We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute divine fish!”

Restaurante Port Balansat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Haninge
2 reviews
“Absolute divine fish!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Absolute divine fishdishes, I spend every summer one month on the Island. I eat here 10 times per summer never got dissapointed.
Just check the fish van or ask the waiter for the catch of the day. Tha´s it!!
(Nevermind the comments on chicken or pasta dishes)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan Daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    98
    31
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, Notts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A group of us ate at his reaturant for two nights and having had 18 meals I think it is true to say that the restaurant is good at a few dishes and poor at others. It seems that if you order for example; Lenguada a la plancha, because it is simple, it will be fine. However, if you order a local speciality fish broth type of dish, which needs to be constructed well, it might come with an eye staring up at you and various hacked fish floating in the liquid. Presentation is relatively unsophisticated and when a waiter knocks your wine over you don't get a replacement and no reasonable kind of apology either. The Fideua was ridiculously expensive (28 Euro pp) and was not made with noodles but macheroni!! The lobster that was in it (presumably to justify the price) was just chopped roughly and thrown in without removing some of the inedible bits that should have been excluded.
This restaurante is clearly taking advantage of its monpoly position in this small port area by providing generally average service and a hit and miss food delivery. It would never survive with decent competition in, say, any other decent resort with more than one local fish restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arcadian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The Sea, The mountains, The Fish!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A beautiful and scenic drive till you reach the Port of Balansat. Parking available. Mesmerized by the magnificent view, wait till your food comes. Attentive, friendly service (no English) but we got on well all the same. Excellent seafood platter, toooooo much for 1 person. FRESH fish, grilled with attention and that at €30.00. Cooked to perfection pepper-steak, with which drank a very reasonable Lagar de Cervera 2009! what more could girls want? OK, a mini Sacher tarte was not to be denied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDocKleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointing......”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I read a lot of reviews about this restaurant before we went on holiday. Most reviews said it was the best seafood restaurant on the island. We thought this was great as we were staying in the San Miguel resort and we love our seafood.
We looked at the menu a few days before we ate there and decided it would be a one off special treat for us because its not cheap. (€90 for lobster!!)
There were the two of us and our 2 kids. We both ordered seafood soup for starter, which was nice, and paella for our main. The kids had lasagne, which was not very good.
I had only just finished my soup and my partner was only half way through hers, when they started to serve up our paella. I had to tell them that we haven't finished eating our starters yet, but the waiter said the paella had to be eaten now as the rice was cooked properly now. My partner had no real choice other than abandoning her starter to rush into her main course.
This ruined the meal and the evening. We were hoping for a nice relaxed enjoyable meal. I would hope that the head chef would know how long seafood soup takes to prepare, eat and let settle before your main course arrives!
We felt rushed almost to the point were we felt we weren't welcome. The same thing happened to a couple we spoke to at our resort. We are both proffesional people not a pair of chavs. Needless to say we didn't have desert or leave a tip.

We had another paella at Es Grop reastaurant in Petit Arenal, which was awesome, double the fish and cheaper! Go there instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank psdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a typical Mediterranean summer luch”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

In my 5 visits to Ibiza I have had the opportunity of eating at Restaurant Balansat 2 times (with a 3 year gap in between), and both experiences have been perfect. The food is great, I recommend to try typical Spanish/Mediterranean summer dishes which are their speciality. I've tried:
- Bullit de peix
- Paella (DELICIOUS!)
- Range with garlic (gambas al ajillo), the range where fresh, espectacular
- Squid (chipirones) perfect to eat while you wait for the rice

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blancalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Port Balansat also viewed

Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza
Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza
 
Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza
Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza
 

Been to Restaurante Port Balansat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing