. so be sure you have cash. couple of shops accept cards. cigs are cheaper in resort than at the airport [dont let reps tell you otherwise] check out the sports bar 500ft down from the hotel on the left for cartons.

msg us with any
questions if you have any. i'll answer as best i can.
Chris

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds { - Yorkshire}
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

i have been to this resort 6 times, the first time being my honeymoon in 2001!! i am returning again next may 2010 for my anniversary and i cannot wait!!! the only downfall with this hol is that it has got expensive to go and why?? because its so blooming great!!! the staff are fantastic, so friendly and warm, the food is lovely especially the fish and carvery night. the resort is lovely and ideallic, the drinks are plentiful and great variety unlike many all inclusives i have been on u can even have malibu bacardi or baileys, granted its there versions of these but even so they r very nice. they even do cocktails that r included in the all inclusive program which i have been charged for in other resorts. the activity program is one in a million....archery, shooting, pool, darts, bowls, volleyball, waterpolo, silly champayne games etc etc. kids club is excellent. pool is lovely and clean, not a pool to to do ur daily 10 length swim in , more of a fun pool. but there are larger quieter pools if u just want to swim. the entertainment is second to none....fun, varied, hilarious, crowd participation!!!! zorro and his team make this holiday top notch!!! hats off to them. and jose in the western saloon bar is a legend....we r not worthy....................... dont listen to the bad reviews, they r all liessssssssss hahaha....infact look at the pictures of the bad reviews they r still beautiful pics!!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandiemoo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Personally holidays are what you make them. I think this hotel is OK the food is what I would expect from all Inclusive I travelled with 4 kids 2 teenagers 2 youngers ones.. The fact I did not see 3 of them for 10 day s shows they can be kept busy . Entertainment was good, yes the hotel is tucked away with not a lot else to do but the beach is 2 seconds away and the pool is busy but clean. If you want to get up and get a sun bed at 6 go for it but I normally strolled down about 11 and always found 1 or 2. I would recommend a day away from the resort just to break the trend but overall I was pleased with room, bar staff etc Though I would not fancy a room in the beach club right on top of the pool. Would I go back? Well all the kids want to so looks like I will be. Ps Irish Bar over the road is a good craic!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Just returned from beach club, arrived at 5am to a man that didnt speak very good english who just pointed in the direction of our room, we found it and opened the door and it was met with this foul musty damp smell and the room was tiny for 2 adults 1 teenager, we went to reception and complained and he said no rooms left come back in the morning,so i went back to my smelly shoe box sat on the loo and brushed my teeth at the same time bathroom was that small. Got up at 7.30am went to reception and to cut a long story short i managed to view a differnt room at 12, this room was lovely didnt smell and was twice as big and was on ground floor with a veranda and sea view, i moved in within the hour. Unfortunatly we were woken every morning by all the selfish people getting sunbeds from 6.30, then by the pool man who was trying to hose down the floors but had to work around these sunbeds with towels on,he would get very pissed off and would shift the sunbeds by kicking them round, one morning i was sitting aving a cup of tea at 7am as i had been woken up again and he got im a mess with the hose and beds he soaked me with the hose pipe. also my room faced the stage area and a pool table which ment i had to wait for everybody to go to bed before i could get to sleep.

The food...My husband had chips with all his meals because he didnt like the look of the food, i found the food to be very repetitive and not much choice and i can eat enything, club restarant is very small but has good air con, hotel rest is biiger but you need to book, chinese was very good but only eat there once as you had to book and i had a 4 day wait, i didnt think the mexican was wrth the walk up to the galeon, but the view was.
Weston saloon was snack bar and drinks area used in the day, lots of queing to get a very small pastic cup of pop or beer, the food was chips burgers hotdogs etc, it was ok for a snack, but be prepared to eat with flies they are all over the place.

Pool.... only used the club pool it was clean most of the time packed with kids and inflattables life guard never stopped anything he was to busy nodding off or chatting to the ladies. My son went in the hotel pool but he said it was too small.

Entertainment.....Zorro was fantastic very charming very witty and funny, the kids loved him and the ladies loved him and he loved the ladies eventhough he called them muppets, all the team were good, the kids disco goes on a bit with very cheesy music and a clown but the younger ones had a good time. adult entertainment was ok but most required audiance partisipation, this is not for me or my husband, but san miguel is 6 hotels 2 shops 2 bars and thats it so we were stuck with it.

The beach.... this was a stones throw away and very clean ans safe, the sea was lovely but big fish swimming round you, i never went on the the free boats but my son did twice and loved it, also nice to sit by in the evening but there is the hair plating ladies and lookie lookie men with flashing trash and fake glasses there too.

Trips... i booked an evening trip to san antonio with ibiza tours just round the corner from beach club, cheaper then thomsons, we went to see the sunset at cafe mambo, although we only just got to it as the sun was setting, san an very expensive for drinks etc but enjoyed the fact i was out of the hotel for the evening

Overall....... my son made a friend on the second day and we never saw him hardly all week, he didnt want to come home and because he had a good time, we had a good time but i wouldnt go back as there is nothing to do in the area, felt like a prisoner. I would say this hotel is a 2* not 3.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibiza136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2009

the place is in need of a major overhaul,looks unkept, rooms are like caves no windows no ventilation, air con creates damp, food appauling most of the time, kids icecream and drinks not available part of the time stated when it should be,drinking out of small throwaway plastic cups everywhere exept restaurant, generally not recommended..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

If you saw our photos you would be forgiven for wondering what on earth I am complaining about. The beach and the bay are beautiful and quite honestly saved our holiday from total ruin.

Group:- We were a party of 6, 2 adults and 1 child in two adjouring rooms. We were advised this was a 4* hotel and paid just short of £3000. More like 1*. The rating on the outside of the hotel, hidden by the greenary, is in fact 2*. Nice reception area.

Rooms:- We were sent up, what felt like the back stairs, to our rooms. It was the back stairs. The rooms overlooked the roof and walls of the hotel, great view. The rooms, adjoining, had no key therefore not really adjoining. The rooms were decent, quite large with two double beds and enough room to move around even with suitcases on the floor. The balcony overlooked another roof to the german childrens play centre which was noisy when the dopey clown was shouting at them. The wardrobe had insufficient room for the clothes of two adults and two children. The bathroom was clean though small and very basic. The television in the room had one English channel, Sky news any other channels and you had to pay. The air conditioning worked although loudly. Not bad so far????

Pool:- The pool area is spread out through the front area of the hotel and a back area. It is far too small for the number of guests and it is difficult to keep an eye on the children as there are tunnels, in the pool, leading to different areas. If you wanted to swim you have no chance. To make matters worse we had an idiot bloke around 27 yrs old who constanlty 'bombed' into the pool splashing and frightening the small children. The day we used the pool there were two or three girls in the pool surrounded by young lads 'rubbing up' against the girls. The 'life guard' sat drinking 'cold coffee' which was really a cheap version of Baileys.

Pool area:- The floor area around the pool is rough and dirty. The bar is very close to the pool and has a number of chairs and tables at the side of it. The rubbish from smokers, snackers and drinkers is left on the tables and floor area. The walk way around the pool has bridged areas with green felt on for ease of walking and that gets drity and slippy. I saw a man slip and the bar man just stood there and watched him and did nothing to make sure no one else slipped. We used the pool the once.

Sunbeds:- As the previous review says it is impossible to get a sunbed and yes they are all in rows at the side of each other and cover a very large area, which is the drinking, entertainment area in the evening. I think the previous review was being generous saying that there was a foot between each person on the sunbeds. The sunbeds touched each other and looked like sardines in a can.

Dining:- The dining room, well what can I say? There are two rooms that each hold, squeezed together, around 60 people and two small rooms which each hold around 30 people. Several times our group of 6 were put on two different tables and when we did get one for 6 people at least 2 of us were trapped in because of the closeness of the next table.
The food was, at best, very basic. The breakfast was the best meal of the day - nice bacon and sausage, fried or boiled eggs, flavoured tomaoes, beans, mushrooms, churros. The lunch and dinner meals were disgusting in quality and lacking in choice. Chips , pasta and salad available every day. One day chicken was available then it returned in different guises for another 3 days, as did some meat that was the colour of beef. The childrens meals were pasta and tomato sauce, every lunch & dinner, and either fish squares, chicken nuggets or some other long rounded thing in breadcrumbs.
You can use the dining rooms at the other two hotels, San Miguel Hotel and The Galleon but would you believe you have to book, 24 hours in advance.

We booked and tried the Chinese but had to be put on three different tables for two, goodness only knows why they didn't either put the tables together of even put us on the centre table that held 8 people and wasn't booked!!! The food was better than the normal hotel food but we were asked to leave before we had finished as the next sitting was due.

We tried the food in the San Miguel Hotel and although it was basically the same as our hotel there was far more choice and several sandwich toasting machines and hot food cooked in front of us.

Entertainment:- do not go there if you like a good show. There were 2 nights where Zorro entertained by taking the micky out of the holiday makers, but it was enjoyable. One night there were too old blokes on sining blues and madness, they were entertaining though not our taste in music. That's it though, the rest of the 7 nights was total rubbish. The Thomson dog, the Thomson team, a total waste of time and space and boring. Zorro said they got some award for the entertainment being the best in the area. There are three hotels and the only one with the entertainment is the Club and the other two hotel guests have to come down to it if they want 'entertainment'. One couple, who obviously didn't come on holiday together, made their own entertainment in the bushes.

Drinks:- local drinks can be tolerated. You have to keep going back and joining a queue for 10 mins at a time just to get two little plastic cups full. It is no joke. The Weston Bar is drity and smelly and the staff there are ignorant and even when you try you Spanish out they pretend they don't understand. The snack bar in there provides 'healthy' burgers, hot dogs and chicken nuggets or other things in breadcrumbs.

Although you have the use of three hotels, very close to each other, there is nothing else there. There is a beautiful beach and sea, which is where we had to spend most of our time, but there is no where to go. The hotels are at the bottom of a big winding road, with no footpaths. There are 3 shops, 3 bars, an excursion shop (rubbish) and an exchange shop. The price of goods is disgusting as they have the monopoly. A 1ltre bottle of water can cost you 76cents at one shop and 2.50 euros at another.

We tried a trip out on the local bus and left on the 11.00am bus only to find that the next bus was 13.30 which meant you couldn't really look around Ibiza Town, or the 17:00 bus which meant you were stranded. A Taxi from there would cost 27 euros. That is the only time we ventured out of San Miguel.

If you go there don't say you haven't been warned. It's a chavs paradise. It's dirty, the food and the entertainment is rubbish and the place is isolated and expensive. If you go expecting 2* you will probably enjoy it but will pay for 4*.

I feel sorry for the staff. They work very long days and nights, 7 days a weeek.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spanishbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#5 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
403 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#3 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar ...
#2 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balansat Resort
Balansat Resort
#2 of 2 in Port de Sant Miguel
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club San Miguel

Property: Club San Miguel
Address: Puerto de San Miguel, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club San Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club San Miguel Hotel Port De Sant Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
Resort San Miguel
San Miguel Ibiza
San Miguel Hotel Ibiza
Club San Miguel Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing